We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Oysterfleet Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Oysterfleet Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 159: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel ok for a overnight stay. Was very disappointed that upon entering our room '32' it was obvious the previous guests had been smoking - and that the smoke alarm in the room had a plastic bag taped around it. Had to go to reception and get them to remove the bag from the smoke alarm. What disappointed me was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Oysterfleet Hotel Firstly once again we are sorry for the situation with the smoke alarm, this was definitely a mistake made and we informed housekeeping right away. I know it was dealt with immediately by our manager who was on duty and your breakfasts were refunded. Just to make it clear it...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went for Sunday carvery and have to say not that impressed, the meat was ok but the vegetables are clearly frozen not fresh and the food wasn't very hot . Choice of sweets very poor and again not homemade but from the freezer . Can't say we will be rushing back .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Oysterfleet Hotel Carvery, We are sorry to hear you wasn't happy with your meal you had here with us. I can ensure you all vegetables are fresh and cooked that day. Our Sunday Carvery is an extremely busy day with the waitress staff serving over 300 people each week. I will pass...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for a night, staff were lovely and very welcoming. Room was spacious and clean, stayed in room 41, was a little noisy but that's to be expected and didn't bother us. Only quibble was the lighting, made it really hard to put make-up on for the evening and it didn't matter which mirror we used, the lighting was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rie2511
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us, we pride our self on being friendly and helpful so I'm glad this was the case in all our departments. With regards to the lighting I will look into this for you and pass on your feedback to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have had a fabulous weekend at the Oysterfleet Hotel enjoying the music of Canvey's famous R & B band, Dr Feelgood. The service and rooms were fine, food was excellent (salmon and mackerel mousse was absolutely delicious). The organisation of the whole weekend could not be faulted but I am only giving four stars because the experience could have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion B
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Oysterfleet Hotel. We are pleased to hear you've enjoyed your weekend with us at the Dr Feelgood Weekend. We aim for high standards throughout the hotel, bar and restaurant and I am pleased you had a brilliant weekend. I have passed on your comments to our bar manager with regards to the...

England
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have used the hotel and found it perfect, have had a lake view and carpark view. Very good housekeeping standards. I have used both the lighthouse restaurant and the pub restaurant, enjoyed both. I regularly go here for drinks when visiting Canvey to see my parents. We enjoy a nice bottle of wine and chat in very nice atmosphere....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizabellett
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Oysterfleet Hotel. We are pleased to hear you've enjoyed all your visits with us. We aim for high standards throughout the hotel, bar and restaurant and I am pleased this was justified. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

northampton
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have stayed at The Oysterfleet several times & let us start by saying this is a really nice place. It's big & does well at what it does being a hotel, but also operates as a local pub & has a large function room Friendly & efficient check-in & very helpful staff Rooms vary in type & size, but all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank northampton15
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Oysterfleet Hotel. We are glad to hear you were happy with your room and the customer service you receieved. We are sorry to see your time away was disrupted by certain guests at the hotel. We do not accept behaviour like this and in the future please do not hestiate to complain...

Luton
Reviewed October 29, 2016

Loved this hotel, staff were welcoming and friendly. Room No 3 was clean with very comfortable beds and good quality pillow. Loved the food in the Restaurant, there were 9 of us dining, all found the food amazing, can thoroughly recommend eating here, good choice and attentive staff Breakfast was great and we really enjoyed our stay whilst visiting family...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GerryA A
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us, we pride our self on being friendly and helpful so I'm glad this was the case. Thank you for your feedback of the Lighthouse restaurant as well as the hotel, I will pass your comments on to the...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 25, 2016

We were just looking for a venue near to where we were running a course, on Canvey Island. The Oyster Fleet sounded good , so we gave it a go. Our first impression on Friday night, was not so good, as the bar area was bursting at the seams, very noisy and with nowhere to sit to drink a pint!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olwyn H
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The hotel is especially busy at the weekend especially with the bar and functions we have but I'm glad to hear the staff were able to help you. Thank you for your comments on both the restaurant and...

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

Called in for lunch on way home from weekend away,can thoroughly recommend eating here,food was amazing and staff very friendly,plenty of seating,some with amazing views across the lake,plenty of parking,if your in the area give it a go.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnM503790
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. Both our bar and restaurant menus have lots of variety and we are glad you enjoyed it. I have passed on your comments to the restaurant and we hope to see you again in the future.

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 27, 2016

Very large room that was very clean. Although the bed was not a king-size it was very comfortable with good pillows. A bit of road noise but then we did have windows open, didn't keep us awake though. Cleaned to a high standard every day. There was a bit of damp in bathroom but still get clean. Breakfast was yummy,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula W
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us over 3 nights, we pride our self on being friendly and helpful so I'm glad this was the case. Thank you for your feedback of damp in the bathroom, we will make sure this is looked at immediately so...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canvey Island
0.5 mi away
Endeavour Hotel
Endeavour Hotel
#2 of 2 in Canvey Island
47 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hot...
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
490 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,060 reviews
4.7 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
521 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Food & drink at the hotel
The Oysterfleet Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
The Oysterfleet Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: Bar, British, Seafood, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Oysterfleet hotel is a 40 bedroom hotel situated in the town centre of Canvey Island. All bedrooms are en-suite with tea and coffee making facilities. There is a choice of double, twin, family or interconnecting rooms and also a honeymoon suite. Complimentary parking is available on site. There is also a pub serving bar meals every day and a restaurant that is able to seat over 100 people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Oysterfleet Hotel

Address: 21 Knightswick Road, SS8 9PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Canvey Island
Price Range: $56 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Oysterfleet Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Oysterfleet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oysterfleet Hotel Canvey Island, Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Oysterfleet Hotel staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Oysterfleet Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“A room which looks over the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles lizabellett, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“We loved our twin No 3”
 of 5 bubbles GerryAA, Oct 29, 2016 | Read review
“Our room was quiet as it was well away from the bar area. (as were rooms 1-25)”
 of 5 bubbles OlwynH_13, Oct 25, 2016 | Read review
“central location, good parking, friendly staff”
 of 5 bubbles pastorsmokey, Sep 15, 2016 | Read review
“I didn't stay in this room but room 19 overlooks the pond lovely view”
 of 5 bubbles pburman, Aug 14, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay