We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

322 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 248: English reviews
QLD
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

Right in the centre, for $45 a night you can go wrong. We arrived late and the staff stayed up and helped us book activities for the next day! Comfortable room, few English speaking tv channels which is a nice comfort when you just want to switch off and relax, first hot shower I had in 5 weeks was here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashelise703
HotelSloth5, Owner at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! pura Vida

Reviewed August 31, 2016 via mobile

The crews treatment was ugly The crew use my groceries that I put in the public refrigerator for them self.. so poor There is no free breakfast , they just lay about it. For better trip, don't get near to this hostel Monteverda however is amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yinonnishry
HotelSloth5, Owner at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello do not understand how a traveler thinks put things in the refrigerator without the name, which has no name in the refrigerator can be used by other guests, it's your fault not ours. Now your reservation is of a very low cost, you were the one who made your reservation without breakfast. Thank you

Reviewed August 26, 2016 via mobile

The sloth Hostel is Amazing! Rooms are nice and clean. I loved the details with little sloths all over the place :) there is a kitchen that can be used which is really nice an clean! The staff was really helpful with tours and restaurants in the area. They also helped us for our further journey. Thanks so much! We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jose P
HotelSloth5, Owner at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! when you want to return this is your home... :) Pura Vida

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed August 11, 2016

We had a really nice room and a nourishing breakfast. A really good environment away from the party atmosphere of other places. They were helpful about booking tours and also helped us figure out how to get on the bus we needed towards Nicaragua when the people at the actual bus station gave us incorrect information. I would've liked to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dustinaaronscharlach
HotelSloth5, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you as always we are glad to help in everything we can. we are willing to provide with the best service and a nice and quite atmosphere

Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

A friend and I chose to stay here because of the other positive reviews and we are beyond pleased with our choice. We had paid for a private double, but the room had enough beds for 4 travelers. The room was clean, well lit and everything worked. The free breakfast in the morning is home made comida tipica. Muy delicioso....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tori S
HotelSloth5, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

hello hello Thank you for your review we are glad to know you have enjoy your stay with us

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed August 2, 2016

The owner of the hostel really made our stay at Monteverde enjoyable. She helped us choose tours and create an itinerary since we only had one full day. My friend and I stayed in a private room with a bath and the room was impeccably clean with hot water. The room was also nicely decorated, which created a warm place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Burley333
HotelSloth5, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello there thank you for this nice review we are glad to know we are doing our job here

Ghent, Belgium
Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

The staff is friendly and gave us tips what to do here. You can book several tours at the information office. In the morning, the breakfast was really nice! Fresh fruit plate, a pancake and an omelet with vegetables, jummie! The best place in town for backpackers, young and old will like it here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank famphilippeth
HotelSloth5, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

thank you for considering us the best place in town we are always willing to do or best we always have the best prices for activities in monteverde

South America
Reviewed July 28, 2016

We really enjoyed staying here. The room was clean, the bed comfy and the shower warm. Not really sure about the issues other people had with the owner but we found her to be really helpful and friendly. The breakfast was also really good. We would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aidan80
HotelSloth5, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

hi thank you for this lovely review we are more than happy to help with all the information we can ,about monteverde and other areas

Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

Really good hostel. Clean. Good breakfast. Good location. The lady in reception is fantastic. Her English is super and she can answer question. She's also fantastic at organising tours and buses. Would definitely recommend. Well worth a stay. :)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Baileyboo203
HotelSloth5, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

thank you for the review I am always at my best disposition to help with all the tours and information about the area

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed July 2, 2016

If I could give it a zero I would... The owner Yorle ruins the place - something I didn't think was possible if you had a roof over your head and a kitchen available. She is rude, uncompromising and incredibly difficult to deal with. Breakfast at $6USD is a complete rip off, if you are unfortunate enough to book the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nic395
HotelSloth5, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

hello we are so sad we did´t filled your expectations, however 99:99% our customers are happy with the service, happy with the breakfast and other. thank a lot

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
1:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 23 in Monteverde
208 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 23 in Monteverde
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#5 of 34 in Santa Elena
673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.1 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#13 of 34 in Santa Elena
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B is one the most famous hotels in thegateway to all touristic venues in Santa Elena of Monteverde. Personalattention by Owner YORLEWe are the number one option for backpackers and travelers in Costa Rica.In the Town, without Noise.The Hotel Sloth Backpackers B&B is in the perfect place to stay andrelax after a busy day of activities.Offers clean, Dorms and comfortable rooms, and each room has a private bathroomwith hot water 24 hours & Dorms with Bathrooms, towells, FreeInternet or Wi-fi, kitchen Fully Equipped Free, Free Coffee & Tea all Day.Free breakfast includes:Coffee, tea, pancakes, bread, butter, jam, eggs and fresh fruits.Also, Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B, offers: laundry services, Office information with the best prices in activities, special for Groups and Students.2 Minutes from the only public bus station,Downtown, only 2 minutes to the bus stations, banks, restaurants, night life, souvenir stores, and supermarkets.If you need me (Yorle) pick you up at the bus station, send an email. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Address: From the bus station walk to the corner Popular Bank, on the left at 50 meters there is Sloth Backpackers | 75 metros este from Chamber of Tourism, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Price Range: $29 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Some rooms have 2 bunk beds so you have more space specially you're traveling with 4 single people”
 of 5 bubbles _ligayaginsburg, Apr 3, 2016 | Read review
“the best rooms are in another hostel/hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 961kierann, Feb 22, 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in a private triple room, it was great and very comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles Cy_roar, May 22, 2015 | Read review
“Rooms 10 & 11 are the farthest away from the road. They have private baths. We were able to get wifi in room 10”
 of 5 bubbles DarDarTheRockStar, Feb 18, 2015 | Read review
“Prefer to stay on first floor. Less traffic and they placed and extra router for wifi which works great now”
 of 5 bubbles 475stephana, Feb 13, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question