AMA Islantilla Resort

AMA Islantilla Resort

Paseo de las Cumbres s/n, 21449 Islantilla Spain
Traveler (1026)
Panorama at the Marble AMA Andalucia
360
Panoramas (15)
Room
Room & Suite (472)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Tue, Jun 4
Breakfast included
$116
Fully refundable before Wed, Jun 5
Breakfast included
Easy and fast booking
Only 3 left at
$102
$91
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#7 of 9 hotels in Islantilla
Location
3.8
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.3
Value
4.1
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
AMA Islantilla resort is modern and stylish hotel that offers all you need for a great holiday. Here you find several relaxing pool areas with kid´s pool, sun loungers and parasols that is perfect for the whole family. In the spa & wellness center you can pamper yourself with a relaxing treatment and for the more active guests AMA Islantilla offers sports activities, a fully equipped gym and much more. The hotel also offers a buffet restaurant , A la carte restaurant and two bars.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Kids club
Free shuttle or taxi services
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German, Portuguese

Location

Paseo de las Cumbres s/n, 21449 Islantilla Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 41 out of 100
41
Faro Airport
43.4 mi
See all flights
Malaga Airport
155.4 mi
See all flights
1 Attraction
within 0.75 miles
933Reviews129Q+A29Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 468
  • 268
  • 108
  • 38
  • 52
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
memberHolland wrote a review Mar 2020
Holland642 contributions255 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel says: Welcome to relax. This is certainly possible (not in weekends though) but it has some faults.
We choose a cheap deal through the internet including Half Pension in a luxury apartment. Our apartment had a balcony facing north, so it was not possible to sit in the sun. The outside pools were not open. This is a pity because the weather was very nice.
The free inside pool with modern art paintings on the black walls was nice enough. On saturday I had 4 collisions with some kids who did not understand I was swimming laps while the life guard did not speak a word of English.

The complex, the formerly La Ciguena, consists of hotelrooms and apartments and was intended as a Dutch residential complex for active seniors. The busy golf courses are in the direct neighbourhood, but the sea is not. There is a possibility to park in the (not signposted) garage under the apartments but reception forgot to explain how the 4 parts of the remote control worked in relation to the four different gates.

Our apartment was modern and huge, but there was only a half sized dishwasher placed at 1.60 metres, so a lot of people need stairs to fill the dishwasher. There was a washing machine and a Nespresso and one bathroom for two bedrooms. The couch was very modern but not comfortable. At checkin you have to declare in writing that you won't take the Nespresso with you.

Food was made of cheap ingredients but the waiters were nice. Every evening you can eat some kind of fish and there is always some kidsfriendly food available.

The guests were mostly golf groups over 65 years old and very few families. Islantilla has got a big hospitality school and you could see the waiters had had some training. Breakfast was OK with good fresh Orange juice. In the vicinity of Islantilla there are a lot of orange trees.

The beaches are nice in Islantilla while the shopping center was closed. We made a trip to El Rocio in the Donana Park, that was unique.

Check out took very long, because at 12.00 on Saturday a lot of people were checking in.

Overall is was a good deal for three days.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Char wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is a short trip away from Faro airport, it took us around an hour. we had a transfer but plenty of people rented a car for the week and drove which seemed straight forward. The hotel was huge, apartment was a really good size and had everything you needed ideal for families. The rooms appeared clean but on closer inspection could do with a deep clean.

A lot of people we met upgraded to all inclusive as the hotel is a little remote however we had no issue with the 20-25 minute walk down hill. There was a train you could catch on the way up and a taxi cost around 9 euros and this was a fixed price after around 10.00

You can rent a car from the hotel, this is pretty much the only place you can get one from. It was around 50 euros for the day. We drove to Seville for the day which I would recommend, it was beautiful took around an 1 hour and 20 minutes, the hotel can recommend a central carpark.

Most evening we walked down to La Antilla, we looked for the restaurants that were busiest. Most of the menus were in Spanish and the waiters spoke little english which was fine but just have google translator ready! on Saturday night they had music by the beach.

If you want to experience the Spanish culture, get away from the touristy areas of Spain and try something different then this is the place for you! Siestas are a real thing here so you ideally want to head out after 8.30.

Any questions would love to help.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marta Cañete del Valle, Director General at AMA Islantilla Resort
Responded Apr 15, 2020
Dear Chardy, Thank you for your time reviewing AMA Islantilla Resort. we are glad you enjoyed your stay in AMA and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert C wrote a review Dec 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We went after seeing a Black Friday offer of 117 euros in a deluxe room including breakfast and dinner. We already us ether Spa as we live locally and chose a night in the hotel as a break from cooking and to use the Spa. I loved the sauna and ice pool and my wife the infrared pod etc. The room was nice with a very comfortable bed and a nice Tera e to sit out on and enjoy the winter sunshine. The food was the problem though. We where told dinner was included however when we got there we where not in the dining room which is just to the side of the reception which we looked at while making the reservation and looking forward to sitting in there and being served a meal. Instead it was a self service buffet. The tiniest little dried por chops and some half chicken wings with rice or some cod (basque style) which my wife tried. It was very acidic and tasted like fried tomatoes (tomate frito) straight out of tin. There was some pre cooked spaghetti delightfully drying away under the heat lamps and again that red tomato sauce, some frozen chips and cheap croquettes brought miserably to life with fried only to sit there going dry. At no point in making the booking did any mention this type of food. We eat in the local village a menu of the day including wine or beer for 11 euros which is infinitely bette than the shockingly poor food they served. Breakfast was actually ok with fruit and the usual fried eggs and bacon, bread and baby croissants.
Needless to say we went to pavarotties a local Italian restaurant for dinner as did another party of four who took one look at the buffet and didn’t even try it.

Staff whee great in the hotel and friendly enough but the food !!

Nos hemos sentado un poco engañado !!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Clear information about offers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marta Cañete del Valle, General Manager at AMA Islantilla Resort
Responded Feb 17, 2024
Dear Mr. Robert, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, Our rule is to treat all of our guest on the same way, as we have over 70% of international guests, we apologize in case you havent feel that welcome and will focus on that to improve with our team. Thanks again for sharing your opinion as this help as improving every day Regards, Marta Cañete General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gerry K wrote a review Nov 2022
Dublin, Ireland5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A very nice hotel with very friendly staff, the buffet dinner and breakfast were excellent.
We loved the bathroom even if the taps were a bit too much. Overall a nice time there, the only fault was that we couldn't have stayed longer
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marta Cañete del Valle, General Manager at AMA Islantilla Resort
Responded Nov 10, 2022
Dear 954gerryk, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for the great review of our hotel! We are really happy that you have enjoyed at AMA Islantilla Resort**** We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Best Regards, Booking Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dave B wrote a review Jan 2020
York, United Kingdom25 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It had been some time since we'd been to Islantilla, but we knew that the area is very quiet in January. It's mostly holiday homes that don't start getting used until Easter and then the place is full over the summer, otherwise it's a bit of a ghost town. If you like golf however, you're close to the course and it's not busy! We love the area, the beaches are fantastic, Ayamonte's lovely and its also just a short drive to Portugal.
So the hotel was just under half full, it's pretty new, lovely rooms, and a great variety of food. We were on a half board deal which included use of the spa - well worth it.
Friendly helpful staff.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from amaislantillaresort, Bookings at AMA Islantilla Resort
Responded Feb 1, 2020
Dear Dave B, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Best Regards, Booking Department.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel wrote a review Jun 2022
Grodzisk Mazowiecki, Poland64 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is situated in a quiet area on a hill. Transport to the city. Neat greenery on the premises of the hotel. Nice staff, the best boyfriend with glasses serving breakfast. In general, everyone deserves some extra bonuses! The reception, having learned about possible protests, thought about our early transfer from the hotel to the airport. Clean and nice.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marta Cañete del Valle, General Manager at AMA Islantilla Resort
Responded Jun 30, 2022
Dear Rowerek, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for the great review of our hotel! We are really happy that you have enjoyed at AMA Islantilla Resort**** We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Regards, Booking Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eric J wrote a review Jun 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Very disappointing.
This hotel needs a kick up the backside with regard to its business acumen - it doesn’t have any! No entertainment, and the service in the bar is atrocious. They have no idea how to run a hotel. It’s a shambles.
A good hotel if you have insomnia . . . as it will send you to sleep
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marta Cañete del Valle, General Manager at AMA Islantilla Resort
Responded Jun 29, 2022
Dear Eric J, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We will take note about your comment to get better. We have 2 days a week of shows at night and our animation team every day. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, So sorry if we didnt reach your expectations but will be a pleasure to receive you again. Best Regards, Booking Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cory M wrote a review Sep 2022
Albufeira23 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is to recommend! Nice and confortable room and a lovely buffet and sitting area. Excellent staff with a nice smile to welcome you! Compliments to the blond lady at reception. Lovely swimming pool area. It says at the entrance. Time to relax and that is what we have done. Definately will come back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marta Cañete del Valle, General Manager at AMA Islantilla Resort
Responded Oct 7, 2022
Dear corym100, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Best Regards, Booking Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandra G wrote a review Jul 2018
Lisbon, Portugal6 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am just back from a 5 day trip to this hotel with my 21 year old daughter. The whole complex is spotlessly clean, staff are incredibly helpful and the food is amazing. I would definitely return there. There are two swimming pools and a kids pool and plenty of space and sun loungers for everyone. There are 2 parts to the town, the new and old and i would highly recommend the old area, particularly if you want to do some shopping. We didnt go far as the hotel was so welcoming and comfortable. We had a 2 bedroomed apartment which was really spacious, the kitchen was well equipped and we even had a utility room with a washing machine and ironing board. There is a cute little train which goes to the beach and town during the day and evening. Its very modern, and classy hotel.

Look forward to revisiting soon, thanks Pau
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SENTIDOAma, Director General at AMA Islantilla Resort
Responded Jul 21, 2018
Thank you very much for your assessment, I hope your trip back was not so hard. Thank you very much for coming to know us and wanting to be part of our great family. See you soon Pau Bori Soucheiron Director General
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen H wrote a review Aug 2018
7 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are a family of 4 (2 teenagers age 17 & 15) and booked a 10 night all inclusive stay at the AMA Sentido Islantilla as they offer 2 bedrooms apartments. We flew into Faro and picked up a hire car at the airport. The journey time to the hotel took around 75 minutes with the hotel easy to find. On check-in we were greeted by a very friendly and efficient receptionist who gave us all the details we needed to find our room and advised would let us know when the hotel car park had a space available as they were full. Only in the room for 30 mins and received a call to say a space had become available. A 50E deposit gave you a key fob to operate the security gates and underground car park and it meant the car was never parked in full sun. The apartment was the standard 2 bed which was light and airy and had a large bathroom with a little luxury of a shaving mirror; great when us girls want to put on mascara! Although we never cooked in the apartment the kitchen had everything you needed. Used the washing machine a couple of times which is always good to have. Rattan furniture on the balcony overlooking the other apartments and the golf course was nice to sit out and read before going out for dinner. A well equipped and maintained gym which the family used most mornings before breakfast. The indoor pool & jacuzzi were free and for an additional 5E per day gave you access to the sauna & plunge pool. The outdoor pools were well maintained with plenty of sunbeds always available. Would have preferred it if children did not use the outdoor jacuzzi as a play pool though. The food was good and at no time was there any occasions where we had to wait more than a couple of minutes for a table. The staff work very hard. We tried the al a carte restaurant one evening, a set meal, but it really wasn’t to our liking. Antonio in the pool bar was fantastic and he served proper filtered coffee unlike the restaurant which was instant. Everything Antonio did was 100 mph but extremely efficient and very friendly. Rosa was great in the restaurant and David who worked behind the bar was always happy to offer areas to visit. It would have been good, especially for an all inclusive hotel, for there to be entertainment in the evenings even if just for 3 or 4 nights a week as after dinner there was little to do except sit and have an evening drink or have a game of cards. The wi-fi in and around the hotel was fantastic. The resort itself was very quiet and some days we ventured a little further along the coast. We also visited Seville which took around 90 minutes by car. A beautiful city and would highly recommend to anyone; although be prepared to be walking around in 40+ degree heat. Also did the Spain to Portugal zip wire which was great fun too. For anyone who is looking for a relaxed laid back holiday in a very friendly and spotless hotel then don’t hesitate to book the AMA Sentido Islantilla.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SENTIDOAma, Director General at AMA Islantilla Resort
Responded Aug 28, 2018
I was very surprised by your opinion and frankly I thank you very much for your attention. It is extremely well written and details our services. I am sorry that the dinner in our tapas restaurant was not to your liking, I would have liked to have said it while I was staying here with your family. On the subject of breakfast coffee, from next year we will have available new machines with coffee beans and filter. I hope to say hello again when I return with your family. See you soon Pau Bori Soucheiron Director General
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cristiane Pais R asked a question Jul 2020
Barcelona, Spain1 contribution
What time do the trains run to go to the Islantilla beach
Answer from Marta Cañete
Islantilla, Spain2 helpful votes
Hola! Hay tren a la playa cada hora, desde las 10:30 hasta las 19:30 :)
Answer from Dee187069
Manchester, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
Yes its about a 15/20 min walk but theres a land train from the hotel runs regularly. Its downhill walking down so easier to get the train back.
Berry asked a question Sep 2019
Lake District, United Kingdom17 contributions10 helpful votes
Does anyone know who we could book the hotel for next year ? Can’t seem to find it available through Thomas Cook !
Answer from Christine W
Blackburn, United Kingdom31 contributions19 helpful votes
Have you tried directly with the hotel or if you search the hotel name then all travel agents operating to it will come up.
Answer from Christine W
Blackburn, United Kingdom31 contributions19 helpful votes
No trousers are not required. The restaurant is more like a canteen. Very informal
Robert C wrote a tip Dec 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Clear information about offers "
Read full review
HolidayFan82 wrote a tip Jul 2019
Liverpool, United Kingdom10 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had top floor but facing the road, which can get quite loud of an evening."
Read full review
Christine W wrote a tip May 2019
Blackburn, United Kingdom31 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 87 Block B gets the afternoon sun."
Read full review
MAGGIESWScotland wrote a tip May 2019
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom53 contributions85 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in the main hotel"
Read full review
chris c wrote a tip Sep 2018
Ayr, United Kingdom86 contributions20 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hire a car !"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Islantilla area.
PRICE RANGE
$94 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sentido Ama Islantilla
LOCATION
SpainAndaluciaCosta de la LuzIslantilla
NUMBER OF ROOMS
68
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AMA ISLANTILLA RESORT $105 ($̶1̶2̶1̶)

Frequently Asked Questions about AMA Islantilla Resort
Which popular attractions are close to AMA Islantilla Resort?
Nearby attractions include Happy Park la Antilla (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at AMA Islantilla Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at AMA Islantilla Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at AMA Islantilla Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at AMA Islantilla Resort?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to AMA Islantilla Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Meson la Montanera, Bar El Trasmallo, and Beach Club Islantilla Golf Resort.
Are there opportunities to exercise at AMA Islantilla Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is AMA Islantilla Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Islantilla.
Are any cleaning services offered at AMA Islantilla Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at AMA Islantilla Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and German.
Is AMA Islantilla Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Islantilla HotelsIslantilla Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in IslantillaHotels near AMA Islantilla Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars