We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Escures-Commes, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain France
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$290
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/10/22
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$273
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/11/22
Hotels.com
Only 1 left at
$273
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/11/22
Travelocity$273
Priceline$312
Trip.com$414
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (317)
Dining (44)
Room & Suite (35)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
Set close to Omaha Beach and the historic town of Bayeux, Port en Bessin conceals a treasure that lies at the end of a long drive " Chateau La Cheneviere ". Impeccable lawns, ancient trees and a charmingly old fashioned rose garden... arriving on the estate is like strolling onto the lands of an English Lord who fell under the spell of Calvados region. The manor appears at last, a dignified Norman edifice from the 18th century, it combines the charms of an old house with the conveniences of a cosy English Manor. Add to that an opulent interior, spacious, elegant bedrooms. The dining room, overlooking the park, has a certain grandeur on an intimate scale, while classic cuisine allows you to explore all the distinctive flavours of Normandy, a generous and distinguished cuisine based on delicious local produce, faultless service, a heated outdoor pool, a splendid terrace, and the picture is complete...
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Horseback riding
Tennis court
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish
495Reviews7Q+A68Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 375
  • 76
  • 30
  • 6
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
lesliebauman wrote a review Sep 2022
Kirkland, Washington981 contributions376 helpful votes
Everyone here was so friendly and pleasant. We had a long day to arrive and were too tired to do anything so they offered us room service which was excellent. Breakfast could be brought to your room if you prefer which we did on our long tour day. Our suite was overlooking the grounds and quite light and pleasant. The grounds were extensive with a large garden where they grow vegetables and herbs for their restaurants. Easy walk into the nearby fishing village which was worth spending some time. And of course for your excursions to the beaches it’s in the middle of it all. And of course they had a great Michelin restaurant as well as a bistro. Perfect oasis for your Normandy visit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
badgerken2019 wrote a review Sep 2022
17 contributions1 helpful vote
A wonderful hotel in Normandy near the D Day beaches. We had a beautiful suite with a great view. Plenty of closet space. Also a lovely bathroom and great shower. The staff was very friendly. Terrific buffet breakfast. Two very different restaurants. I would highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Be sure to have dinner in La Botaniste. Reserve a Junior Suite
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
CabanaWoman wrote a review Sep 2022
Shreveport, Louisiana185 contributions58 helpful votes
We dined at the hotel's restaurant le Botaniste with a group and all decided that the Chateau would be a fabulous place to stay. The gardens are pretty and there is a pool and many activities in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivia Dicker, Owner at Château La Chenevière
Responded 2 weeks ago
Many thanks for your kind words! We hope to welcome you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
focof2017 wrote a review Sep 2022
4 contributions6 helpful votes
I’m spending several days in the Normandy area alone. My husband surprised me with a two night stay at this hotel as a birthday gift. It is a lovely property. However, when I arrived I was told there was no availability in the restaurant . It is a 20 minute taxi ride back to Bayeux. So I just picked soup from a limited menu in the bar and sat in an empty salon. The very limited menu had items unavailable. The breakfast is not available until 7:30am, contrary to their website. The coffee machine in my room doesn’t work. This leaves only 30minutes for me to have coffee, eat and shower to catch a taxi back in town to meet a tour guide at 8:20. I asked for restaurant reservations at the hotel for the second night, which they could only reserve an 8:30pm reservation and stated it was the last table. I asked to check out after the first night but they refused to refund me for the second night stay despite the fact that my husband had specifically not paid the pre-paid rate in case something like this happened. I’m hoping the second night is better but thus far I would say it’s a complete disappointment .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Make sure restaurant has availability for you before booking your room and don’t stay here if you...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivia Dicker, Owner at Château La Chenevière
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello and thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time at Château la Chenevière. When we send booking confirmations we always warn our guests to book ahead at our restaurants, as they tend to get fully booked. We also always send reminders, which we haven't in your case as you booked a room the day prior to your check in. We do apologise that we didn't have any tables available for you that night. We did book a table for you on the second night but you never showed up nor called to cancel the booking. We do apologise about stating that breakfast starts at 7am on our website. We have changed that since. The correct hours are mentioned in the directory and during check-in. We also serve breakfast to go from 6.30am until 11am. We also sent our handy man to your room to repair the coffee machine and he explained that the machine did work. If anything was unclear, our reception team is always available for any query. Our refund policy, which is stated on our website as well as on all confirmation emails, works on a 48h notice. Many thanks and all the best
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Terry9999 wrote a review Sep 2022
Nashua, New Hampshire15 contributions16 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon while travelling through France. It was only for one night, and our only regret was we wish it had been for longer. Everything about our stay was absolutely fantastic. The grounds were beautiful, the rooms wonderful, the food was superb, and we've never encountered a more friendly staff at any property we've stayed at, and we travel frequently. There are only a few hotels we stay at that we remember fondly and still talk about, and this will certainly be one of them. The staff at this hotel could actually teach classes on how to interact with guests--that's how wonderful they were.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivia Dicker, Owner at Château La Chenevière
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your kind words! This means a lot to us and we do hope to welcome you again soon in Normandy.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jobszy wrote a review Aug 2022
Chelmsford, United Kingdom99 contributions41 helpful votes
+1
Visiting Omaha Beach and this, was, amazing, formerly a, Nazi headquarters before d day landings. Wonderful location, stunning grounds, well maintained fantastic staff, nothing is too much trouble. Wouldn't hesitate staying again, although I wasn't keen on the restruant, menu and service was not too good.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivia Dicker, Owner at Château La Chenevière
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your review. We're terribly sorry to hear that you didn't appreciate your experience at the restaurant which usually received good feedback. We do hope to welcome you again to give us a second chance.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
karenmiller310 wrote a review Jul 2022
Boston, Massachusetts21 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
This beautiful chateau is more quaint in person, very beautiful grounds tucked away from everything. The bed and bath are beautiful and the breakfast buffet was delicious and full of gourmet jam and fresh made juice. The handicap room was wonderful, a prefect bath and space to move in the room. Ramps and an elevator made it easy to get around, note pebbles around the property you need to navigate. With three generations we arrived on a rainy day after multiple in Paris and two travelers were tired. It took some effort to get room service from the restaurant. That would be my only suggestion: allow more in room dining options. It was limited options on arrival and nothing for night. They did accommodate with an incredible burger and a fresh soup so everyone could perk up before a D Day tour. The pool is really pretty and warm too.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Wheelchair accessible room was great
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivia Dicker, Owner at Château La Chenevière
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your kind words and for your feedback. We're so glad you enjoyed your trip to Normandy and we do hope to welcome you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kallang wrote a review Jun 2022
Singapore319 contributions173 helpful votes
+1
Pros (1) nice grounds with tall trees (2) rooms are big (3) staff are helpful (4) Beautiful dining room for the formal restaurant. More casual restaurant is in glass outhouse where the pool is. Cons (1) the food in the hotel restaurants is so-so
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivia Dicker, Owner at Château La Chenevière
Responded Jul 1, 2022
Thank you very much for your kind words on our grounds, rooms and staff. We usually receive very good feedback on our cuisine and hope that we'll have the pleasure of seeing you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeremy A wrote a review Jun 2022
Ona, West Virginia1 contribution
We spent 16 days in France in October 2021. We had a 4 night stay here and it was exceptional. The staff was very friendly and attentive, and the dining options were tremendous. Both restaurants exceeded our expectations. We dream about the day we can return to visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: The nearby village in the coast is a great spot to run out and have lunch or grab coffee or find...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivia Dicker, Owner at Château La Chenevière
Responded Jul 1, 2022
Thank you so much for your kind words and we hope to see you soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matthew R wrote a review Jun 2022
Radlett, United Kingdom100 contributions127 helpful votes
+1
Just stayed here for three nights with my nine year old. We used it as a base for our WWII tour, for which we used Overlord Tours who were fantastic. The hotel is beautiful, the staff and incredibly friendly, and we loved our stay. Staffing was light in their casual restaurant and that impacted service levels, but everyone was very friendly and tried their best. The rooms were cleaned daily and the evening turn down service was great. Breakfast was simple but lovely. The staff made our visit special, the hotel is very pretty and the grounds are lovely. A really place to stay if your are touring the landing beaches.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivia Dicker, Owner at Château La Chenevière
Responded Jul 1, 2022
Thank you so much for your kind words! Our team is thrilled to hear that you had a lovely time at Château la Chenevière and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$226 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chateau la cheneviere hotel port-en-bessin-huppain
LOCATION
FranceNormandyBasse-NormandieCalvadosPort-en-Bessin-Huppain
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Château La Chenevière
Which popular attractions are close to Château La Chenevière?
Nearby attractions include Cimetière Américain de Colleville-sur-Mer (4.9 miles), Bayeux War Cemetery (4.4 miles), and Normandy Visitors Center (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Château La Chenevière?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Château La Chenevière?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Château La Chenevière?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Château La Chenevière?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Quarante Neuf, La Rapiere, and Coeur de Sushi.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Château La Chenevière?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Château La Chenevière located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Port-en-Bessin-Huppain.
Are any cleaning services offered at Château La Chenevière?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Château La Chenevière?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Château La Chenevière offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Château La Chenevière?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Russian.