We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Booking.com
$162
View Deal
Expedia.com
$154
View Deal
$149
View Deal
Agoda.com$162
Orbitz.com$154
Travelocity$154
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (367)
Room & Suite (127)
Pool & Beach (61)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
As its name stands for, Poco a Poco is a hotel that has grown little by little, from five rooms in 2000; our restaurant and 6 more rooms in 02, 18 more rooms at the end of 2005, our heated pool and the last 3 rooms on 2006 and finally for march 2009, our new front desk building, with a new standard in architecture and construction materials: modern, versatile and clean.The hotel's analogy and emblem: The Turtle, relates to its mythological attributes of wisdom, spirituality and perseverance; values that are part of our business philosophy.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast Available
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
847Reviews
534Photos
8Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 240
  • 273
  • 216
  • 81
  • 37
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
very nice hotel w good staff,good food in the on site restaraunt. I got a massage in their spa and it was awesome. Rooms very clean with comfortable beds. I could go on but I think you get the picture by now lol
Read more
A little piece of heaven on the edge of Santa Elena. The staff were charming and very efficient the facilities great and I can't think of a single thing I would change - except I wish we had booked for longer!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
The hotel is ideally located close to shopping and the center of town. Breakfast was not a buffet which is a nice break. Rooms are clean and the jacuzzi is inviting to dip in after a day out. All in all was happy with our choice
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Nice clean and modern rooms, no chairs on balcony and but the rooms were drafty. Friendly staff. The poolarea was nice but the deck chairs was very uncomfortable (and few). Drinks and food responsible priced.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
I accidentally double booked a 2-night reservation for 2 adults and 2 children (22, 19) at this hotel. Both reservations were non-refundable, so I was grateful when the hotel agreed to partially refund one of the reservations by charging me for one night instead of two. Poco
Read more
Response from GuidoM1528, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mr. Paul, we deserve more thanjust one star,, you were able to check our rates before booking your room, as you also knew you made NON refundable reservations and we made an exception during the busiest time of the year, just becasuse we didnt want you to be upset during your stay, I guess it didnt work... Thank you for letting other readers know about the good things and we do understand that families travelling together have a higher rate becasuse of the extra person rates, ( we do have special rates for kids ) Thank you for your comments about our service, the pool, the bar, our food, we have just installed air conditioning and we have new garden areas, new firepit, etc.. Our facilities are modern and comfortable, even though our rooms are small, they are very well equipped, wifi is available throughout the property, king size beds are available and we have a special category of garden rooms, one for couples and one for families, they feature air conditioning ( we have the first four rooms with A/C in Monteverde ) mini fridges and are very spacious and well displayed. We always get compliments about our service, Front desk personnel, our waiters and everybody involved in guest service is outgoing, helpful and willing to provide the best service possible. We thank you for your comments. Thanks again for staying with us and thank you for choosing Monteverde as one of your stops in Costa Rica. Best regards and happy travels.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel & Spa Poco a Poco
The Quetzal King at the Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel & Spa Poco a Poco
The Quetzal Double Bed at the Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel & Spa Poco a Poco
The Bromelia at the Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
View from deck at Poco a Poco
Photo provided by managementHotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Garden Family Room
PreviousNext
12345626
Do they offer an airport shuttle to SJO?
Yes, If you want we can make you a reservation, you only have to say us. For us it's a pleasure attend you!!!
1 vote
Show all answers
When will the current construction works be finished.
Is the hotel still under construction?
Dear Mrs Paula. We are currently working on mainteniece, we have one area of the hptel with works, no front desk,or parking lot or pool involved, yet, works are being carried out...
0 votes
I've heard that there is no air conditioning here. Is that true?
Dear Christina, that is correct, Monteverde is located up 1.500 metres above sea level right at the continental divide. Its windy, much cooler and for years, there hasnt been a real need for A/C in rooms. Yet, let me tell you that due to global warming and climate change, it has gotten much more hotter up here,, ( sometimes of the year ) Hotel Poco a Poco is the first hotel with two deluxe rooms with air conditioned. Please send us an email with dates and number of guests.. and we´ll let you know rates and availability!!
0 votes
Show all answers
Do they have a fitness center? Does it have a bike?
No. Although they have signs of a fitness center posted throughout the hotel, there is no fitness center. They really need to remove that from the amenities because it’s false advertisement.
0 votes
PreviousNext
12
"We stayed in a standard Quetzal room - 38 - really comfortable bed and well appointed bathroom with a balcony and view across the valley."
"If you are not upto climbing stairs ask for a room on a lower floor."
"every room is different and fun! Our kids said the wind was loud in the rooms above the office"
"Rooms are fine, common areas are much nicer but we could have WiFi from the room so we were ok. "
"view of the forest is great"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
$138 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel poco apoco a monteverde
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasMonteverdeSanta Elena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing