We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monteverde Country Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Monteverde Country Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

320 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 187: English reviews
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel did not appeal. The front desk staff were friendly, but that's all I can really say that's positive. The breakfast had a few choices but we saw staff putting hot food on top of cold, and weren't very impressed with the food in general. Our room, which I believe was a superior one, was dark and gloomy and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin G
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr G. Thank you for your comments and we are sorry you felt this way about your stay. On our behalf, let me tell you: We are located on a very nice area only 1 km away from down town Santa Elena, if guests are not willing to walk into town, they can also take advantage of the various... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Too far from anything, no stores nearby or open past 8 pm, no snacks or pop sold at hotel, the restaurant free breakfast not the best. It was poor service everywhere. Asked for more coffee, they couldn't find it at 7:30 at night. No pop or snacks for sale, the bar offered only beer, wine and cocktails no vodka, The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karenmagnuso
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Magnuso. Thank you for your comments and we are sorry you felt this way about your stay. On our behalf, let me tell you: We are located on a very nice area only 1 km away from down town Santa Elena, if guests are not willing to walk into town, they can also take advantage of the various... More 

Travelers are raving about these Santa Elena hotels

Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful garden Basic and clean room Breakfast is included in the price Effective service Note - the food at the hotel restaurant is good The traditional beef soup was very good The steak was less good Overall good value We'd love to visit again

Helpful?
Thank David D
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr David: Greetings from Monteverde and thank you very much for your comments! We offer a means style accommodation, set as hotels Mountain . We have comfortable spaces , an excellent restaurant and an ideal place to rest without missing the comforts of downtown Santa Elena location. Thank you for your compliments about our restaurant, breakfast, Costa Rican choices... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

Where to start... The rooms are poorly ventilated and cramped. The wifi is terrible and even in the reception area it barely loads pages. The breakfast is poor quality with little variety. As well as this, the staff pile fresh stuff over the old food, meaning lots of the "hot" breakfast items are cold. They say you can visit the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Joss P
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Joss. I´m very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. And I´m even more sorry we missed the chance to either fix this situation by a compensation, refund, or simply finding another, more suitable hotel for you. Please do not feel you were stock here no matter what.. BY all means, we try our best to accommodate guests,... More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016

The place is great. People are nice and always willing to help. They make you feel welcome. You might need a wind breaker or something to protect yourself from the heavy rain. Even though is heavy rain you really appreciate it.

Helpful?
Thank TeacherFreddie
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr Freddie, thank you for your review. Monteverde´s cloud forest ecosystem has a very special weather and rain is very common up here. Remember we are at almost 5.000 feet of elevation. Actually, for most guests, the change in weather, specially in temperature offer a nice relief from the humidity and heat in other parts of Costa Rica. Bring... More 

Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016

Pros: - On site restaurant. - Friendly staff - Use of the facilities of their sister property, Paco Paco Cons: - Though it is about 10 blocks walk to the city center, the elevation is prohibitive to the faint of heart - No A/C(it was not needed due to the climate condition) - Small bathrooms

Helpful?
1 Thank donlewis1985
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr 1985. Greetings from Monteverde. Thank you for your comments. Our staff always receives lots of compliments about their service skills and dedication. We are vey proud we have a great team. Our restaurant offers local cuisine, Costa Rican style food and a very nice ambience. Daily happy hour with local drinks and sangria!!! The local ambience of the... More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016

I really appreciated the little water fountains and pretty flowers on the grounds. I also ordered a most delicious dinner and adult beverage in the non-crowded hotel dining room. I thought the breakfast was delicious and all the staff very courteous. A couple of hesitations...the room does eventually cool down, but the curtains discourage the cooler air from entering the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank musicsunset
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sunset. Thank you for a very nice review, Eco Tourism shouldn't affect the quality of the stay, showers, water temperature, amenities ( basic amenities and comforts ) I apologize for the small faults during your stay. We have been working on isolation from room to room. Renovations and remodeling, the results are very nice and we are indeed increasing... More 

Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

The room was clean and comfortable. WiFi only available near office. Water temp/pressure impacted by other guests. (if you feel the pressure drop, step away from the water!) Thin walls. Other than the few items above, I liked this place. I'd stay again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Andrew! Greetings from Monteverde. Wifi will be available around the hotel very soon, we are working on a series of improvements for next season and I´m sure the hotel will be much better. Noise isolation and hot water supply are part of the improvements, amenities, wifi and others. we are a great option, well located, great service, good... More 

Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016

I hate to give a two-star rating to a locally-run eco-lodge, but I just wasn’t satisfied with this property. Even taking into account that this is a rustic lodge, and not a big-city resort, I want a comfortable bed, good food, decent WiFi, and a hot shower in the morning. At Monteverde Country Lodge, all I got was the comfortable... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Ethan Friedman
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr Friedman, Greetings and thank you for your feedback. There are indeed other options, better, more expensive, more equipped, etc,, I´m very sorry for such a bib number of miss happenings: cold water, weak pressure, weak WIFI signal, noise,, etc. All of this things would certainly ruin one's stay, yet, we do have a good side, a side where... More 

Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2016

Room Overview: The rooms were spacious and clean. Do note that the door does not go to the ground, so you may have small critters (mainly bugs) coming in and out of your room and you can hear more noise than normal. Wifi is not fantastic in the rooms-- go to the Lobby for great Wifi! Bathrooms were good-- I'm... More 

Helpful?
Thank adr89
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mrs 89, Thank you for your review and comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, we are working to better our hot water supply, and have done a lot about noise isolation. We try our best to offer clean, neat, well maintained facilities, our superior rooms are the largest, more illuminated, and better equipped ones. We'll have wifi around... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (101)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 897 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Monteverde Country LodgeMonteverde Country Lodge is Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco's fully renovated sister property. It compresses the philosophy, experience and desire to create a new lodging option where tradition and personalized service are the most appealing features. Monteverde Country Lodge offers the comforts of modern establishments with the rusticity, warmth and tradition of the Monteverde from 1980's. Starting Jan 1st, 2014; Monteverde Country Lodge will offer two different room categories, based upon amenities, area and construction materials. 36 Wooden, warm and comfortable Classic or Standard rooms. Guarded by front corridors on both, lower and higher levels, with gardens and neat open areas. Room's amenities are: Cable tv, telephone, safe, and private bathroom with hot water shower. Classic rooms offer: 1 or 2 double beds, 1 single and 1 double bed and 2 double beds and 1 single. Maximum occupancy: 5 people.24 Superior rooms. Newer and more modern, with more space; more comfortable bathrooms, corridors, balconies and great views of sunsets and surroundings. Cable tv, telephone, safe, wireless internet access, hair dryer and coffee maker available. Superior rooms offer: 1 king size bed, 2 queen size beds or 2 queen beds and 1 single. Maximum occupancy: 5 people.All hotel rooms are surrounded by patios, fountains and gardens which provide the ideal location for relaxation and enjoyment. Wireless internet access, laptops and a fully equipped meeting room are also available for guests and visitors. Children will enjoy a great time at the playground and open areas. Construction materials, techniques; and regular operation procedures are compatible with the environmentally friendly practices of our times, as well as accessibility, security and new standards of comfort, quality and service. Monteverde Country Lodge was granted by the Costa Rican Tourism Board with 3 levels on the Sustainable Tourism Certification. Ecological Blue Flag and Green Flag Accreditations have been awarded to Monteverde Country Lodge by two consecutive periods. Our well trained personnel cater for the satisfaction of our guests at all times. Clients interact with dedicated, informative, capable hotel representatives willing to assist and provide the best service possible. Whether at Front Desk; at the restaurant, where quality, homemade style and fresh ingredients are combined or at the bar, with a friendly, familiar atmosphere where our guests can enjoy our warm hospitality and amenities.Music: For over a year now, Monteverde Country Lodge has embraced music as a new, fulfilling way to reach to guests and provide them with special experiences. Live music at Front Desk, during meals at restaurant, recitals on the gardens, serenades and more is available for the guest's enjoyment. Monteverde Country Lodge: a great lodging option in Monteverde!!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monteverde Country Lodge

Address: 3 blocks south and 50 meters east from the Rafael Arguedas elementary school | Cerro Plano, Santa Elena 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Price Range: $58 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Monteverde Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Country Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay