We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel

Save
Share
Dewala Road Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna 80600 Sri Lanka
Snaptravel
Booking.com
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (698)
Room & Suite (115)
Dining (41)

About

#22 of 56 hotels in Unawatuna
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated on the south coast of Sri Lanka. Unawatuna with a spectacular view over one of the most famous beaches in Sri Lanka. Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel is one of the most luxurious and relaxing spots on the island. Breathtaking view over the Unawatuna Bay, in our newly opened Restaurant with Bar "200 Degrees" is definitely a fact which will convince you to visit us. In combination with our individual all-round service, you will experience a new dimension of holiday.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Rooftop terrace
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Rooftop bar
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Great View
413Reviews13Q+A76Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 168
  • 101
  • 64
  • 35
  • 45
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ces N wrote a review Mar 2020
7 contributions2 helpful votes
Was booked here for 5 days hb & thankfully it was reduced to 2. Seemed lovely when first arrived, but room was ok, but bathroom was dirty & room not cleaned daily. TV & wifi didn’t work & electric kept on tripping on. After 5 call out, finally got different room. Hotel is very run down & food was not very good, beer only slightly chilled. Positives - the view of the Indian Ocean was great & the staff were polite & helpful, doing the best they could. Had to stay additional night due to curfew & was asked for an exorbitant rate. This was probably once a nice 3 star hotel, but would struggle to reach that rating now.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Melody K wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions
We stayed in Villa Thawthisa for 8 days & had a brilliant time. The breakfast was excellent- made even better by the incredible view. Often we saw monkeys swinging through the trees & peacocks around the pool area. At night the restaurant staff excelled themselves. They went the extra mile to ensure that I, being a vegetarian, had something id like to eat. They told me ‘tell us what you would like’, and would cook to order what ever I wanted that day! The room was big, comfortable, with a great balcony & an outdoor jacuzzi & shower. The hotel is walking distance to jungle beach & Unawatuna, & just a short tuk tuk to Galle, which the hotel will call for you. It’s about the same distance to Dalawella beach where turtles can be found. Each journey will cost you somewhere in the region of 600rs.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Akila Fernando wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions
Room was clean But it was not ready when we went there around 2pm. They gave us the room around 2.40pm. Eventhough there are two pools we couldnt use as it was not clean. There were so many dirt in pool. Food was nice.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from JUNGLE VILLAGE BY THAWTHISA, Владелец at Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel
Responded Mar 13, 2020
Dear 1234Fernando Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our Villa Thawthisa and we apologize for the delay of check-in. We are sorry that you couldn't enjoy the open-air swimming pool as usually our guests appreciate much due to wind and nature, hope you will enjoy it on next visit. Once again we thank you for sharing this valuable feedback with us, please rest assured that the information you have provided will be used accordingly to enhance our future guests' experiences among us and we hope you will visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Management
Read more
Narmadha S wrote a review Mar 2020
Colombo, Sri Lanka17 contributions
+1
Well coming to the hotel.. was all pleasant.. Staff friendly at the reception The staff at the restaurant were excellent! So we got this villa with the walk out pool.. BUT alas.. I woke up in the morning intending to have a swim.. before the sun comes up... but when I saw the DEAD INSECTS it put me off.. 😓😓😓😓 I even tried to clear it my self but then I saw more.. n just got back into bed and wrote the review.. I am not a person to sun bath.. I wanted to get into the pool before the sun comes up.. hence I didn’t bother to complain to the reception 12noon is anyhow the check out time The banana fritters were excellent with maple syrup.. Ps- the shower needs a shower mat as the floor is way too slippery Ambience -3 star Staff service - 4 star (restaurant staff are 5star) Cleanliness - 3star Food - 3 star (banana fritters with maple syrup was yumm) Potion size - average Presentation - 3star Food Price - average Villa price -room only LKR 23,000
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from JUNGLE VILLAGE BY THAWTHISA, Владелец at Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel
Responded Mar 13, 2020
Dear Narmadhas2020 , Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our Villa Thawthisa and our friendly staff. Our pool is an open air pool and we are making our best to clean it early in the morning, unfortunately you reached it due to nature out of cleaning time. Once again we thank you for sharing this valuable feedback with us, please rest assured that the information you have provided will be used accordingly to enhance our future guests' experiences among us and we hope you will visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Management
Read more
Aliona K. wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions
We stayed at this hotel for 10 days. Every day we asked the staff to clean the room, because they do not do it themselves. Each time after cleaning, they had to be reminded that they forgot to put soap, toilet paper, or towels. Bed linen and towels were never clean. The staff is not quick, lazy, after cleaning the room there is still dirt. And on the last day, my wallet was stolen right out of my suitcase, while the credit card from the stolen wallet was transferred to a secret pocket of my backpack! The Manager didn't do anything, and when I met the hotel owner, he told me that "we have this kind of thing, there's nothing to do." That is, the owner knows about the fact that the staff steals from guests and he does not care! The only person who tried to help us was a Russian-speaking girl-Manager, for which I thank her! I hate that my vacation was ruined because of this work and attitude. I wouldn't advise anyone to stay in this place. Your nerves and money are not worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from JUNGLE VILLAGE BY THAWTHISA, Owner at Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Dear valued guest, Thank you very much for patronizing Villa Thawthisa hotel and thank you very much for the time taken to publish a comment in the Trip adviser site. You have mentioned that you did not get the cleaning service daily during your stay of 10 days. As i know and as per our records we have given the turn down service daily by changing new linen and you never mentioned this during your stay of 10 days to the Management or any of our staff members. As a practices we do the turn down service daily to all the in house guests. Your length of stay was 10 days and you came to Reception to complaint about your lost wallet on the 9th day morning at around 11 am. At the same time i came to the room with my other Executive staff to investigate and at that time you mentioned that your wallet was missing , which you have kept it in your luggage. We have kept a safe box and we have put a clear notice in your room and on arrival also we inform the guest to store the valueless in the safe box which we have provided. But you have never used this facility and when we came to your room to inspect , the safe box was empty and you have never used it from the date of arrival.I humbly requested you to go to the police with our help and you refused it in the morning and evening also.When there is an incident like this, our duty is to inform the police and police also instructed us to come to the police station with the guest to log the complaint for them to start the investigations. Madam, as hoteliers we are there to serve the guests who patronize our hotel and our duty is to look after them from the arrival to departure.There are rules and regulations in the country with related to these type of incidents and i hope that you will understand clearly and not that we don t care of our guests. Best regards Asitha Wellala General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$42 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceGalle DistrictUnawatuna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Made In Ceylon (0.3 miles), Sk Swarnakala (0.2 miles), and Silk Route Gallery (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Love Gelato, Sea Waves Restaurant & Cooking Class, and Wasantha’s Sri Lanka Cuisine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Unawatuna.
Are any cleaning services offered at Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Old Town of Galle and its Fortifications (1.9 miles), Galle Fort (2.1 miles), and Meera Mosque (1.8 miles).