We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

YHA Lake Tekapo

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA Lake Tekapo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
Start your review of YHA Lake Tekapo
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Nice little hostel, with lovely views overlooking lake Tekapo. Decent free wifi as usual with YHA hostels. Main criticisms would be that the hostel is not as close to the thermal spa like the other hostels/ accommodation around the lakefront. It was a good 10 minute walk. Otherwise, there wasn't really an atmosphere - but then it depends what you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lake Tekapo YAH 2017/01/24 Six-people room for one night Nice staff and spectacular view from the big window of the common room. The equipment in the kitchen was ok.The dining room was a little small but having meal in such beautiful surroundings was great.All in all, I love it soooo much! Sincerely Chialing Hsieh

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chen S
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hi Chen S, Many thanks for the great review. We are a small and cozy hostel and glad you got to enjoy our amazing views and location. Best wishes, Billy Kerr, Hostel Manager

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the third time i have stayed at this hostel and its a great place to stay in lake tekapo with amazing views over the lake. Star gazing is amazing here with the gardens to sit out at night and look up into the sky. The beds are comfortable and the kitchen is great for preparing meals with all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cookie-wirral
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hi Cookie-wirral, Awesome review. Thank you so much for all the kind words and is great to hear. Will pass onto the staff. Glad you had everything you needed to enjoy your stay and take advantage of what Tekapo has to offer. Best Wishes, Billy Kerr, Hostel Manager

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 22, 2016 via mobile

Lovely place to stay on the lake shore. Good facilities. Great staff. Friendly and casual atmosphere in the best YHA tradition. You get the feeling of belonging to Lake Tekapo in this place and being part of the community.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnMP9967JP
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hi There, Awesome review and great to hear the feedback. The staff work really hard to make sure you enjoy not only the hostel but Tekapo as well! Will pass comments on to them. Best wishes, Billy Kerr, Hostel Manager

Lithgow, Australia
Reviewed November 12, 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night in a tent due to their being no vacancy for a room. Only to discover that the dorms had been filled by a group of loud and drunk men on a boys trip. They were drinking, swearing and making severe racist remarks in the kitchen. Before leaving for a few hours to go into town. They then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise N
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hi Denise, Thanks for your review. Firstly I would like to apologise for the inconvenience you received during your stay. We certainly don't take drunken parties and this one manage to get through our booking system. We do provide our contact details all around the hostel encouraging guests to contact us if feeling uncomfortable or of noise problems so that...

Okinawa, Japan
Reviewed October 31, 2016

1. the most famous common room with huge windows - face to the snow mountain, the lake, the sky, the green, and the sunshine; 2. spacious and tidy kitchen - well organized and cleaned; 3. centrally located even in a small town like Tekapo, very close to coach car park; 4. twin room is small but comfortable, shared toilet is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hellogc
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hi Hellogc, Thank you for the amazing review. We love that view too! I will pass your comments onto the staff as they work really hard in getting the hostel ready for guests and it is great to get the awesome feedback from your stay. Thanks again. Best Wishes, Billy Kerr, Hostel Manager

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed October 12, 2016

Decided to splurge on a private room for myself, it was small, cozy and warm. Best part of the room was the amazing views it offered! The lounge was a place where you could really spend hours in. The large window panels showing the lake and snow capped mountains simply made you wish your time didn't end here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerie L
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

HI Valerie, Many thanks for the great review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and that you made time to enjoy the amazing and wonderful views from the hostel lounge. Best wishes, Billy Kerr, Hostel Manager

Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

The view from the living room is just spectacular...location is perfect short walk to village and shops or hot pools and start of walking track to mount John. Clean and comfortable. Helpful staff. Good wifi

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hi Hannah, Thanks for the great review, glad you enjoyed the hostel and you are right the location and view is spectacular. Best wishes, Billy Kerr, Hostel Manager

Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

A really good quality hostel. Perfectly clean with an excellently equipped kitchen. The garden and view of the lake at the back is amazing! The staff were really nice and helpful. A five minute walk to the shops and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Esther O
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hi Esther, Thanks for taking your time to review us and we are delighted to hear that everything was great for you. Best wishes, Billy Kerr, Hostel Manager

Singapore
Reviewed August 25, 2016

The view was spectacular but there was a general odd scent around the kitchen and dining area which was where our room was unfortunately situated. This also meant we had very little privacy every time we opened our door. Toilets were clean, there are 2 toilet and 2 shower cubicles. Hair dryers are provided. Beds were clean and surprisingly comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LORDZORPHIAAA
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hi Lordzorphiaaa, Thanks for taking the time to review and I am glad to hear we were clean and comfortable for you. Just like to address a couple of the points you have made. Lay out of rooms around kitchen can obviously bring a few issues, we constantly are working to manage any of these that arise and make as...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (109)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.0 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
629 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tailor Made Tekapo Backpackers Hostel
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
292 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located right on the lakefront with unobstructed views to the mountains beyond, the million-dollar view from the YHA Lake Tekapo backpacker hostel is of the incredible shades of blue of this glacier fed lake in the centre of the South Island of New Zealand. The hostels large lounge area directly overlooks the lake and is a comfortable and cosy retreat. Relax in front of the roaring log fire with the friendly hostel cat on your lap. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Lake Tekapo

Address: 3 Simpson Lane, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $27 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — YHA Lake Tekapo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your YHA Lake Tekapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Tekapo Hotel Lake Tekapo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from YHA Lake Tekapo staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Lake Tekapo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“room away from common room and kitchen is better, though the hotel is quiet in the evening”
 of 5 bubbles hellogc, Oct 31, 2016 | Read review
“Choose rooms on the right side of the hostel for a better view.”
 of 5 bubbles LORDZORPHIAAA, Aug 25, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms inside the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Amazinria, Apr 10, 2016 | Read review
“Splendid views and great value for money”
 of 5 bubbles V2C, Mar 27, 2016 | Read review
“Need to book ahead as was full every night I was there.”
 of 5 bubbles Mechanogirl, Mar 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question