We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

309 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 239: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

If I could give it a zero I would... The owner Yorle ruins the place - something I didn't think was possible if you had a roof over your head and a kitchen available. She is rude, uncompromising and incredibly difficult to deal with. Breakfast at $6USD is a complete rip off, if you are unfortunate enough to book the... More 

Helpful?
Thank nic395
HotelSloth5, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

hello we are so sad we did´t filled your expectations, however 99:99% our customers are happy with the service, happy with the breakfast and other. thank a lot More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

Lovely owners! They will help out with everything you need activity wise. Beds are good. No atmosphere but I guess you don't go to Monteverde to party. Kitchen closes quite early in my opinion so that's the only down side. Amaaaazing breakfast though!!!

Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
HotelSloth5, Owner at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

hello there thank you for this great review, I am more than happy to help booking tours, the beds is confortable and the breakfast is deliciuos :) thanks for you visit :) Pura Vida More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

We booked sloth backpackers for a one night stay. The room wasn't ready when we got there (check in is at 3pm which to me seemed a little late) so we went and grabbed some food. The staff were all very nice and the room is of good quality for the price we paid. My only issue with the place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve L
HotelSloth5, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

hello thank you for your review however you were on a tour and arrive at the hostel until 3 pm. check in time is 1 pm thank you for your preference More 

San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

Nice place to stay. I was one in a group of four. The room we booked slept four, and it was a little crowded but still doable. Nice to have a room with only people I knew. Great hot water in the shower. Enough for all four of us to shower back-to-back. Staff at the front desk was very helpful... More 

Helpful?
Thank wt2816
yorlesloth, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

thank you very much for your review, we are always willing to help at the front desk, booking tours or with any info concerning monteverde area thanks a lot More 

Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016 via mobile

Cheap place to stay. Decent rooms, relatively clean. Showers didn't work well. Watch out for the owner though, she's a scam artist for sure. I suggest you pay up front, on a price your comfortable with because she will try to extort more from you. Pretty scummy way to do business.

Helpful?
Thank bren394
yorlesloth, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

hi we are sad you had a bad experience with us, please note our rates are well stated on the web, on the extranets and other parts of internet, so there is no scam at all. we are happy to let you know Showers issues have been fixed More 

London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

I stayed at the Sloth Backpackers B&B in Monteverde for 3 nights earlier on this year. I really enjoyed my stay and found both the place and the staff very friendly. The rooms are large and very clean with some very pretty 'sloth' touches. I had a double bed, bunk beds and a shower room in my room. There was... More 

Helpful?
Thank sleepy77
yorlesloth, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

hi thank you for your review, we are well know in the area for the good breakfast we serve and the good services provided, we are happy to see another happy friend , as that is what a customer is for us More 

Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

Nice and clean facility with strong wi-fi. I stayed in a room with 2 bunk beds (=4 beds total). Connected to our room was our own shared bathroom, so only the people staying in the room were able to use it. Free breakfast was included which was hearty and filling. The kitchen is accessible during set hours, which was nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelingperpetually
yorlesloth, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

hi thank you we have been improving everything in the last few years to have a good strong wifi signal, a good breakfast as you said, and all the best service possible More 

Panama City, Panama
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016

Unfortunately I had bad experiences with this hostel. The first morning I came to have breakfast, which is being served from 7 till 8.30, at 8.31 and the lady wouldnt make my breakfast anymore (Im the punctual German, not her:D), didnt even give me one banana because she said that it was hers. ridicioulus and the worst hospidility I ever... More 

Helpful?
Thank Siju8
yorlesloth, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

we are ad to see this kind of reviews, however we are not a noisy hostel, we like to keep quite, we think 10 pm is more than good, when ever anybody wants to party there are a few bars near by. breakfast is always good here and on time, as other reviews says More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2016

My husband and I stayed for two nights in April. Our room was clean, bright and spacious. Actually nice to pull our clothes out of suitcases and having a fridge in the room was a bonus. While the owner may seem a bit gruff, she's very helpful. We booked a great bird watching tour through the front desk. Breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank KinderM
yorlesloth, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

hello there thank you for this great review, I am more than happy to help booking tours, transportation and other activities More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

First off, the hostel is very nice and clean with free breakfast and good wifi. They also offer every tour you can imagine and are very knowledgeable and friendly. Most importantly, the customer service is fantastic. I forgot my iPad when I checked out this morning, and they had it sent to me and in my hands in La Fortuna... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John C
yorlesloth, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

hello thank you for your review we are glad to help. this is a family honest run hostel, of course we send back anything left here. we are happy you like this good breakfast we serve More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
1:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.7 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 898 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#5 of 32 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B is one the most famous hotels in thegateway to all touristic venues in Santa Elena of Monteverde. Personalattention by Owner YORLEWe are the number one option for backpackers and travelers in Costa Rica.In the Town, without Noise.The Hotel Sloth Backpackers B&B is in the perfect place to stay andrelax after a busy day of activities.Offers clean, Dorms and comfortable rooms, and each room has a private bathroomwith hot water 24 hours & Dorms with Bathrooms, towells, FreeInternet or Wi-fi, kitchen Fully Equipped Free, Free Coffee & Tea all Day.Free breakfast includes:Coffee, tea, pancakes, bread, butter, jam, eggs and fresh fruits.Also, Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B, offers: laundry services, Office information with the best prices in activities, special for Groups and Students.2 Minutes from the only public bus station,Downtown, only 2 minutes to the bus stations, banks, restaurants, night life, souvenir stores, and supermarkets.If you need me (Yorle) pick you up at the bus station, send an email. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Address: From the bus station walk to the corner Popular Bank, on the left at 50 meters there is Sloth Backpackers | 75 metros este from Chamber of Tourism, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Price Range: $27 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay