We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Oysterfleet Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Oysterfleet Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 167: English reviews
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very friendly, clean and tidy. Food was nice, and well presented. Stayed there for one weekend on a business trip. Would definitely be back for the price. Beds was very comfortable, and the beer and food was a reasonable price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seamaster813
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments regarding the food to the kitchen and we shall hopefully see you again in the future.

Cambridge
Reviewed 1 week ago

I could list a number of issues that I had here however, it cost me £50 for a night, other local hotels were quite a bit dearer, the nearest Premier Inn was £25 dearer. If I was coming here for a holiday and staying for a week, then yes , I guess I would be none pleased, the room I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hippychris
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. As you stated we are a budget hotel and our prices do reflect this in our local area. Our smaller rooms are functional and have everything available for a short stay. With regards to the electric tripping I am glad this issue was sorted affieciently and with affect. I will...

benfleet
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a pleasant steak/turkey meal with friends, the food enjoyable and the staff very friendly nothing was too much for them, we all thought our meals / puddings was most satisfactory, will visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent meal with us in our Lighthouse restaurant. I will pass on your comments to the restaurant and kitchen. Our menu changes every three months so please come back and try us again when it's changed. We look forward to welcoming you...

Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped over for a couple of nights in September for a friends Wedding. The room was adequate, not flash but was clean. Cheap & Cheerful. We`ve stopped in worse. We ate outside on the decking with friends as it was a warm evening. It was pleasant looking over the lake and watching the large carp coming for food close to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for your review of the pub and the breakfasts you had as well as the hotel, I will pass your comments on to the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

£59 for a below average room on a Sunday night without breakfast in this part of Essex is above average. I has requested a ground floor room but after checking in at 4pm and being told how to find my room I found I had to negotiate three small steps. This would not have been so bad if there had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Oysterfleet Hotel Our hotel prices are very competitive in the area and the room reflects this price. We are based on a set price throughout the whole week. We have ground floor rooms with both steps and a slope. If you had stated to our team that you couldn't manage stairs then...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 11, 2016

We attended a wedding during autumn and were told that they couldn't accommodate special dietary requirements for our child even though we had asked in advance. Breakfast food was reasonable, but overpriced. The room was adequate, but smelt of cigarette smoke.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joinedup
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Oysterfleet Hotel In regards to a wedding attended here, we cater for all dietary requirements. If the meal hadn't been pre-ordered then the kitchen would not have known about the requirement. We have many people attend our establishment with special diatery needs and have never had a problem in helping. Our breakfast...

Manchester
Reviewed December 11, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is dirty, dated and tired. It needs major investment as everywhere you look there are poor botched repairs, thread bare carpets and we had a lot of mould on the bedroom windows. The cleaning staff aren't happy, as you could hear them daily whinging and whining on the corridors. I've stayed in cleaner better maintained budget hotels and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank d19mes
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your reviews you have published on both here and our website. Our hotel has been refurbished in the last few years and our maintenance team are here daily continuing to improve all areas and ensure everything is safe and working. If would of helped if you came to Reception when you were here so we could of...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 8, 2016

We used to live on the Island so know the pub and often drank in the lovely beer garden in the summer. We never ate here as we don't like a carvery and the menu has always been very dated. We moved away from the area but needed a hotel for 1 night as we were visiting and knew there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Engineer9199
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. The room you booked with us was our "double-budget" which is a lower rate because of the size. This is stated on our website along with letting customers know the bed is against the wall. It's also stated...

Reviewed December 5, 2016

Hotel ok for a overnight stay. Was very disappointed that upon entering our room '32' it was obvious the previous guests had been smoking - and that the smoke alarm in the room had a plastic bag taped around it. Had to go to reception and get them to remove the bag from the smoke alarm. What disappointed me was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Oysterfleet Hotel Firstly once again we are sorry for the situation with the smoke alarm, this was definitely a mistake made and we informed housekeeping right away. I know it was dealt with immediately by our manager who was on duty and your breakfasts were refunded. Just to make it clear it...

Reviewed December 4, 2016 via mobile

Went for Sunday carvery and have to say not that impressed, the meat was ok but the vegetables are clearly frozen not fresh and the food wasn't very hot . Choice of sweets very poor and again not homemade but from the freezer . Can't say we will be rushing back .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Oysterfleet Hotel Carvery, We are sorry to hear you wasn't happy with your meal you had here with us. I can ensure you all vegetables are fresh and cooked that day. Our Sunday Carvery is an extremely busy day with the waitress staff serving over 300 people each week. I will pass...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canvey Island
0.5 mi away
Endeavour Hotel
Endeavour Hotel
#2 of 2 in Canvey Island
49 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hot...
#8 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
507 reviews
4.7 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#2 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
245 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Food & drink at the hotel
The Oysterfleet Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
The Oysterfleet Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: Bar, British, Seafood, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Oysterfleet hotel is a 40 bedroom hotel situated in the town centre of Canvey Island. All bedrooms are en-suite with tea and coffee making facilities. There is a choice of double, twin, family or interconnecting rooms and also a honeymoon suite. Complimentary parking is available on site. There is also a pub serving bar meals every day and a restaurant that is able to seat over 100 people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Oysterfleet Hotel

Address: 21 Knightswick Road, SS8 9PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Canvey Island
Price Range: $61 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Oysterfleet Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Oysterfleet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oysterfleet Hotel Canvey Island, Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Oysterfleet Hotel staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Oysterfleet Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“avoid room 20 there is a fan noise all night.”
 of 5 bubbles Hippychris, 1 week ago | Read review
“Enjoy your food we did.”
 of 5 bubbles benfleetjan, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Find another hotel, plenty of choice off the island”
 of 5 bubbles 196pamelah, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Try Premier Inn”
  • Old heater which didn't work
  • Peep show at the bathroom window
  • Bent wires at the back of the heater
  • Old dirty shower tray
  • One ply toilet tissue
  • Toilet stack
  • Squashed bed, no headboard, next to the wall and under draughty windiw
  • One of two broken lamps in the room
 of 5 bubbles Engineer9199, Dec 8, 2016 | Read review
“A room which looks over the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles lizabellett, Nov 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay