We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons
See the most recent reviews
Showing 164: English reviews
Cardiff
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2016

Handy for the ferry terminal and the ferry road is off the roundabout next to the hotel. Staff were a bit offish throughout our stay but they helped when asked for information. Rooms are small but modern and have all you need for a one night stay. The dinner menu is a complete rip-off, the portions are so small you... More 

Helpful?
Thank CardiffSteveH
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Concerning... More 

Pulborough
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016 via mobile

I booked a two night stay through Brittany Ferries. My first choice hotel, in the centre of Ouistreham, was fully booked which slightly surprised me, but this hotel just out of town had space. On the second night I found out why as it was the start of a five day holiday and the quiet town of Wednesday was absolutely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Reg H
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property. Most of the time, during check-in, the receptionnist explains to the guest how the key pad works but maybe this time she forgot. We hope that you did not spent too much time trying to open the door... We hope you will come back and see us again... More 

Malvern Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2016

We regularly stay here, as it is so convenient for the ferry and the rooms are clean. The staff are very helpful and speak good English. We dined in for the first time on the most recent visit, and were underwhelmed. We both had a turbot dish, which was ruined by a grossly over-salted bed of spinach. The head waitress... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter L
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team and the restaurant, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in... More 

Didmarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2016

We've stayed here many times after crossing the channel and have always given 4 stars on previous reviews but not this time. Unless you are disabled and need adapted facilities, avoid room 12. It may be larger than the standard rooms but it's not as nice and the shower room is inconvenient. The room is at the end of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 19lenny
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Room 12 is harder to heat because it is a larger one. Since you comment, we have put the heater settings higher so this problem should not happen again. The mattress has... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, both receptionists were friendly and helpful. We had dinner the first night which was lovely however although they state they speak English, the girls in the restaurant dont, so bit of a language barrier there. Room was big and comfortable, no English channels on the tv. The hotel isnt near any shops or loc restaraunts... More 

Helpful?
Thank Viki W
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property. Unfortunately we only have Euronews as an English channel in our hotel. But next time, if you ask the receptionnist, she can change the settings of you TV and put every English/american movies and series in English (thanks to our new TVs). We hope you will come back... More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2016 via mobile

This is a great hotel with friendly helpful staff good service where nothing was to much bother will use again. They allow dog's in the room at a small charge a well lit car park if you need to return to your car at night breakfast from 6.15am rooms are very well presented and has tea making facilities and to... More 

Helpful?
Thank davehannan271
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comment regarding your stay at Best Western La Mare ô Poissons. We hope you will come back and see us again soon (with you dog of course!). Best Regards La Mare ô Poissons More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2016

It was good to see that there seemed to be just as many French staying at the hotel as there were British.....always a good sign. The welcome was warm and friendly and the staff were all very excited with the arrival of their new 'bar' which was being installed as we sat and drank.......we had 2 bottles of wine, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank RichardF38
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your "recent" stay at our property. We are happy to inform you that our bar is officially finished and we also have received our new TVs (much larger) for every rooms. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.... More 

Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2016

Brilliant hotel - have stayed there many times and each time it gets better. It is clean, tidy, with first class reception facilities, rooms are exceptionally clean, decoration good, free wifi, good shower facilities. Never had a bad stay here.

Helpful?
Thank madmaison2014
Rivello, Italy
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2016 via mobile

Looking for a hotel ,close to Ouistreham ferry port ,this is the place to stay . Just about 5 mins to the port ,and easy to find . Welcoming reception ,standard rooms are good with all facilities . Breakfast room ,and a restaurant as well . Will stay again when using the port .

Helpful?
Thank MIreland200810
Neath
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015

The Hotel is ideally situated for the morning ferry, easy to find alongside a roundabout and only five minutes from the port. The staff were friendly and the bedroom was large, clean, with all the necessary requirements.

Helpful?
Thank Davenu
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouistreham
1.3 mi away
Riva Bella Hotel
Riva Bella Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
#1 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Villa Andry
La Villa Andry
#4 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Glycine
5.8 mi away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
1.2 mi away
Hotel De La Plage
Hotel De La Plage
#5 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons

Address: 68 rue Emile Herbline, 14150 Ouistreham, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Ouistreham
Price Range: $95 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay