We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau La Cheneviere

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (350)
Dining (44)
Room & Suite (36)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
Set close to Omaha Beach and the historic town of Bayeux, Port en Bessin conceals a treasure that lies at the end of a long drive " Chateau La Cheneviere ". Impeccable lawns, ancient trees and a charmingly old fashioned rose garden... arriving on the estate is like strolling onto the lands of an English Lord who fell under the spell of Calvados region. The manor appears at last, a dignified Norman edifice from the 18th century, it combines the charms of an old house with the conveniences of a cosy English Manor. Add to that an opulent interior, spacious, elegant bedrooms. The dining room, overlooking the park, has a certain grandeur on an intimate scale, while classic cuisine allows you to explore all the distinctive flavours of Normandy, a generous and distinguished cuisine based on delicious local produce, faultless service, a heated outdoor pool, a splendid terrace, and the picture is complete...
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Books, DVDs, music for children
Highchairs available
Electric vehicle charging station
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Horseback riding
Tennis court
Bicycle tours
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish
508Reviews9Q+A70Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 386
  • 76
  • 30
  • 7
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Raptor wrote a review Oct 2023
15 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
We enjoyed a lovely, relaxing three night stay at the chateau. We had a fabulous room, complete with its own private staircase. The grounds at this chateau are impeccable and we enjoyed strolling around enjoying the beautiful location. The fresh orange juice at breakfast was absolutely delightful as well as the fresh breads and pastries. Everyone was extremely welcoming and the chateau is located just moments from Bayeux and the D Day Beaches.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
A R wrote a review Sep 2023
Boston, Massachusetts7 contributions4 helpful votes
I adored this hotel - chic and tasteful in all regards. I felt I had been dropped into a dream. Loved every aspects - the understated decoration, the wonderful breakfasts, the bar area and of course the grounds.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Diane K wrote a review Sep 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
La Cheneviere is one special property with a first rate staff. The rooms were beautiful, spacious, elegant and comfortable. The property itself is magnificent with its gardens, beautiful pool, tennis court, and two restaurants. Both restaurants were extraordinary. Le Botaniste, the more formal, was a special full course experience for our extended family of eight. We felt especially well cared for by the staff, most especially Beatrice who shared wonderful suggestions and recommendations with us. We loved every minute of our time in this lovely, upscale family-like-estate setting.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sandra M wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
The chateau is in a superb location and is surrounded by beautiful gardens. The hotel is truly lovely and very elegantly furnished. We had dinner at the bistro which was great. Breakfast in the dining room is not to be missed. There is a beautiful selection of pastries, fresh fruit, breads, cheeses and hams. Must mention the attentive and friendly service. We truly enjoyed our visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Ideally located to visit Omaha beach and local museums.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivia Dicker, Owner at Château La Chenevière
Responded Sep 12, 2023
Many thanks for your lovely review. we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jonny E wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We just returned to California following a 6 day stay at the Chateau La Cheneviere. If word was fully out on this incredibly gorgeous Hotel/Chateau, I could not imagine anyone staying elsewhere, for visiting the WW11 D Day landing sites. It is located just up the road from Port du Bassin which is a charming fishing center, with great views and plenty of restaurants from which to choose. But the headliner in these parts is the Chateau. The rooms are large and the bathrooms are updated and extremely comfortable. The grounds span approximately 10-15 acres (my guess) and the greenery, swimming pool, tennis courts, and restaurant would make an incredibly relaxing place to take a break in the action, so to speak, from hectic European travel. I HIGHLY recommend the Chateau and I hope others have the opportunity to enjoy a visit as we were privileged to do. One of the most pleasurable hotel experience for this very seasoned traveler!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivia Dicker, Owner at Château La Chenevière
Responded Sep 12, 2023
Thank you so much for your kind words and support! This means a lot to us. On behalf of the entire team at Chateau la Cheneviere, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Javier Y wrote a review Jul 2023
Miami, Florida62 contributions38 helpful votes
+1
Wow!!! We just returned to Chateau La Cheneviere for our 6th stay. Again, our experience was absolutely amazing!!! Everything as memorable and wonderful as our first stay in 2014. The location is very strategic as it can serve as a hub to visit the numerous nearby towns; such as, Etretat, Mont St. Michel, Honfleur, Caen, Bayeux and the D-day Beaches. The estate-hotel sits in the tranquil countryside; elegant with its timeless decor, yet not stuffy, surrounded by beautiful farmland and rolling hills. It is 3 minutes from the seaside quaint little town of Port-en-Bessin and 10 minutes from Bayeau. The gardens are impressively immaculate with its foliage and variety of trees that have to be well over a hundred years old. You will enjoy sitting outside on one of their outdoor areas, sipping a glass of wine, soaking in the spectacular scenery. The rooms are large, very clean, and each decorated in a different and very tasteful manner. The staff is beyond phenomenal. They give you the feeling that you are staying as a guest in their own home. If you have an opportunity, book dinner at their gourmet restaurant Le Botaniste and their Petit Jardín, which is situated in a glass house. The food, service, and ambiance is excellent and different in both restaurants. The dining experience will be an event in itself. In addition, their selection of wines is quite impressive. A special thank you to Aurelie, Justine, and Beatrice for always being so welcoming and attentive to all our needs. Already anticipating our return to Normandy and our next stay at Chateau La Cheneviere.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivia Dicker, Owner at Château La Chenevière
Responded Sep 12, 2023
We're so pleased to see our regulars enjoying their time with us. On behalf of the entire team at Chateau la Cheneviere, we thank you for your kind words. We do look forward to your next stay. All the best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ktbird406 wrote a review Jun 2023
6 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Thought we had died and gone to heaven! This is the most beautiful place I have ever stayed. The staff as extremely friendly and helpful, especially Beatrice in the restaurant/bar - she's delightful! The rooms are huge and comfortable and make you feel like you've gone back in time and are in your own home. The bathrooms are updated with an amazin rainshower head and side jets, towel warmers. I slept with my windows open as it was cool and it was the most amazing sleep I've had in a long time. We had dinner in the restaurant which was very fancy, you felt like you should dress for dinner. Their specialty drinks were amazing and the food was pretty and delicious. This was by far the highlight of our week in France even if we only stayed 2 nights.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Dinner in the main restaurant is pricey, worth it but if you want to save a bit drive down the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivia Dicker, Owner at Château La Chenevière
Responded Sep 12, 2023
Thank you so much for this lovely review, which really means the world to us! On behalf of the entire team at Chateau la Cheneviere, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon. All the very best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Climber15131626516 wrote a review Jun 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
On May 4, 2023 my husband and I checked into the chateau. Upon entering our room, I looked for a safe to store my Chanel bag. The safe provided was too small to hold my not so large bag. I placed the bag behind some bed linens to ensure that it was out of sight. The next morning my husband and I left on a day tour of D Day beaches. Upon returning I realized that the bed linen was removed and my bag was missing. There was absolutely no sign of a break in. We reported it immediately to the receptionist who informed us that the manager was not available, and there was no one there to help us, and that we should return the next morning at 7:30. We did this. The manager we were then told was away for the day. We insisted that someone of authority be located to help us with the missing bag. She arrived shortly thereafter. We relayed what transpired, and insisted that the police be notified. We spent the majority of the morning waiting around while the police thoroughly searched our room and our rented car before taking us to the police station to fill out a report. The manager accompanied us and translated our English to French for us to the police. We were told by the police that an investigation was going to be conducted. We have not had any updates from the police as of June12th. We were informed by the manager that there were three entries into the room while we were out. This was ascertained by the key swipes during our absence. My Chanel bag also contained jewelry. The manager informed me that this was not covered by their insurance as it was my responsibility to have placed them in the safe. I was and am devastated at the loss of my valuables as they were given to me on special occasions. It is also extremely unnerving to say the least. The rest of our trip was overshadowed by this terrible experience, and now I have become reluctant to travel. I hope that no one has to experience such a sense of violation. To add insult to injury the hotel’s law firm is now stating that we may have been robbed outside of Chateau la Cheneviere.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Françoise FAUQUET, Propriétaire at Château La Chenevière
Responded Aug 29, 2023
Chère madame, Nous tenons à réagir vivement aux accusations gratuites et inacceptables que vous avez portées contre notre établissement. Je vous rappelle que suite à votre signalement à la réception concernant un vol présumé dans l'hôtel, la direction a immédiatement référé l'affaire à la police pour enquête. Comme vous le savez, l'enquête a conduit à une absence totale de preuves de vol, ainsi qu'à des incohérences entre vos propos et les images de vidéosurveillance, jetant le doute sur la bonne foi de vos actions. Votre insistance à demander une indemnisation à notre compagnie d'assurances au mépris de ce rapport de police confirme cette réalité. Notre établissement respecte en permanence et sans faille les normes de sécurité les plus strictes afin de préserver la sécurité et le confort de sa clientèle, exigences qui ont contribué à entretenir sa réputation depuis des décennies. Nous tenons donc à vous remercier d'avoir retiré vos commentaires. A défaut, nous nous réservons le droit d'engager des poursuites judiciaires pour faire cesser le trouble qui en résulterait, dans le strict respect de nos droits. Cordialement, La Direction du Château la Chenevière Dear Madam, We would like to react strongly to the gratuitous and unacceptable accusations you have made against our establishment. I would like to remind you that following your report to Reception about an alleged theft in the hotel, The Management immediately referred the matter to the police for investigation. As you know, the investigation led to a total lack of evidence of any theft, as well as inconsistencies between what you said and the video surveillance footage, casting doubt on the bona fides of your actions. Your insistence on seeking compensation from our insurance company in defiance of this police report confirms this reality. Our establishment constantly and unfailingly complies with the strictest safety standards in order to preserve the safety and comfort of its customers, requirements which have helped to maintain its reputation for decades. We would therefore like to thank you for withdrawing your comments. Should you fail to do so, we reserve the right to take legal action to put an end to the ensuing disturbance, in strict compliance with our rights. Regards, The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gloria H wrote a review Jun 2023
8 contributions12 helpful votes
Stayed at the Chateau during May 2023 and really hoped for more. First off, if you are only staying one night, don’t expect to stay in the chateau, but rather the horse stables converted to rooms. A bit disappointing. Secondly, if you are arriving late and hoping for a meal, don’t expect one. My husband and I had been traveling since 6am that morning and hoped to eat something when we arrived around 9pm, unfortunately nothing warm was available. We ended up waiting until breakfast the next day, which brings me to my next point. The omelet I had the next morning had a human (I hope?) hair in it. It was rather curly so I’d rather not think where it was located before it made it into my omelet. Given that I had not eaten in 24 hours, and that was my first meal, it was fairly repulsive. The staff was very apologetic and did their best to remedy the situation, but would honestly get better food at an Ibis. Not a 5 star resort in the slightest.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivia Dicker, Owner at Château La Chenevière
Responded Sep 11, 2023
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review. We are incredibly sorry that you weren't fully satisfied with your stay. We are also sorry that you did not like staying in our annexe. All our rooms are decorated differently and tastefully by our owner, and we make no distinction between our different buildings.. We assure you that those who stay for one night, can also be allocated a room in the chateau, it really depends on availability. We are sorry about your meal but are a little confused as we had offered both our restaurants to you that evening (where the kitchen closes at around 9.30pm) but you mentioned that you preferred dining in your room. We are sorry to hear that our room service menu wasn’t to your liking. As for the hair in your omelet, this is unacceptable and we are terribly sorry. We assure you that it was just a hair. We cannot stress how sorry we are and truly hope to welcome you again soon, should you be willing to give us another chance.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Pat P wrote a review Mar 2023
Boston, Massachusetts291 contributions126 helpful votes
I have to admit I have missed visiting this special Chateau Hotel. I was last the the year before Covid. I did visit very regularly for almost 10 years with a business group to learn about leadership and the Normandy landings. Every visit was a special one. We were well looked after and accommodated for our needs and beyond. The team at the hotel were simply fantastic and managed to repeat the amazing experience every year. I have moved on from the company I worked for then and that said I’d like to thank everyone at the Chateau for a great 10 year partnership. You were and are a splendid place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivia Dicker, Owner at Château La Chenevière
Responded Sep 6, 2023
On behalf of everyone at Chateau la Chenevière, we would like to thank you for this heartwarming review. It is always such a pleasure to see returning customers. We truly hope that you'll find the time to come stay with us again, even though you no longer work for the company. Again, many thanks and all the best
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Port-en-Bessin-Huppain area.
PRICE RANGE
$289 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chateau la cheneviere hotel port-en-bessin-huppain
LOCATION
FranceNormandyBasse-NormandieCalvadosPort-en-Bessin-Huppain
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHATEAU LA CHENEVIERE - Prices & Hotel Reviews (France/Normandy)

Frequently Asked Questions about Château La Chenevière
Which popular attractions are close to Château La Chenevière?
Nearby attractions include Cimetière Américain de Colleville-sur-Mer (4.9 miles), Bayeux War Cemetery (4.4 miles), and Cathedrale Notre-Dame (4.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Château La Chenevière?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Château La Chenevière?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Château La Chenevière?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Château La Chenevière?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Château La Chenevière?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Quarante Neuf - Hôtel et Restaurant, Bonbonne, and La Rapiere.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Château La Chenevière?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Château La Chenevière located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Port-en-Bessin-Huppain.
Are any cleaning services offered at Château La Chenevière?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Château La Chenevière?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Château La Chenevière offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.