We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Kokkini Hani, Crete 71500 Greece
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
View all 13 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (76)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (8)

About

#8 of 11 Specialty lodging in Kokkini Hani
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Almare Beach is situated in the village of Kokkini Hani, just 12 km east of the capital Heraklion. Due to its location at the beach (sandy beach about 40m), it offers the perfect holiday experience with magnificent moments in relaxing atmosphere. Cretan hospitality and warmth combined with excellent service are waiting for you to make your vacation unforgettable. Because of its central location Almare Beach gives its guests the possibility to reach all destinations very easy and quickly. Only 3 km away you can visit the biggest Aquarium of the Balkans. Moreover there is a public bus station in front of the hotel, where from you can easily start for excursions in all directions. In the village centre of Kokkini Hani there are many cafes, bars, taverns, restaurants and shops, for everything you could possibly need. If you want to have a closer look at the Cretan nightlife, Chersonissos, which is only 10 minutes drive from the hotel, is the right place. There are numerous bars and discos, offering fun all night long. Operation Period: April/May - October Accommodation Type: Buffet or set menu for bed & breakfast, half board Check in 15:00 – Check out 11:00 Service:buffet or set menu depending the occupancy (offered in the nearby sister hotel Sunset Beach 40m) Voltage:220 V
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Restaurant
Beach
Bicycle rental
Car hire
Baggage storage
Wifi
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Tile / marble floor
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
Russian, German, Greek
21Reviews1Q+A1Room tip
Traveler rating
  • 11
  • 3
  • 3
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Anna porfireeva wrote a review Sep 2021
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Clean ,quiet, small hote,l all the facilities are provided at sister Hotel sunset Beach! Breakfast with enough variety where you can enjoy your breakfast by the sea. Many thanks to all staff that made my vacation unforgettable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Αριστείδης Μ wrote a review Sep 2021
Athens, Greece1 contribution
We visited almare for 1 week and everything was perfect. The rooms super clean and spacious. Almare is located 2 minutes from Sunset Beach hotel where you use all the facilities there like pool breakfast dinner etc. Super friendly stuff! And best location right on the see. Would definitely recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Andrea G wrote a review Sep 2021
Leeds, United Kingdom41 contributions36 helpful votes
Note that this is not a hotel, but a block of rooms. All facilities are in a different hotel down the road (reception, restaurant, swimming pool). Difficult access for prams/ strollers and wheelchairs. In addition, the rooms we were given were not as bright or clean as advertised. Needless to say we still had to pay 50% of the whole fee eventhough we chose not to stay there (as per booking.com policy).
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Vlad B wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions
I chose a stay in August 2021 at Almare Beach Shotel with breakfast and dinner included. the rooms were very clean and spacious. the beach close to the hotel. the staff not very smiling ... the food received at breakfast and dinner was WRONG. The same food every day. The little breakfast consists only of salami and cheap cheese. no sausages, no hot dogs, no scrambled eggs, no local specialties. Very dry dinner, no taste, no local specialties, no fish. I will nevere choose Almare Beach shotel again because of the terrible food.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid food!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from VANGELIS SOMARAS, Owner at Almare Beach Hotel
Responded Sep 11, 2021
Dear Mr Vlad, Thank you for staying with us and also for your bad comments that seems you were not happy with our food (breakfast and dinner). But if you read the most of guests are happy (about 90%) and apart form that we ask always our guests locally and they are happy, if not we try to improve ourselves – we don’t have any reason not to do that, otherwise we would have always bad comments, complaints and hotels empty. Please see the link which is the weekly program of our breakfast and for 10 days circle dinner buffet which is based on cretan and greek cuisine that you probably don’t have any idea. https://tinyurl.com/354rfhdd & https://tinyurl.com/j683ftnz What we offer is more than other 3* local hotel and more than value for money as our rates are very cheap. Of course your opinion is well noted but not accepted for many reasons. Thank you in advance for your time Staff and Family of Almare beach
Read more
Raluca S wrote a review Aug 2021
Cluj-Napoca, Romania27 contributions5 helpful votes
We arrived there on a Friday at noon only to be met by nobody at the hotel. The hotel does not have its own reception area and visitors must assume that they must check-in at another nearby hotel called Sunset Beach Hotel. So we went to that hotel and were told that they'd call a person to show us the room and that person would meet us at Almare Hotel. Of course, the person was late and we had to wait for her in the sun. We were then shown our rooms, which were different from what we paid for. The woman who gave us the keys almost ran out of the rooms afterwards so that we don't have time to figure out we're given the wrong rooms. When we went to the receptionist to tell him this. he told us we won't be able to contact her before next Monday. What we assumed happened is that they overbooked the hotel (sold the same rooms to different customers) and the rooms that we paid for were already occupied. Nobody took responsibility for this, they all pretended they didn't know what happened, there was nobody in charge at the hotel. We spent one night in this outdated hotel, in two separate rooms, one of which faced the neighbor's courtyard, where he played karaoke all night long, making a lot of noise. The other room faced an ugly building and had a sea side view. Both rooms were very small and outdated, we barely had space to move around. There was no restaurant at the hotel either. It looked abandoned completely. After a long saga that implied a lot of phone calls and drama, the manager gave us the possibility to check-in at the main hotel, Sunset beach, in an apartment facing the sea. However, we were two couples and the apartment had one bedroom and one common area with two twin beds. Only the bedroom had air conditioner and the apartment had only one small bathroom. Everything inside was outdated. The restaurant of this hotel served both Almare and Sunset Beach hotels guests. The breakfast food was ordinary, the same breakfast every morning (slices of very cheap cheese, salami, boiled eggs, jam and some fruits). The dinner for was just as bad, usually overcooked.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from VANGELIS SOMARAS, Owner at Almare Beach Hotel
Responded Sep 11, 2021
Dear Ms Raluca Thank you for staying with us in July (Almare beach 3 keys *) a small rent room hotel on the beach side and only 50meters from the first sandy beach and all facilities, services, pool, breakfast and dinner are offered for guests of Almare as per the official website but also tour operators description, in our main hotel Sunset beach 3***. Furthermore, I would like to give you some info regarding your comments in tripadvisor. You arrived in Almare beach and by mistake the travel agent (driver of the bus) left you in front of Almare and not in main hotel Sunset which is actually the reception also for Almare (as per our hotel description – the tour operator also is informed). Probably you were not well informed therefore you are disappointed as first impression. We are sorry for this, we could have avoided all this, if you were better informed and no mistake for the bus driver. Regarding the complain for the rooms I would have to answer you that you booked Almare (you never read the description before) and we offered you normally (there is also a report of your travel agent guide which was involved in your case next day that you might forgot), 2 side sea view rooms and as per the hotel description of the tour operator are more than normal size in this category, one is number 6 with 25 sq meters and number 8 which is 35 sq meters. Rooms of Almare are completely renovated in 2019. Therefore I would like to ask you to delete these comments as this is not the reality as also the tour operator informed you locally. As you demanded and we wanted also to keep you satisfied, we offered you with the support of the travel agent next day 1 apartment 45 sq meters (main bed room and living room) in our sister main hotel Sunset beach, 50m away and you accepted to stay there instead of Almare as you booked and offered on arrival day. Rooms are also renovated but in cretan style. Regarding the noise of a Greek local neighbor, that organized ONCE this year a small bbq night in normal hours and yes with some music, I asked him to stop it, but as you might have read, Almare is situated in a village with housed surrounded, and they are allowed to enjoy their houses in normal hours (not noon and during night hours) like in the whole world !!! As for the breakfast and dinner, as mention above and as per our description of Almare (that you never read before you book or the opposite but you want indeed to complain without reason), we cannot accept for 2 reasons. The weekly program of breakfast buffet but also the 10 days circle program of Dinner buffet (based on cretan and greek cuisine that you might don’t know what is what), https://dynamic-media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/photo-o/1d/ae/38/f0/breakfast-weekly-programm.jpg?w=1200&h=-1&s=1 https://dynamic-media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/photo-o/1d/ae/39/55/dinner-buffet-programm.jpg?w=1200&h=-1&s=1 is more than enough and accepted from about the 90% of our guests and the second reason is that we ask on daily basis guests if they are satisfied so we have their opinion locally and if needed we do changes. We don’t have any reason to offer as you say same or bad quality, why then our hotels are always fully booked and we cooperate with more than 35 tour operators worldwide keeping our and their guests satisfied ? Thanking you in advance, for changing or deleting your not true comments of our services. Hope next time to enjoy your stay in another hotel but before please read carefully the description and the comments of the majority of the guests. Best Regards Staff and family of Almare beach
Read more
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
$54 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GreeceCreteHeraklion PrefectureKokkini Hani
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Almare Beach Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Almare Beach Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Rebekka store (0.3 miles), Supermarket Dictamos (0.2 miles), and Beach Vathianos Kampos (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Almare Beach Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Almare Beach Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Almare Beach Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Almare Beach Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Almare Beach Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taverna Tzo, Kafe Meze Pratsinis, and Pan Asia.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Almare Beach Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Almare Beach Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including German, Russian, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Almare Beach Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Palace of Knossos (5.7 miles), Castello del Molo (Koules) (6.6 miles), and Venetian Walls and Tomb of Nikos Kazantzakis (6.9 miles).
Does Almare Beach Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.