We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 172: English reviews
Start your review of Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
 Click to rate
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I arrived here as "walk-in" guests and were lucky to get a sea view room number 35 on the second floor for the first 3 nights. As we were on a wait list for the other 5 nights we managed to extend but had to change to room 25 on the first floor for 1 night and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gold_keys_63
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your valuable time to write us a review .We are extremely sorry to hear about your wife was sick due to food but we cannot accept at once this is due to food poison from hotel .We always trying to serve you best cuisine foods with delightful service by staff.Hope to see on your next...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Overall, for the price the positives only just outweigh the negatives. Note: booking.com only has standard rooms available for booking and for $100usd p night they are deplorable. Small shacks, dirty and mouldy bathrooms, aircon sticky taped together, no amenities. We immediately upgraded to a deluxe room for an additional $35 usd a night...funny we saw many other parties doing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bianca M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The grilled fish was fine . The steak was lousy.Prawn cocktail was soso. , chicken soup ok Service efficient . A bit pricey for what you get. The food fills a hole but its nothing to write home about.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell M
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest ,Thank you for the review .We are extremely sorry the prices the bit expensive as you think .The management will look in to focus about foods specially prawns and cocktails as you mentioned on the review.Hope to see on your next visit.Thanks & Regards.Lucky.Manager

UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went tonight for a meal, owner needs to interview his chef, my wife's rice was served Cold and the chichen curry was luke warm, one of her pomperdoms was very greasy possible the first one in the oil I order a pizza neopolatain, which was particularly oily and soggy. Never should the chef have allowed either of our meals to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mockaji
Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

Classy , clean , well appointed. Our family made a last minute booking and we were delighted and what a great hotel it was. We loved the pool , the easy access to the ocean and the lovely bar and dinning on the beach. Added to our enjoyment of this area in SriLanka

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadee P
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest ,Thank yo for the review we are glad to hear that you have pleasant holiday with us with your last minute booking.Hope to see you on next visit at Tataruga Hotel.Thank you.Lucky.Manager

Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. Clean and cosy room with great AC. The hotel is located directly on the beach which is a great plus. Nice breakfast, especially the bananapancakes with coconut. Very friendly staff. A good place to stay for a longer period of time. We stayed at the topfloot and the wifi did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Sofie L
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for the comment certainly our staff will like to hear your comment.Glad to note you enjoyed our breakfast with varieties of foods and beverages Hope to see you on your next visit.Thank you.Lucky.Manager

Reviewed January 13, 2017 via mobile

Yummy food Been hear only for lunch and dinner Amazing setup Perfect Quality place and food Good location Friendly staff Relaxing environment Beach view awesome Good place to enjoy an evening Decent place

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chrishelle G
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest ,Thank you for the review .We are glad to note you enjoyed delightful at Restaurant and the amazing set up by the Tartaruga Team .Suerely they will happy to hear your wonderful comment.Thank you.Lucky.Manager

Reviewed January 10, 2017 via mobile

I came to this hotel at the end of my Sri Lanka trip hoping for a great finale by the beach, and I was up for a disappointment. I had booked a "super deluxe room" at a rate of 115$ per night, only to find out they were planning to give me a small dark room in the back of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank issa81 .
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for the review we have given you the same picture shown on web page and it is a room you have reserved with us and we are extremely sorry unable to give you suite for the same amount you paid for us with out upgrade charges .The wifi has no issue at all but many people login...

Reviewed January 10, 2017

The good: Our room on the top floor was big and clean, although you have to ask for the room to be cleaned. The hotel is right on the beach and close to all the amenities you might need. Loads of good restaurants and bars are nearby, accessed either by beach or along the road behind the hotel. The restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penny D
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the review .Certainly the pool is one of our major facility which can use adults and kids as well.there are only two swim pools around here specialy coastal area other hotels did not have this pool facilities at all.extremely sorry we are not allowed any outside person to use the with out permission from Front...

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed January 6, 2017

The hotel is right on the beach. Our room was very large with a large terrace and bathroom, very nice and tastefully decorated. Food in hotel restaurant on the beach is great too. Staff is very helpful and always friendly. A very decent hotel all together! Wifi was not very strong in the room. Also they allow cars and tuktuks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guy L
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for the review we are glad to hear you have met super customer service and all the tartaruga team happy about that.The wifi little bit slow sometimes due to coastal areas and management will focus on eye about vehicle parking space.hope to see on next vacation.Lucky.manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

238 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (204)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (134)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#9 of 29 in Unawatuna
777 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 29 in Unawatuna
820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
622 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#14 of 29 in Unawatuna
355 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant

Address: Yaddehimulla Road | Unawatuna Beach, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Price Range: $30 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tartaruga Hotel And Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Seaview rooms 33, 34, 35”
  • our room before changing
  • our room after changing
  • sea view room 33...the best for a couple
  • seaview room35...the best for couples
  • this hotel is only 2 years old...keep it up !
  • side view from room 25
  • from room 33
 of 5 bubbles Gold_keys_63, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ground floor is right at the pool which is good for families, right in the path of all traffic from hotel to beach.”
 of 5 bubbles 885pennyd, Jan 10, 2017 | Read review
“Although while booking, the rooms only state 'with balcony', insist on a sea view!”
 of 5 bubbles EshaJaggi, Dec 27, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room on the 1st floor... ask for a room on the front (not on the side) with ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles Scuba971, Nov 4, 2016 | Read review
“Choose room on ground floor opposite restaurant area.”
 of 5 bubbles Suri221151, Sep 3, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question