We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barcelo Tambor

Booking.com$271*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$369*
$271*
Great Deal
$306*
$369*
$271*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Barcelo Tambor
Barcelo Tambor
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Barcelo Tambor
See the most recent reviews
Showing 203: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went here on a family trip. We were 9 members in total. We booked transportation with the agency recommended by the hotel and it was just uncomfortable considering it was such a long trip. The guys in charge of handling our bags were so careless that they damage some of the laggage we took. Food was ok. customer service...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Collette P
Jonathan M, Revenue Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review

Dear Collette P: Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our Barceló Tambor hotel. Our main commitment is our guests' satisfaction and our goal, their preference for our hotels year after year, this is why the management team together with all departmental managers, check regularly our installations,...

Reviewed April 16, 2017

The personnel are friendly, especially a man called Gustavo Fernández, he's dancer and very professional. The food were very delicious and the experience was amazing. The hotel is comfortable. At night, we were needed more people to dance at Disco.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sleyter A
Jonathan M, Revenue Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel. We thank you for your very kind words about our entertainment team as they work tirelessly every day to entertain our guests during their stay among us, we will make sure to relay your praising comments to them and we are sure...

Reviewed April 16, 2017

Our room was good, the bed was very sunken in, the shower pooled with water, but otherwise very nice and clean. We took a family trip with a 2 year old. We chose it because of so many kid activities. It has like 3 kiddy pools. a playground, a kid club house with toys. It was great, except there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
Jonathan M, Revenue Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review

Dear Michelle: We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Barceló Tambor hotel for your holiday. Moreover we are glad you enjoyed the beauty of our pool area and we also are very grateful for your highlight on the quality of the entertainment program during your stay. Please be assured your comments regarding the service you...

Reviewed April 9, 2017

We visited the hotel from Sunday to Thursday and it was not during peak season, but still summer. The place was pleasant, comfortable and the scenery was beautiful. The personnel were helpful and friendly. Food and drinks were available all the time and they had very nice activities and shows to keep the crowd entertained. I would go again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eudy B
Jonathan M, Revenue Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review

Dear Guest: We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations. Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset...

Michigan
Reviewed April 4, 2017

We have stayed at other Barcelos and have great experiences and I went to this Barcelo with the same high expectations. At first we found ourselves complaining and comparing and then we reminded ourselves we are in another country and experiencing their culture. Many workers did not speak english but were never rude and always tried to understand even if...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 872kat
Jonathan M, Revenue Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review

Dear Guest: We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments. Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel...

Cartago, Costa Rica
Reviewed April 3, 2017 via mobile

The place was ok, the service however was lacking "courtesy" and "friendlyness", specially one of the bartenders at the snackbar, the person who opened the bar was really rude stating that she would not serve the people to the left of a friend of mine, and I was there, problem is that I was there first so in my opinion...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David V
Jonathan M, Revenue Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review

Dear David: Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our Barceló Tambor Hotel. Your review will be discussed with all departmental managers for evaluation and action as needed. We commit to adjust any situation that leads us away from our goal being to make sure our guests...

Costa Rica
Reviewed March 30, 2017

I have been to this beautiful hotel and enjoyed being welcome by an amazing staff. I invested my money very wisely and felt as home. Staff at front desk welcomed me smiling and all staff smiled at me during my stay. At the restaurants, the food was incredible. Salad bar amazing and desserts to taste. Delicious dinner at El Rancho...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joshpor
Jonathan M, Revenue Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at our Barceló Tambor; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay. We thank you for your kind recommendation to Tripadvisor’s readers ....

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed March 28, 2017

First I want to tell everybody: don’t trust the bad reviews. We enjoyed our stay at Barcelo Tambor mid of March We travel a lot but it was our first time in Costa Rica and definitely fell in love with this country. Arrived at the resort by ferry, it was a long but beautiful trip. --The check-in was fast and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Canada_NSY
Jonathan M, Revenue Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics. we are very pleased to read that you did like the room we...

Reviewed March 15, 2017

We have been in Costa Rica for two months and have stayed in a variety of hotels and vacation rentals. We have also stayed in other Barcelo properties in Mexico and our friends that were with us stay at the Barcelo in San Jose and loved them. This was not the case at the Barcelo Tambor. This hotel was by...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank shannon r
Jonathan M, Revenue Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review

Dear Shannon: Although we sincerely regret reading that your stay at our Barceló Tambor fell short of your expectations, we are grateful for the time you spent to share this feedback of your overall holiday experience among us as we certainly believe that there is always room for improvement and your constructive feedback is very much appreciated. It is with...

Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Reviewed March 10, 2017

Barceló Tambor is a Great family place, It is an older Hotel. But has everything you need. Alexander at the front desk is the most helpful person at any Hotel that I ever been to on vacation!!. At the main bar,The bartender Esqurado (sp) is fabulous!!! Always a smile on his face & quite entertaining!! The beach is long &...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mytrip201721
Jonathan M, Revenue Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review

Dear Guest: We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. We are also very pleased to read that you found our reception team to be knowledgeable, helpful and genuinely friendly at all times. Please...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,185 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (619)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (118)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (349)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (525)
Viewed
Amenities (78)
Viewed
Beach (25)
Viewed
Kiddie Pool (6)
Viewed
Oceanfront Double Room (47)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool Area (41)
Viewed
Dining (84)
Viewed
Superior Double Room ADA Accessibilty (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Master Suite (130)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambor
3.2 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
1.0 mi away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
24.2 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
794 reviews
10.1 mi away
Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Barcelo Tambor

Address: Playa Tambor, Tambor 771-1150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Price Range: $146 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Tambor 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Hotwire, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Barcelo Tambor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Tambor Beach Hotel Tambor
Barcelo Hotel Tambor Beach
Barcelo Hotel Puntarenas
Hotel Barcelo Playa Tambor
Barcelo Tambor Costa Rica
Barcelo Tambor Beach Costa Rica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Barcelo Tambor staff and other travelers.
40 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (40)

Questions? Get answers from Barcelo Tambor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Most rooms have garden views, the best suites have a view of the forest and estuary ("el Bosque") or the beach.”
dianelorraineb, 2 days ago | Read review
“Any room will be fine, you won't be there most of the time.”
yanilz, 2 days ago | Read review
“All the rooms are pool view. About 300 feet from pool.”
790terrys, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“look for a room with ocean view but close to the pools and restaurants”
gerardoe704, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“They are all the same. No upgrades available as far as I could tell”
Shelly33697547, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$271* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com$306
TripAdvisor$271
Cancelon$369
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates