We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cantaloupe Aqua

Traveler (547)
360
Panoramas (26)
Dining (101)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Welcome to Cantaloupe AQUA, our private hotel and beach club. AQUA again has been awarded the Trip Advisor 'Certificate of Excellence'for for 6 consecutive years. Cantaloupe Aqua is a 15 room affordable seafront boutique hotel style in Unawatuna (Galle) Sri Lanka. The concept of the hotel is inspired by famous beach clubs around the world; it's the only one of its kind in Sri Lanka. AQUA combines contemporary spaces, amazing music, and food to create the ultimate beach getaway. "Dine where the action is infinity poolside, beach side, indoors, outdoors, under the stars, on a deck or on the beach!" AQUA offers you numerous options and spaces to wine, dine, lounge, party or just chill! 'Due to unforeseeable circumstances, Cantaloupe Aqua being primarily a beach front property has encountered difficulties providing guests with direct beach access in front of the property depending on the time of year and the seasonal weather changes. Due to man made structures built into the sea on the coastal line and global warming, which has caused inconsistent patterns of sand deposits. Sea erosion has caused Aqua to lose it's beach during some months of the year. In the event the beach is inaccessible our front desk staff will be more than happy to offer you complimentary transport to the closest beach on the right hand side of the property, which is also accessible by a 10 minute walk' - Management
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Free Parking
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Boutique
HOTEL CLASS
412Reviews
840Photos
18Q+A
78Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 222
  • 129
  • 25
  • 17
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Cantaloupe Aqua is a spectacular place. The standard of the hotel is high, in comparison to many other 4 star hotels in Sri Lanka, the rooms are big and bright. But what makes this hotel so special is the atmosphere, the staff and the location. The hotel is located on a 3.5km
Read more
Response from victoriapB9826VF, Public Relations Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua
Responded yesterday
Dear Sebastian, Thank you so much for your beautiful 5 star review of Cantaloupe Aqua. We love the comments in your review and for taking the time to give a detailed account of your stay. We do believe that the hotel offers a different experience to most other locations on the coast, and seafront views unlike most other properties. We are so happy you got to enjoy the close proximity to the beach and ocean, and we hope you can visit again. We will pass along your comments to Sandun and the rest of the team, and do hope we can welcome you back at Cantaloupe Aqua very soon.
Read more
Spent 2 nights here last week. The food was absolutely delicious. The rooms also were very comfortable and the staff ensured we were very well taken care of. The view they have is stunning and you are literally on the ocean. Would most certainly recommend this location and
Read more
Response from victoriapB9826VF, Public Relations Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your great review of Cantaloupe Aqua. We appreciate you taking the time to write a 5-star review and would most definitely be thrilled to welcome you back at one of our other properties in the Cantaloupe Group on your return to Sri Lanka. Please be sure to check out our restaurant in Colombo, Botanik Rooftop Bistro & Bar for amazing views of the city and a taste of contemporary cuisine with fresh and localized ingredients. Hope to welcome you back again!
Read more
Just spent 5 nights in Cantaloupe Aqua and had a great time. Situated 5 minutes drive from Unawatuna, the beach is quieter and the waves are better. Aqua makes full advantage of this with the pool, rooms and dining area all overlooking the coast. Staff were thorough and went
Read more
Response from victoriapB9826VF, Public Relations Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review of Cantaloupe Aqua! It's great to hear that the unfortunate incident such as an AC breaking mid-stay was turned around quickly for you. We appreciate your support and patience while we gave you the upgrade and replaced the A/C unit. Aqua Coconut is a restaurant with a very diverse menu, and we are happy to hear that you tried both Western and Sri Lankan dishes-- by the water no less! If you liked Cantaloupe Aqua, we know you will find the other hotels in the Cantaloupe Hotel Group just as interesting and the service just as warm. Please let us know your travel plans and we would be happy to book you back at the Southern Coast of Sri Lanka again.
Read more
The Canteloupe Group had an apology to make - see my review of Levels - and in fairness to them, they did it in style. We were upgraded from Aqua Chic to Aqua Ultra Chic, the best room in the place. The room is great and the view, incredible, with floor to ceiling windows,
Read more
Response from victoriapB9826VF, Public Relations Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your experience at Cantaloupe Aqua. We are happy you were upgraded to the Aqua Ultra Chic room and that you enjoyed the views of the ocean. We appreciate your constructive comments about the size of the Seafood Platter, we do want to make sure that we provide guests with proper portion sizes and would rather give you too much than too little! :) But we will definitely take your comments into consideration. Thank you for spending your birthday with us, we do hope you are able to visit us again the next time you visit Sri Lanka. We would love to host you at one of our many properties in the Cantaloupe Hotels Portfolio, as they all vary in location and design. Hope to hear from you soon!
Read more
This is the worst hotel of our trip. I cannot agree more with the most recent of reviews by X2482CEphiliph and Jacksonfive87. Despite being a "boutique" hotel I would more classify it as an extremely overpriced budget hotel. The hotel is very dated and run down. Having read
Read more
Response from Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Annie, Thank you for your feedback although you were not happy with your experience. We do sincerely apologize that you had an underwhelming experience, and would like to address a few points in your review as we did with the other guest in your party X2482CEphiliph below. Firstly, we want to point out that we do not consider ourselves a luxury boutique hotel and do not claim as such, and the rates during peak season are a reflection of the demand in the area and the occupancy of the hotel at that time. We do not in any way hope to overcharge our guests, but charge a reasonable price in comparison with neighboring properties at any time. We do indeed carry out Regular maintenance and mini refurbishments , wear and tear on a seaside (literally) property is always due to be high. We do not think our rooms are Tacky but that could be a matter of taste . Rooms are deep cleaned between guests however in a tropical country there may sometimes me a few bugs and critters. Regarding in-room wi-fi, this does happens when many users are logged on at a time and we are looking at switching our Service provider. We apologize that your calls were not answered at the front desk and have taken this up with the team. We will take on board constructive comments as an opportunity for growth and improvement. We do hope that you are able to visit the South Coast of Sri Lanka again and stay in one of our Sister properties in Rumassala, Ahangama or Midigama. All the best.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorCantaloupe Aqua
The Aqua Zen Room at the Cantaloupe Aqua
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorCantaloupe Aqua
The Aqua Zen Room at the Cantaloupe Aqua
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorCantaloupe Aqua
The Aqua Zen Room at the Cantaloupe Aqua
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorCantaloupe Aqua
The Aqua Zen Room at the Cantaloupe Aqua
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorCantaloupe Aqua
The Aqua Zen Garden Room at the Cantaloupe Aqua
PreviousNext
12345640
Hi Deeksha, Thanks for your question. We do have an accessible beach protected by a coral reef about 50m to the right of the property which is great during the October months. It's ideal for swimming all year round. If you have any questions or would like to see photos of the beach please contact us directly and we would be happy to give you more information. Our e-mail is abdm@cantaloupe.lk.
0 votes
Show all answers
No, driver accommodation in Cantaloupe Aqua.
1 vote
Show all answers
Check on Booking, Agoda, Expedia or simply contact the hotel directly. The rates change from time to time.
1 vote
Hi Anja, Yes for sure we can arrange a pick up from the train station. It takes about 15-20 minutes to the hotel. Pls be kind enough to drop us an email at sales.hotels at cantaloupe . Lk so our team can get the details and make arrangements for you or you may use the live chat applet on our website. Thanks Cantaloupe Hotels Management.
0 votes
PreviousNext
1234
"1st floot rather than ground floor."
"Do not pre pay for the room"
"Infinity Pool, Sea View, Sea View Pool"
"The Suite with Jacuzzi"
"Request an upstairs room"
PreviousNext
12345616
PRICE RANGE
$108 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cantaloupe aqua hotel unawatuna
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceGalle DistrictUnawatuna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing