We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Tekapo Village Motel

Overview
State Highway 8 Village Centre, Lake Tekapo 7945 New Zealand See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Accessible rooms
Self-Serve Laundry
Private Balcony
3.5 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
673 results
Traveler rating
347
251
57
8
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
347
251
57
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse upstairs studio family unit middle of town the ground floor first floor sofa bed walking distance restaurants and shops amazing views mt john south island free wifi new zealand japanese restaurant small town cooking facilities
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 673 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2018 via mobile

I booked a lake view studio at the Lake Tekapo Village Motel only to find that ongoing construction between the motel and the lake completely obscured the view. The studio was clean and functional but characterless and also chairless. It was the most expensive of...More

Date of stay: November 2018
1  Thank Dreamer00496531300
Reviewed October 23, 2018

Just had a studio unit which was cosy for 2. Large bathroom. No sink by tea & coffee facilities. Sadly on ground floor view is becoming obscured with new buildings in front blocking the lovely lake view. But if you want to have a few...More

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank JandalJohn
Response from JulieHodsonltvm, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village MotelResponded October 24, 2018

Thank you for staying with us!

Reviewed October 7, 2018

Julie Hodson displayed excellent hospitality and we felt her humble and welcoming vibe throughout our stay. I highly recommend Lake Tekapo Village Motel due to the amazing care and attention we as guests received. The views from our room were breathtaking

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank mariataylor2018
Response from JulieHodsonltvm, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village MotelResponded October 8, 2018

Thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you back again! Was lovely to meet you all.

Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

I appreciate some guests may be disappointed as not all rooms will have good lake views. The upper front level certainly does although compromised by construction taking place in front.Very clean and tidy studio room. Not a normal NZ motel as no cooking facilities apart...More

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank malcolm i
Response from JulieHodsonltvm, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village MotelResponded August 29, 2018

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback.

Reviewed August 19, 2018

Very disappointed overall. From the rude and unwelcoming start to the dirty and outdated room we were put in. No lake view as advertised, completely blocked out. No sorry or refund as what we got was not what we got. Lying advertising.More

Date of stay: June 2018
1  Thank willcam2017
Response from JulieHodsonltvm, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village MotelResponded August 20, 2018

Hi, I am very sorry you felt our staff was rude and unwelcoming. We strive to provide our guests with top quality service and we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. Would be very helpful to us if you could private message...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Our quality accommodation in Lake Tekapo is situated in a central position in the village, close to local shops and restaurants. Rooms are modern, clean and most have excellent views over Lake Tekapo and the More surrounding mountains. Located just 3 hours from Christchurch and 3 and a half hours from Queenstown, it’s a fantastic accessible stop on your journey, or the perfect getaway for a worry-free weekend. For the more adventurous, activities include boating, fishing, hiking, mountain biking and horse trekking. If you’re looking for a more relaxed pace, the views of the lake offer a constant vista to enjoy the world-class cafes and restaurants, as well as the local hot springs. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Microwave
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Self-Serve Laundry
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
19
Price range
$171 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
Also Known As
Lake Tekapo Scenic Hotel Lake Tekapo
,
Hotel Lake Tekapo Scenic
Location
New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
19
Price range
$171 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
Also Known As
Lake Tekapo Scenic Hotel Lake Tekapo
,
Hotel Lake Tekapo Scenic
Location
New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Photos
Traveler (375)
Room & Suite (204)
Pool & Beach (8)
Dining (3)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 nearby hotels
The Godley Hotel
566 reviews
.12 miles away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
3,879 reviews
.19 miles away
The Chalet Boutique Motel
358 reviews
.37 miles away
Mt Dobson Motel
43 reviews
14.22 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 15 nearby restaurants
Kohan Restaurant
1,139 reviews
.08 miles away
Mackenzies Cafe Bar Grill
1,208 reviews
.06 miles away
Reflections Restaurant
728 reviews
.02 miles away
Tin Plate Kitchen & Bar
372 reviews
.09 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 30 nearby attractions
Lake Tekapo
2,269 reviews
.04 miles away
Church of the Good Shepherd
1,760 reviews
.36 miles away
Mount John Summit Circuit Track
47 reviews
.96 miles away
Mackenzie Sheep Dog Statue
385 reviews
.36 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
JuneM1275
June 29, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from JulieHodsonltvm | Property representative |
Hi, The studios ground level have queen and single Studios upstairs have queen and queen sofabed Family units have queen in master bedroom and single and sofabed in second bedroom. Deluxe Family unit has queen in master and... More
0
Votes
joyceannc2015
February 17, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from JulieHodsonltvm | Property representative |
Check out time is 10:00 am. You are welcome to store your luggage with us.
0
Votes
Rachelpsl
June 8, 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Peter M | Reviewed this property |
yes!
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Bring your own pillow"
Chchfamily2014
Jul 23, 2018
Read review
"Try and get a room with a view. Tekapo is spectacular!"
Mfallik
Jul 1, 2018
Read review
"There is no lift, choose a room on the ground floor if you have bulky cases to carry"
KiaYee
Jun 27, 2018
Read review
"I would think upstairs would have the best view but you need to carry your cases up the stairs."
globetrotters005
Jun 15, 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing