We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nethy Bridge
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 128: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We only stayed for one night but would like to go back for longer. We slept in the dorm but felt like we had the place to ourselves. We had all the amenities at our disposal, including the wood-fired stove and barbecue. The surrounding woods are lovely, populated by deer and surely other species we didn't spot. It's also wonderful... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joana R
Palma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The care and attention that has gone into every aspect of the huts and recreational spaces is wonderful. The setting is stunning, with a variety of wild landscapes within which you can freely walk to with ease, and it was a great pleasure to meet the owners, whose kindness, enthusiasm and generosity topped off why we felt so happy to... More 

Helpful?
Thank CraigMaria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What can I say about the Lazy Duck, Perfect, we camped there at the beginning of August, beautiful site, amazing location totally off grid, very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff, volunteers & owners, must get back there soon, and the duck eggs are delicious. Hot tub is a must after a long day in the hills

Helpful?
Thank Russell M
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have had a great experience here at lazy duck. My partner and I first stayed in the Woodman's hut and that was fantastic. No electric or indoor toilet but great all the same. Used the outdoor shower and the composting toilet which was fun. Then had a night on the campground which was wonderful great pitch out of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gemma M
lazyduckhostel, Owner at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

Glad that you felt you could camp with us happily following a stay in the Woodman's Hut. So you just have the Hostel, Lambing Bothy and Duck's Nest to go! To see you back would be nice. Thanks both of you. David & Team Lazy Duck More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Duck's Nest at The Lazy Duck is a must for any discerning traveler wishing to be at one with Nature but spoiling the surprises would be a shame so all I will say is it is great value in an idyllic setting. If you wish to hide away for a few days from Civilization I suggest it wholeheartedly.

Helpful?
Thank RobertEkr
lazyduckhostel, Owner at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

Your quiet appreciation provides both us and perhaps others with a standard to follow. Thank you for your kind words. They demonstrate only too well that sometimes, 'less is more'. David & Team Lazy Duck More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our visit to Scotland was to attend a wedding in the forest. The stay at the Lazy Duck complimented the wedding perfectly. Good location, Good accommodation. Good time was had by all. A warm welcome was shown and kind consideration to getting 8 adults and 2 children to the venue. Well worth a visit by anyone wanting something a little... More 

Helpful?
Thank David W
lazyduckhostel, Owner at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

Thanks folks. This year has seen a flowering of weddings in the forest and on the beach at nearby Loch Garten. Guests at several of these have been hosted either by Lazy Duck or the Dell of Abernethy in the village where Ross and Polly sometimes can be persuaded to host the whole event. This week, the week of the... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful location for a camp site, shame about the owner's mentality. There are too many RULES on site, which spoiled our relaxation time here, it felt like we were walking on eggshells throughout our stay. We notice the owners wandering around the tents each morning as dawn breaks to see if we had left any mess the night before and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank thetravaller2016
lazyduckhostel, Owner at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You highlight your feelings of being under pressure to keep to our rules, we think of them as 'arrangements' for happy camping to be enjoyed by all. You are right; that is a shame and we are sorry this aspect spoiled your visit. We have just two acres of buildings and grounds, including the camping... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Lazy Duck is a holiday destination with a distance. If no electricity, an earth toilet, and an outdoor shower is not your scene, don't read on. We stayed two nights in the Woodman's hut, which is situated at the edge of the site in the forest. The hut was cozy and well supplied. The highlight was waking to see... More 

Helpful?
Thank roger b
lazyduckhostel, Owner at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

Many thanks for this review. Clearly you chose the hut where you saw more of the wild life than you did other human beings whose company you denied yourselves for two nights. So glad to read that the experience did not disappoint. David & Team Lazy Duck More 

devon, uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Before I booked this place it was my ideal of an ideal campsite. As somebody who camps a lot and was camping for 2 weeks throughout Scotland when I found it I could not wait to stay. I emailed the owner in advance of my stay to check if they would be able to accommodate us as we had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank dalenikki
lazyduckhostel, Manager at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Our small team work very hard to look after both guests and grounds here, and try to meet and exceed expectations in all aspects. In this case we are sorry that that did not happen. It would have been so helpful to have been provided with the correct information regarding tent sizes prior to booking, rather... More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I've wanted to visit the Lazy Duck for a good few years now and when I finally did I wasn't disappointed. This was my first solo camping trip and as a single female I couldn't have chosen a safer place. The owners and staff were always around although not at all intrusive. The small camping ground provided the perfect spot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jocpheen
lazyduckhostel, Owner at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

So glad Team Lazy Duck and the place itself have managed to tick this many of your really important boxes. The points you make are echoed by many camping guests and we are really grateful to you and them for making these so supportively and unambiguously. Hope we see you again. David & Team Lazy Duck More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (111)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (63)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nethy Bridge
9.0 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
38.0 mi away
Pinetree Lodge
Pinetree Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kirkmichael
4.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
3.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 stars 1,128 reviews
6.9 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
63.0 mi away
Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 6 acre oasis in the Cairngorms National Park where 8 bed hostel, 2 off grid 2 person eco cabins and a 4 pitch lightweight camping ground nestle by the waterfowl ponds and views straight to the mountains with nothing but moorland and forest in between. The Lazy Duck is close to mountain bike trails, skiing and snowboarding, climbing and plateau treks, rafting, kayaking, fishing, golfing and plenty of whisky distilleries. Landmark Forest Adventure Park, Highland Folk Museum, Highland Wildlife park and the leisure pool at the Aviemore Centre are all within easy reach and of top class quality for visitors Small is beautiful at The Lazy Duck. Been Active? Come home to slow living with our hot tub, sauna & Swedish massage service ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground

Address: 300 metres off the Nethy Bridge to Tomintoul Road | At the village boundary, Nethy Bridge PH25 3ED, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Nethy Bridge
Price Range: $9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground Nethy Bridge, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing