We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 293: English reviews
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

TPRS had received some bad press and reviews earlier. Please ignore these reviews and scrutinize mine. Know the location before you head on over. The bulk of the resorts in the Unawatuna Beach area are for beach bums and water-goers. TPRS is a true family-style resort with private accommodations on a quiet cove. The staff took a significant amount of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Dan, It was indeed a pleasure having you at Thaproban Pavilion and we thank you for sharing your encouraging feedback through TripAdvisor. in fact need to give you a little clarification with the Hotel, THAPROBAN PAVILION RESORT AND SPA IS NOT A 3 STAR HOTEL,IT'S CATEGORIZED UNDER LUXURY BOUTIQUE RANGES OF HOTELS. It is our earnest endeavor to ensure... More 

Hoi An
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I decided to return to Unawatuna for a bit of me time after a week in Colombo. I had been to lunch and had a facial at the Pavillion previously and decided to stay. Excellent decision. The room was immaculate and the staff excellent. Easy to walk to all that Unawatuna has to offer but this hotel is a step... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kayelem88
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your review and visiting Thaproban Pavilion Resort & Spa. It is very pleasure to see your positive comments of our spa services and we appreciate your great encouragement. Usually most of the guests those who are staying at our sister hotels visit this property to use the spa, pool and see the... More 

Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a trip to Sri Lanka for my birthday at the last minute, and decided to choose Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa through Booking.com. Although I said that my party of three would arrive at 4 am, there was no one at the hotel to allow us in the room. However, the manager was called and instantly gave permission... More 

Helpful?
Thank leannegraves
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to share your detailed feedback on Tripadvisor. It is so overwhelming to read your positive comments about the hotel and your experience and interaction with the staff. Also, your recognition of our service and the fact that you found our staff very helpful is an honor for the team.Your feedback is very motivating and inspires... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A birthday celebration was made special with a personalised cake and even surprise decor which was very thoughtful. This made us feel welcome and indeed added a warm touch to our stay. The manager of the hotel as well as manager of housekeeping upheld an excellent standard of service. All round the service was great and we will definitely recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Karishma d
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are very much thankful for your detailed review of our property and stay of the Thaproban Pavilion Resort & Spa. Your review gives us a idea that you have used all most all the services of our hotel and you were delighted of our services. It is very pleasure to see such a reviews like yours... More 

Gampaha, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016

We recently stayed at Thaproban Pavilion,the food is really good and the seafood is amazing....!!! The menu is not very expansive but superb in taste.We had a pleasant stay for two nights during our holiday.The staff is friendly. All the time you feel like they tend to pay more attention to the locals as well as the foreigners. Would definitely... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Prabhath-Cargills
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mr Prabath, Thank you for taking time to share your detailed feedback on Tripadvisor. It is so overwhelming to read your positive comments about the hotel and your experience and interaction with the staff. Also, your recognition of our service and the fact that you found our staff very helpful is an honor for the team.Your feedback is very... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

The hotel looks quite quaint but the rooms need some proper cleaning. We had a ground floor room and it was pretty worn out. Staff were quite attentive, which made the stay better. The 'spa' is gross - I don't think they clean the towels for the massage during the day as mine was oily but I did not want... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank MagdaKus
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Magdalena, We are glad to hear that you found the room comfortable and spacious. We must differ on the point of bathroom, as all rooms and bathrooms are complete, decorated in a pleasant manner and includes basic conveniences.this cut and cement environment you will feel little unclean but it is the real impact of the concept. Also need to... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

We had 2 weeknights in Galle, and picked this due to the pool. We had a room that had direct access to the pool through the sliding doors and a fantastic view. This Hotel is architecturally beautiful with a Mediterranean,rustic but luxurious feel in a isolated location, thus the stunning views. Nice hot and powerful shower. A very comfortable bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank ktandnav
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Thank you for choosing Thaproban Pavilion Resort &Spa for your recent visit and taking the trouble of sharing your experiences of our resort with understanding our Hotel concept ;OLD DUTCH STYLE ".you will feel you are in a dutch street when walking across..and meny more features such as privte beach and natural pool to relax you body... More 

Yala National Park, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2016

We are a family of 5 with 3 generations we stayed for 2 nights and had a lovely time. The staff were very friendly and very helpful and made a wonderful effort in helping to celebrate our grandmas birthday. The pool was very nice and it was very fun watching the waves crash on the rocks. We would happily stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank stuartsutton2003
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Stuart, It was indeed a pleasure having you at Thaproban Pavilion and we thank you for sharing your encouraging feedback through TripAdvisor. It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience , overall product, amenities ,service and personnel have left you with a favorable impression. We thank you for your valuable feedback.We are very... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here three nights and for the amount of money paid was completely disappointed. The rooms are ok but smelly and run down. We stayed in a two level unit and there were leaks in the upper unit when it rained. Needs more attention and upkeep. They have a gym but don't bother none of the machines work. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Minnie M
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Minnie, It brings an unpleasant feeling when we see this comment made by the guest to whom we paid the fullest possible attention and great hospitality.We see this as a small thing blown totally out of proportion to insult our hotel. Sir, you have assumed and compared certain things.However you are accidentally or otherwise misleading the trip adviser readers... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016

Spent an enjoyable weekend at this hotel. Lovely big rooms. We had the two bedroom suit. Excellent value for money. The staff were very friendly and ever willing to do anything to please. The restaurant provided food at all hours of the day, at request. Always with a smile. A few drawbacks though. The hotel is situated on a rocky... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jayantha P
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jayantha, Thank you for choosing to stay at Thaproban Pavilion Resort & Spa, Unawatuna and for sharing your heartening comments with us. We are so pleased to hear that we were able to delight you with our hospitality and services and provide you with an enjoyable stay experience. thaproban pavilion has unique location with a best sunset watching on... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

703 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (349)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (65)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Other (136)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (325)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Center Pavilion (89)
Viewed
Ocean Pavilion (65)
Viewed
Pavilion Residence (53)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 28 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
1.2 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 28 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 556 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 28 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#6 of 28 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 734 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 28 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#10 of 28 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a newly opened resort in Unawatuna, Situated in the heart of Unawatuna yet away from the hustel and bustel with few minutes walking distance to the world famous Unawatuna Beach and stripes of hotels and restaurants. Thaproban Pavilion is correct blend of serenity and comfort. The hotel is located right by the sea and a man made private beach area which is by the fibre optic pool to enhance the value of your stay. Hotel is very well equipped with all modern facilities to suit your comfort. Our spa and well equipped Gym is over looking the Indian Ocean and while you get the spa therapy you can enjoy the music of nature. All rooms are suites, some rooms are Duplex Suites which are ideal for families or friends and equipped with all type of modern and essential facilities like En Suite Bathroom, King Size Bed with Pillow Menu, 36" LED Satellite Tv, Tea Making Facility, Wifi, In Room Safe to make your stay extremely a memorable and comfortable, with typical Sri Lankan hospitality. The evening atmosphere is the best, you can get on the Rock by the sea for amazing views of the sun set and this is the most amazing moment! We offer fresh sea food and special Italian dishes, other international cuisines to Local dishes. Galle Fort stands at a distance which you can see from the hotel. The Sun Set Terrace on the third floor is ideal for relaxing with the stunning views and reading your favorite novel! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa

Address: Wella Devala Road, Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Price Range: $91 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
#8 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay