We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons

Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 156: English reviews
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As you disembark from the Brittany Ferry in the very late evening and have struggled through French customs, the last thing you want to do is try to locate some out-of-the-way hotel, so that you can rest your weary head. The Hotel La Mare Ô Poissons is conveniently located no further than a few hundred metres from the port on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Medvedjornak
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property. We are happy that you and your son enjoyed the room. Since the begining of June 2016, we propose a snacking service (croque-monsieur, quiche lorraine and pasta) for our guests who cannot eat at the restaurant or on the ferry. We hope you will come back and see... More 

Surrey
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

A modern hotel with character on the outskirts of the town off the main road to Caen. Ideal for those wishing to catch an early morning ferry or exploring the Normandy beaches. Our room was comfortable with the usual tea tray and wifi. The bathroom was spotless with a good shower. There is air con, but it was switched off... More 

Helpful?
Thank lizanneSurrey
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Unfortunatly, we cannot switch on the air conditionning for one room only. So when the temperature during the night goes below 15°C, we do not turn it on for the confort of... More 

Cardiff
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2016

Handy for the ferry terminal and the ferry road is off the roundabout next to the hotel. Staff were a bit offish throughout our stay but they helped when asked for information. Rooms are small but modern and have all you need for a one night stay. The dinner menu is a complete rip-off, the portions are so small you... More 

Helpful?
Thank CardiffSteveH
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Concerning... More 

Pulborough
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016 via mobile

I booked a two night stay through Brittany Ferries. My first choice hotel, in the centre of Ouistreham, was fully booked which slightly surprised me, but this hotel just out of town had space. On the second night I found out why as it was the start of a five day holiday and the quiet town of Wednesday was absolutely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Reg H
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property. Most of the time, during check-in, the receptionnist explains to the guest how the key pad works but maybe this time she forgot. We hope that you did not spent too much time trying to open the door... We hope you will come back and see us again... More 

Malvern Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2016

We regularly stay here, as it is so convenient for the ferry and the rooms are clean. The staff are very helpful and speak good English. We dined in for the first time on the most recent visit, and were underwhelmed. We both had a turbot dish, which was ruined by a grossly over-salted bed of spinach. The head waitress... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter L
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team and the restaurant, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in... More 

Didmarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2016

We've stayed here many times after crossing the channel and have always given 4 stars on previous reviews but not this time. Unless you are disabled and need adapted facilities, avoid room 12. It may be larger than the standard rooms but it's not as nice and the shower room is inconvenient. The room is at the end of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 19lenny
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Room 12 is harder to heat because it is a larger one. Since you comment, we have put the heater settings higher so this problem should not happen again. The mattress has... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, both receptionists were friendly and helpful. We had dinner the first night which was lovely however although they state they speak English, the girls in the restaurant dont, so bit of a language barrier there. Room was big and comfortable, no English channels on the tv. The hotel isnt near any shops or loc restaraunts... More 

Helpful?
Thank Viki W
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property. Unfortunately we only have Euronews as an English channel in our hotel. But next time, if you ask the receptionnist, she can change the settings of you TV and put every English/american movies and series in English (thanks to our new TVs). We hope you will come back... More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2016 via mobile

This is a great hotel with friendly helpful staff good service where nothing was to much bother will use again. They allow dog's in the room at a small charge a well lit car park if you need to return to your car at night breakfast from 6.15am rooms are very well presented and has tea making facilities and to... More 

Helpful?
Thank davehannan271
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comment regarding your stay at Best Western La Mare ô Poissons. We hope you will come back and see us again soon (with you dog of course!). Best Regards La Mare ô Poissons More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2016

It was good to see that there seemed to be just as many French staying at the hotel as there were British.....always a good sign. The welcome was warm and friendly and the staff were all very excited with the arrival of their new 'bar' which was being installed as we sat and drank.......we had 2 bottles of wine, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank RichardF38
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your "recent" stay at our property. We are happy to inform you that our bar is officially finished and we also have received our new TVs (much larger) for every rooms. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.... More 

Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2016

Brilliant hotel - have stayed there many times and each time it gets better. It is clean, tidy, with first class reception facilities, rooms are exceptionally clean, decoration good, free wifi, good shower facilities. Never had a bad stay here.

Helpful?
Thank madmaison2014
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouistreham
1.3 mi away
Riva Bella Hotel
Riva Bella Hotel
#2 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
#1 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Villa Andry
La Villa Andry
#4 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Glycine
5.8 mi away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
1.2 mi away
Hotel De La Plage
Hotel De La Plage
#5 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons

Address: 68 Rue Emile Herbline, 14150 Ouistreham, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Ouistreham
Price Range: $99 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay