We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Parkbrae Estate

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Parkbrae Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Parkbrae Estate
See the most recent reviews
Showing 110: English reviews
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stay here if you can, in any of their gorgeous options. Kind, helpful proprietors; unique, comfortable accommodations; gorgeous properties, gardens, and views. The only critique is that the wifi was highly unreliable, but this place is so wonderful you shouldn't be wasting your time on the internet anyway. Step outside and soak up the view! We stayed for two nights,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hexpat
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! Delighted you were able to enjoy time out in our gorgeous estate. It's a blessing to be surrounded by gardens which add to the total experience! We are working on strengthening the WIFI system as having such lush gardens although it is just magical it does...

Bellingham, Washington
Reviewed March 29, 2014

WHAT A LOCATION! There is no place with better views of the church - they were even better than I expected. It was such a joy to walk right from our place over to the church and walk along the water. The house is basic (decor a little tired), but has everything you need. Just like it says on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Hi Laura, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your constructive and positive review. You are absolutely right! Church House does have the best views!! We are very lucky to be able to offer this property as part of our estate. Since 2011 we have changed the feel of the place; from sofas, to tables, curtains and...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The night that we spent in Garden Cottage at Parkbrae was most definitely the highlight of our holiday with my parents who were over from the UK on their first visit to New Zealand. On entering the cottage there is a sense of history and quirkiness but with an assurance of cleanliness and the provision of all modern amenities with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 323matt_tracey
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Hi Matt, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. And apologies for my delay in acknowledging it... Delighted you enjoyed your stay and it would be lovely to see you all again on your next trip to visit your son in Christchurch - New Zealand. Hope you have a great summer! Best wishes to...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Parkbrae estate is definitely one of the best places in New Zealand! We decided to have our wedding reception on site and it couldn't have been more perfect. From day one the communication was positive, prompt and enthusiastic. We booked out most of the houses for the lead up and the day after the wedding. Although there was a overbooking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wietidz
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

THANK YOU!!!!!!!!! It was just wonderful to be part of your beautiful day! And how lucky were you with the weather??!! It was all just perfect! Make sure you come back for a wedding anniversary :-) You could make it a tradition! We wish you all the happiness you deserve and much more! All the best for you both. Patricia...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at Doctor's Retreat for two days. Right from the booking till the time we left Lake Tekapo, the management of Parkbrae Estate was very prompt in service. I had tried booking Garden Cottage but due to some over booking, we were upgraded to Doctor's Retreat for no extra charge. When we reached Parkbrae, though Patricia was on a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Khushishahani
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay as Doctor's Retreat is a beautiful property! I hope you had a great time in New Zealand. make sure you come back. Al the best for 2014! Patricia Baptista

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This apartment was totally suitable for an overnight stay. Very quiet and peaceful with a spectacular uninterrupted view of the Church of the Good Shepherd. It lacks proper cooking facilities but very well equipped for takeaways, light breakfasts etc. Very helpful and knowledgeable hosts who persisted with our internet connection on a very windy evening. A great suggestion to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClareJay2013
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such positive comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It would be wonderful if you could return for a longer stay with your family. Keep in touch and all the best for 2014! Patricia Baptista

Texas
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Booked the Garden Tower, top two floors. More that enough room for family of four. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. These are good, solid, comfortable rooms. View from top balcony is the best - straight across to Old Church and Lake beyond. Host upon arrival was very pleasant and informative about shops / restaurants in small town. WiFi is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeeYaTX
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your positive comments. It was lovely to meet you and your family and we hope you can stay with us again on another visit to Tekapo. All the best for 2014! Patricia Baptista

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed January 4, 2014

we got two apartments on top two floors for the family. rooms had a lot of space and from the top we had a nice view on the old church and lake. Apartment was clean. However, the furniture clearly did not match the price and rating this place have. parents sofa was old, squeaky and uneven. we had a chimney...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PleasuresHunt
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review of our establishment. Garden Tower is actually one of our most sought after accommodation and we have had many happy returning guests. The oven does work and I hope while I was away you were assisted; WIFI is free and although at times it can be challenging with...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Parkbrae estate is a fantastic place to stay in Lake Tekapo. It is situated right on the shores of Lake Tekapo. We had booked a Garden Studio for 2 people. The rooms were big. The Church of Good Shepherd and statue of Collie dog is 2 mins walk from the estate. The cleanliness of the room was below average,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMGOZ
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your comments as we value them immensely! I hope that you still enjoyed your stay with us and regarding the issue with the bathroom we have already booked someone to replace the grout as rather than mold those are stains. Unfortunately, the builder who we hire to assist us is...

eastbourne, UK
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We have recently stayed in the Opera House for 3 nights and loved every minute of our stay. The house itself is modern, nicely furnished and well equipped but it is the view from the balcony which will take your breath away. The view of Lake Tekapo and the mountains beyond is awesome. The Opera House is so comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vse40
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! Delighted you enjoyed your stay and would have to agree... Opera House is just lovely! Hope Winter back home is not making you wish you were back here :-) Hope you had a lovely Christmas and please do come and see us again! Best wishes and a wonderful New Year! Patricia...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,417 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#10 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
650 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Parkbrae Estate is so much more than a stay... it is an experience! Preferred by so many due to its unique style cottages and units (apartments), peaceful surroundings and privileged location! No doubt the spot in Tekapo! Only a stone's throw away from the stunning turquoise lake and a few steps from the Church of Good Shepherd and Collie Dog Statue, Tekapo's best known icons!! When at Parkbrae Estate, wake up to breathtaking scenery or warm up by the fire on a cold winter night... stroll through the gardens with camera in hand soaking up the morning light... sit on the balcony with a book or a glass of the finest NZ wine...wait until the stars come out in the mesmerizing night sky and make a wish... or two... Perfect for romantic getaways, family holidays, weddings, gatherings or just an excuse to treat yourself!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Parkbrae Estate

Address: Sealy Street, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $155 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Parkbrae Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Parkbrae Estate staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Parkbrae Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Take a coffee plunger and some ice trays.”
hazza2016, Jan 16, 2016 | Read review
“The upstairs rooms all have a wonderful outlook.”
The_Wise_Kiwi, Oct 20, 2015 | Read review
“Choose Aldourie Lodge for sure if you're travelling with a big family.”
Jennifer0823, Apr 15, 2015 | Read review
“No rooms, just a house (Church House)”
reisverslaafde, Dec 24, 2014 | Read review
“Don't bother with the Garden Studio-look elsewhere!”
williamwQ3481UT, Nov 26, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question