We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
10/29/2017 10/30/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Calamander Unawatuna Beach

    Parangiyawatta, Unawatuna 80000, Sri Lanka
    011 94 91 4 384545
    Hotel website
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    10/29/2017 10/30/2017
    Savings alert: 19% below average rate

    The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $89/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    $78
    $72
    SAVE $6
    $74
    $78
    Traveler (522)
    Room & Suite (257)
    Dining (134)
    Overview
    • Excellent29%
    • Very good38%
    • Average18%
    • Poor8%
    • Terrible7%
    Travelers talk about
    “glass pool” (7 reviews)
    “luxury room” (17 reviews)
    “junior suite” (7 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast Buffet
    Air Conditioning
    Beachfront
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Airport Transportation
    Room Service
    Suites
    Poolside Bar
    Concierge
    Wheelchair access
    Conference Facilities
    Dry Cleaning
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    Oct 29Oct 30
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      $72
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      $74
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      $78
      View Deal
    View all 36 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (695)
    There are newer reviews for Calamander Unawatuna Beach
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveler rating
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    271 - 275 of 512 reviews

    Reviewed January 25, 2016 via mobile

    Very beautiful hotel with fantastic view and very friendly staff. We had a luxury room in the new building, a very nice room with a beautiful beach view, and a jacuzzi in the bathroom. The hotel is nice and clean and have two very nice...More

    Thank Braun9700
    Response from OriginalPaloma, Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna BeachResponded January 31, 2016

    Dear Guest, Thank you for your comprehensive review of your experience of staying at Calamander Unawatuna Beach. We are thrilled that you enjoyed yourselves and you appreciated our very original swimming pools. Management are also very pleased to learn that you had the best coffee...More

    Reviewed January 17, 2016 via mobile

    Having just cancelled our reservation at the Unawatuna MBR Resort because it was so dirty we arrived here to be told that they only had rooms for one night (we wanted 3 or 4) and they were USD220 when Agoda showed them AUD136. After some...More

    Thank john s
    Response from OriginalPaloma, Director, Unawatuna Beach Resort (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna BeachResponded January 21, 2016

    Dear Guest, We apologise most sincerely for the problem you had with the pillows. It does serve as a reminder to our Housekeeper to ensure that all our bedding and linen is of a good standard. Management provides guide lines for length of usage and...More

    Reviewed January 15, 2016

    Smallest room below average and they call it deluxe... with a view of an ugly road... find my fare and standard chartered gave a fake offer saying 25% off and the price i paid wasmuch higher than direct rate... ever again will i stay in...More

    Thank travelsl1982
    Response from OriginalPaloma, Director, Unawatuna Beach Resort (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna BeachResponded February 6, 2016

    Dear Guest, In response to your comments regarding Calamander Unawatuna Beach: Our deluxe rooms are newly refurbished, providing a 5 star quality mattress, bespoke mahogany furniture, flat screen TV, mini bar, hair dryer, A/C, and shower room fitted with Hans Grohe bathroom fittings. The decor...More

    Reviewed January 15, 2016

    We like this relaxed and happily-run hotel. Travelling with small children, we stayed in this resort hotel last year and were delighted then with the accommodation and the bright, clean, modern. facilities. The open-sided dining area has spectacular views of the Indian Ocean and the...More

    1  Thank Lyn W
    Response from OriginalPaloma, Director, Unawatuna Beach Resort (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna BeachResponded January 20, 2016

    Dear Guest, On behalf of all the staff at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, we thank you and appreciate your comments and observations. It is most gratifying to have given you and your family such a enjoyable holiday and we look forward to hosting your family in...More

    Reviewed January 14, 2016

    not what it is maybe 1.5 star old dirty bed with worn spring mush have bribed to get a 4 star changed name for the same reason misleading all the way staff very rude manager wanted extra payment for upgrading to 2 star but had...More

    3  Thank al h
    Response from OriginalPaloma, Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna BeachResponded February 3, 2016

    Dear Guest, You made two room bookings through your travel agent. You requested two deluxe rooms and because you told us you were coming as a family, we designated one of our family suites, rooms 111 and 112, which has interconnecting doors. Both rooms have...More

    Thaproban Beach House
    922 reviews
    #4 of 33 hotels in Unawatuna
     
    Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
    464 reviews
    #8 of 33 hotels in Unawatuna
     
    Thambapanni Retreat
    492 reviews
    #5 of 33 hotels in Unawatuna
     
    Gloria Grand Hotel
    472 reviews
    #1 of 33 hotels in Unawatuna
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Room Service
    • Restaurant
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Beachfront
    • Free Parking
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Room Service
    • Free Parking
    • Airport Transportation
    • Dry Cleaning
    • Laundry Service
    • Concierge
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Conference Facilities
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Minibar
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Outdoor pool
    Details
    • Price range
    • $79 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Hotel Style
    • #7 Luxury Hotel in Unawatuna
    • #12 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Accessible rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 81
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Calamander Unawatuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Sri Lanka >
    • Southern Province >
    • Galle District >
    • Unawatuna
    • Also Known As
    • Unawatuna Beach Hotel Unawatuna ,
    • Unawatuna Beach Resort
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveler (522)
    Room & Suite (257)
    Dining (134)
    Pool & Beach (128)
    Hotel & Grounds (369)
    Bathroom (26)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Nearby
    Gloria Grand Hotel
    472 reviews
    .08 miles away
     
    Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
    464 reviews
    .61 miles away
     
    Thambapanni Retreat
    492 reviews
    .18 miles away
     
    Thaproban Beach House
    922 reviews
    .25 miles away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    mmmh Sucre & Sale
    126 reviews
    .17 miles away
    Bedspace Kitchen
    521 reviews
    .15 miles away
    Le Cafe Francais Bakery & Boutique
    230 reviews
    .17 miles away
    Koko's Beach Grill
    786 reviews
    .13 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Unawatuna Beach
    1,809 reviews
    .12 miles away
    The Sanctuary Spa
    346 reviews
    .20 miles away
    Unawatuna Diving Centre
    204 reviews
    .18 miles away
    Divers Land Dive Club
    102 reviews
    .13 miles away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Tony R
    February 4, 2017|
    AnswerShow all 6 answers
    Response from teachingtravels15-17 | Reviewed this property |
    The snorkeling at Unawatuna is not horrible. At least not for this novice and his family. You can book a boat for about 40$ for three hours. This included equipment for 2 adults and 2 children. I think the going rate is 15... More
    2
    Votes
    Tony R
    November 19, 2016|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from OriginalPaloma | Property representative |
    Dear Mr Tony, We have triple rooms. Please call the hotel direct on +94 91 223 22 47
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Ask for a room not on the ground floor and away from the pool area (noisy at night)"
    Read review
    "I would stay higher up away from any potential bar noise"
    Read review
    "Either Beach front or facing the swimming pools"
    Read review
    "Ask for a sea view room"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing