We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Calamander Unawatuna Beach

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Calamander Unawatuna Beach
Calamander Unawatuna Beach
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

487 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 365: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice location on the Unawatuna Beach, staff are friendly, very nice and helpful chef, but it is run by a school mistress who can jump on the guests any moment. Definitely not a place to relax and unwind. Wouldnt go there again

Helpful?
Thank Thariq A
OriginalPaloma, Executive Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Calamander Unawatuna Beach. We are pleased that you liked our location and the service was good. We are sorry that you were jumped on and that you felt you could not relax in our hotel. It does get very busy, particularly at weekends. We do our best to... More 

Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very relaxing stay. Super friendly efficient staff. Good dinner. Super breakfast. Very comfortable bed. Nice bathroom with plenty of hot water. Good Beach. Unique lap pool. Would recommend to my friends.

Helpful?
Thank Chamila S
OriginalPaloma, Executive Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review Calamander Unawatuna Beach. We are delighted that all aspects of our service, food, facilities and rooms came up to your expectations. We thank you for your recommendations. Kind regards, Miss Paloma Scott. More 

Moratuwa, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited this place to spend the day with my family and kids . F&B manager was very courties and helped us at the arrival. This is a small average hotel and you may misjudged from the official photos in internet. When I called the hotel for my reservation, they said that their having an International buffet and suprisingly it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nishantha G
OriginalPaloma, Executive Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Calamander Unawatuna Beach. We have noted your comments regarding the buffet. Our buffet at dinner time includes a choice of one of the three a la carte dishes: which are a 250 gram fresh fish of the day or 200 grm portion of Calamari or a 9... More 

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We ate at the seafood grill on the beach and frustrating they had run out of almost everything, no prawns, no lobster etc. Unfortunately the fish we did have tasted like it had gone off. Service is extremely slow and frustrating and you need to constantly chase up. If you ask for salt or ketchup don't expect to receive it... More 

Helpful?
Thank clee91ee
OriginalPaloma, Executive Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of our guest and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. There is no excuse for the seafood and fish being off! We buy fresh fish and seafood every morning from Galle harbour and surrounding fish sellers. Clearly something went drastically... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went to this place on my birthday to have a family dinner .food is really sucks .it's terrible ..in the bufeat they didn't have any nest dishes other than pork. Since we are Muslims we don't eat pork .so for us we didn't have any choice ..when we told about this to them they said they will provide us... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fathima N
OriginalPaloma, Executive Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (Pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for taking the time to review your experience of dining at Calamander Unawatuna Beach. We have noted all you have said and the management apologise profusely for the poor food and service that you experienced. We will be taking all that you have said and using it to show our staff that this is totally... More 

Naxxar
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is average. Reception area is ok. But our supposedly luxury room was anything but luxury. If anything it was dated and in need of refurbishment. The bathroom was massive but looked really dated. The restaurant was good and offered a good selection. The hotel is situated on a nice beach. Hotel staff are helpful and courteous. Wifi is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Canuckimpressions
OriginalPaloma, Executive Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (Pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Calamander Unawatuna Beach. We agree that our former luxury product is looking dated. However these rooms are very large, comfortable and have great views. We will be embarking on a programme of updating these rooms but we are so busy all the year round, we have not had a long... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Among the abundance of options in Unawatuna, Calamander seemed to be the best option. Good ambiance and good drinks - the menu was strange (hot dogs, pizza, sandwiches) and the food was not memorable.

Helpful?
Thank elmerbubbles
OriginalPaloma, Executive Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (Pvt Ltd) at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Calamander Unawatuna Beach. A bitter sweet review. We have taken your comment on the food to heart. Kind regards, Miss Paloma Scott. More 

Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We loved our stay here so much that we wished we had spent more time here than other parts of Sri Lanka. The staff were very courteous, polite and helpful. The hotel itself was beautiful, clean and modern. We stayed in the junior pool suite which was very large with a balcony that had pool view as well as partial... More 

Helpful?
Thank mattashareid
OriginalPaloma, Executive Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (Pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you most sincerely for your endorsement of Calamendar Unawatuna Beach. We note that you appreciated our vermillion pool. We prize imagination and we always aim to be innovative; we never not slavishly follow the Bawa model or International hotel style. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed yourselves. And we hope you will come... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were very dissapointed about this hotel. We came to calamander unawatuna to spent our last days before we head back home after travelling for three weeks around this beautiful coutry. They had no drivers accomodations and we had to find a place to our driver although they had meals for the drivers. Our driver mention that the food was... More 

Helpful?
Thank jame_0088
OriginalPaloma, Executive Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (Pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are looking into all the issues you raise. We do not have drivers's accommodation because our experience of driver's is that they abuse the facilities. Our Front Office manager apologises most profusely for not being available to respond to your complaints and of course another manager should have been called. We apologise most sincerely for this. We... More 

Umina Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I loved this hotel for everything. Our room was spacious and well appointed. Beds comfy, clean linen, great WiFi, everything we needed. The restaurant was on the beach and was such a pleasure to eat in. The staff were very good and food excellent. Out the front of our hotel it was clear of obstructive tables and chairs and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank dianne004500
OriginalPaloma, Executive Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (Pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Calamander Unawatuna Beach. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our rooms, the food, our service; and you appreciated the fact that we keep our beach clear of the clutter of tables, chairs and umbrellas that all the other beach hotels have. We do hope you will visit us again.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

761 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (339)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (176)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (390)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (51)
Viewed
Glass Pool (29)
Viewed
Luxury Room (72)
Viewed
Dining (83)
Viewed
Super Deluxe Room (55)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 28 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 28 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#6 of 28 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#10 of 28 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 28 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 28 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Calamander Unawatuna Beach is one of Sri Lanka's most popular beach resorts, located directly on Unawatuna Bay. The most renowned holiday destination on the South coast, Unawatuna Beach is famous for its natural beauty, laid back ambience, proximity to Galle Fort, a Unesco World Heritage site, and is the best beach in the country. UBR, established over 30 years ago, has been transformed, since November 2011, as Calamander Unawatuna Beach. The resort retains the relaxed character of the former UBR, the excellent service from long standing staff, good food and al fresco dining. The only hotel on Unawatuna Beach with swimming pools, Calamander Unawatuna Beach has built the first glass fronted lap pool in Sri Lanka and the longest, at 25 metres, in the Asia Pacific region. In addition a stunning Italian mosaic, 25 metres in length, outdoor pool, with adjoining jacuzzi and a separate children's paddling pool. Calamander Unawatuna Beach is a 4 star class hotel with five star facilities. It is the first beach hotel in Sri Lanka with accredited carbon neutral status and future projects aim to develop sustainable eco-technology in the hotel's power generation and transport services. Guests are encouraged to engage in utilising the resort's facilities in the most eco-friendly way, without compromising on comfort and are invited to offset their individual carbon foot print with a small, voluntary, financial contribution, to the hotel's carbon neutral status. Calamander Unawatuna Beach is a trail blazer in Sri Lanka, for the 'affordable luxury' concept. Its design ethos of modernity, complimenting the beauty of its geography, has proven to be popular with our guests from all over the world. This together with high standards of service, Calamander Unawatuna Beach is now renowned for being a family friendly resort welcoming Sri Lankans as well as foreign guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Calamander Unawatuna Beach

Address: Parangiyawatta, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Price Range: $70 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calamander Unawatuna Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Calamander Unawatuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unawatuna Beach Hotel Unawatuna
Unawatuna Beach Resort
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay