We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thainstone House

Hotels.com$75*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Thainstone House
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

597 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thainstone House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 593: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My friend and I went to the green lady restuarant tonight to try the new taster menu. It was absolutely fantastic, every course was delicious and just enough to let you appreciate it without leaving you feeling stuffed. The Sotch broth was as good as my gran's, the pork belly was unctous and deeply flavoured and the pre dessert pana...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lynnie1515
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am glad that you have enjoyed the new Thainstone House and I look forward to welcoming you in the future Warmest Regards Robin Osman General Manager

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We booked a girls spa weekend 6 months prior to going, we have placed a complaint about the WHOLE weekend with the hotel, we had a good time , only because we made it and laughed about how everything went wrong, I shall post a Full and comprehensive review once I have received our reply from the Hotel, to see...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 389Lindyloo67
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed here for a Spa weekend and although we had a great weekend due to our company it wasn't at all what we signed up too and I'll update my review as soon as hotel has replied to my complaint! Got an e-mail saying it's Being looked at so won't post anything negative while they are considering my complaint. They...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jools737
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I used the hotel at the weekend to attend a wedding locally. The main points are:- 1. The Taster Menu is first rate. An exceptional meal for the price. 2. The room was quite dark with a small window fronting a small courtyard. It is however an old house converted to a hotel and this can be forgiven. 3. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am glad you had an excellent time and I look forward to welcome you back again in the future. Warmest Regards Robin Osman General Manager

scotland
Reviewed July 14, 2014

went there to my niece wedding what a wedding it was great she was beautiful the day went well went on the Saturday spent 2 nights there it was lovely food the meal on both days were good also the wedding breakfast too. company was good the place its self was good .Good staff the bar staff i think his...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tipp-off
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am glad we could make your family day special and I look forward to welcoming you back soon Warmest Regards Robin Osman General Manager

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We went to Thainstone for dinner and thoroughly enjoyed the taster menu. All produce was local and the very informative waitress was excellent. Atmosphere was rather noisy but we would definitely go again ! All staff were extremely attentive and the quality of food and presentation was of a very high standard ! Beautiful location and the green lady dining...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BallerinaBL
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. At Thainstone we aim to make every day perfect and I am glad that we have achieved that with your family wedding. I do hope you can join us again soon Warmest Regards Robin Osman General Manager

Anglesey, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We spent a weekend here in May. It was my husbands 50th birthday, we also combined it with visiting family in Inverurie. The room was lovely, very comfy bed but the room was very warm. I look forward to going to hotels, it's not something I get to do vey often, I was looking forward to a good cooked breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and I sincerely apologise your stay did not meet your expectations. I can assure that your comments about the food is not our usual high standard. I can assure you I have not received any feedback and I would very much like to speak to you about your experience. Please contact me at...

Bellshill Scotland
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Spent 2 nights here on a DBB spa break for our anniversary, from the moment you drive up towards the house you'll be impressed with the lovely grounds and house. The entrance staircase is impressive with its old style decor and many photos go the Gordon Highlanders, and this impressive tasteful decor in keeping with the period of the house...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gfarrell67
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 10, 2014

What a stunningly beautiful property with it's period features and lovely old paintings on the wall, great grounds to wander round with rabbits hoping all round you, just brilliant. The cleaning staff have to be commended IT IS SPOTLESS, well done the staff! The staff are warm, helpful and efficient in both the hotel reception and whilst dinning. the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimbo367
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind words which will only motivate my team further in our aim to be the best hotel in the area. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Warmest Regards Robin Osman General Manager

Ellon, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had a fantastic day for our reception at Thainstone House Hotel, hotel with immaculate, staff were fantastic and food was delicious. Staff were helpful from the minute we arrived until the minute we left.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LornaScott
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and I am glad that we made your wedding day truly special. I do hope you can return and have many more happy memories at Thainstone. Warmest Regards Robin Osman General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

197 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (167)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverurie
5.6 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
587 reviews
13.0 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
2.2 mi away
Strathburn Hotel
Strathburn Hotel
#3 of 5 in Inverurie
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ardennan House Hotel
Ardennan House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Inverurie
77 reviews
19.8 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
12.5 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sitting resplendent in 44 acres of lush meadowland, Crerar Hotel's Thainstone House has been lovingly restored to provide the very best in private and corporate hospitality. All 48 bedrooms which have been tastefully refurbished at Thainstone are created especially for your comfort. Elegant furnishings and restful décor are complemented by all the facilities that you would expect to find in a luxury hotel. In the sumptuous Georgian setting of the 2 AA Rosette awarded Green Lady restaurant you can linger over a mouthwatering menu prepared by our team of internationally trained chefs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thainstone House

Address: Inverurie AB51 5NT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Inverurie
Price Range: $86 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thainstone House 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Thainstone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swallow Thainstone House Hotel Inverurie
Swallow Thainstone Hotel
Thainstone House Hotel
Swallow Thainstone Inverurie
Thainstone Hotel
Thainstone House Inverurie, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Thainstone House staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Charleston, South Carolina
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Thainstone House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms at the front have a good view of the surroundings.”
ElsieS923, 6 days ago | Read review
“Junior suite Rm 405 is wonderful”
, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“I believe some of the rooms are a bit on the small size but ours was fine.”
GCH1, Apr 18, 2017 | Read review
“Pay for a better room”
LindaJ56, Mar 25, 2017 | Read review
“Go for the 6 course taster dinner - very good value!”
jaysofatherton, Mar 17, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotels.com
$75* /night
View Deal
AMOMA$145
Expedia.com$75
Booking.com$77
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates