We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Tekapo Village Motel

Certificate of Excellence
State Highway 8 | Village Centre, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand (Formerly Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

499 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had great stay in this hotel. Stayed here for 2 nights with my family.Amazing view of the lake and Good Shepherd Church from my room. The rooms are neat and tidy. Staff are very helpful.Shops and restaurants are two minutes away from the hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Tanna6
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice motel with great views of lake Tekapo. The staff was friendly and helpful and we had a great stay here. Calm and tranquil. Walking distance to shops, beach, Tekapo springs and the scenic church. We had everything we needed and would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank emnojovi
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was a decent size with a small balcony. The views are currently nice, looking out to the lake. Unfortunately for the motel (and all the restaurants and shops in the village) they are going to lose their views as there's a large building project under way along the lake side. It's still a handy motel to stay at... More 

Helpful?
Thank 730kayr
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in January 2016. What a great place. Room not large, but big enough for the two of us. Very clean and tidy, great service. Only issue that we had was that the shower was a bit small for our liking, but this did not make the stay unpleasant. Very centrally located,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debra944
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'm not sure what is the name of the lady with spiky blonde hair but she was extremely rude for banging on my door and literally yelled at me. She too accused me of sneaking my friends in. It was 3pm right after lunch, my friends and I were resting right before our trip to Mt Cook in my room... More 

Helpful?
Thank r3drose88
Don Y, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Village Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry that the forthright approach of our staff offended you, she was simply performing her responsibilities in ensuring that all the people observed entering the room, were not in fact staying over-night. Unfortunately the actions of a very few in the past, can induce suspicions on more innocent situations, if not informed. While visitors are most welcome, we... More 

Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a room on Hotels.com for 2 adults and a 15yr child for $190. On arrival the man asked very sarcastically where the child was and told us we needed to pay more money. His attitude suggested we were trying to steal from them. Our stay was ruined by this! I would not stay here again, it's not worth... More 

Helpful?
Thank scbrotovegas
Don Y, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Village Motel, responded to this review

I must apologise both for the mistake made by our staff in identifying your reservation details ( your booking was confused with another for a payment of $170 ), and the manner in which you were addressed regarding this. While I understand an apology was offered personally when this was discovered, I am very sorry that your stay was ruined... More 

New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location right on the lake, with all the amenities you might need, a great spa bath, and a shower that is like a little steam room. Really enjoyed our stay here, because the view out the sliding doors was spectacular.

Helpful?
Thank PrincessBella67
Brisbane
Level Contributor
465 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We could not believe how big the Penthouse apartment was. The lounge was ginormous. Which suited our party of 5 perfectly. It was spotlessly clean and had a lovely picture window with the view to the lake. It has only one bathroom and a separate toilet. If it had an ensuite, I would stay for a week. Special note to... More 

Helpful?
Thank mssell
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not only is this hotel set in the most beautiful setting, but our room at the hotel was brilliant. Overlooking the most spectacular lake and church, this room had everything, and the balcony view to view the lake all night, and the star-filled night sky (although for us too cloudy) was brilliant.

Helpful?
1 Thank SimonJAddicoat
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Efficient friendly service, amazing view, quality furnishings, hot shower, good beds, free wifi - what's not to love? Everything you could want, and nice little touches. Very happy with our one night stay here. The only small negative is the tight parking, but the place itself is fantastic. Thanks for a great stay.

Helpful?
Thank Rammy888
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

286 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (254)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
View from room (71)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.1 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 stars 1,180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#3 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Lake Tekapo
YHA Lake Tekapo
#5 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#9 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay