We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 156: English reviews
Hamburg
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went for dinner with a larger group. Due to the rain they hadn't enough space outside under the umbrellas so we had to sit inside on the first floor. Bad for us: there was a local family gathering right next to our table with over 20 people and a lot of kids. Therefore it was very noisy with kids... More 

Helpful?
Thank Banjo_Alina
Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in its basic room, was right next to the kitchen and restaurant on the ground floor. However, I wasn't disturbed by any noise from it. Simple room with basic facilities, although it was a bit tired and some items were almost falling, but it still served as a good resting place. Wifi' strength isn't very strong, and I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne Y
neel p, Lucky.Tartaruga Team at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Yvonne Hope you remember us.Thank you for the review Glad to hear our team give you unforgettable service.We hope to see you back in next vacation. Thanks & Regards. More 

puttalam
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice Location. Many Varieties of food. Food quality is good. But very slow preparation. Therefore good for relaxing. free WIFI. Good service and attentive staff. Furniture is not modern but can manage.

Helpful?
Thank sujithgunawardhana
neel p, Tartaruga Team at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Sujith, Thank you for the review .Surely The staff will like to hear your review The furniture has focus on our eye to upgrade with in short period.Hope to see you back. Thanks, More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

+ Superb location on the beach! Friendly staff. Descent restaurant. - Avoid the rooms at the ground floor as there is plenty of noise from the staff and visitors as from 5am making it completely impossible to sleep.

Helpful?
Thank Olina K
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel. It has a very good location on the beach. Its walking distance to all the other restaurants and bars. The food was very tasty. The rooms are slightly over priced and to get our rooms cleaned we had to ask them twice.

Helpful?
Thank rajeevrajapakse
Juvisy-sur-Orge, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice location, right in the center of Unawatuna Modern comfortable rooms (avoid the 2 ones on the first floor... too close to the pool side... with people going back and forth) Very good bar & restaurant on the beach Daily room cleaning is an option here... you have to ask for, every day ! No hot water the last day...?... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scuba971
neel p, Tartaruga Team. at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest ,Thank you for the review.We do extremely apologize the Birthday Function due to Bad weather condition used to progress function at the upstairs Of Restaurant.This is a rare Function and make sure will not happen .Room service always make the priority clean the rooms. We believe you have enjoyed our Delicious cuisine .Hope to see again your... More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2016

This is entirely a new place for me in Unawatuna, I would say this is the best in my list. Service was great, right on the Unawatuna beach, small room but it is a lovely clean room with everything I wanted. Place is near to many of the restaurants, but Tartaruga Restaurant was the best, We tried sea food in... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank WathsalaW
neel p, Tartaruga Team. at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for the review It is a Pleasure to note that you have met delightful service by Tartaruga Team.The rooms are quite luxury and Feel your self at Home with Palatable Sea Foods.Hope to see you again at next Vacation. More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2016 via mobile

we came to sit with our friends by the pool and one of the waiters shouted and cursed us. our friends also had trouble in the check in and almost had a fight with the reciption clark... wouldnt stay in the hotel ir eat in the restarunt.

Helpful?
Thank muli c
neel p, Tartaruga Team at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest thank you for the comment we are always trying to give delightful service but we noted down there are some points to ponder and get some actions to crior considered by management.Hope to see you again.Regards. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 11, 2016 via mobile

A good reasonably priced meal on the beach. The best food was the Sri Lankan curries, the whole meal including two beers came to £13. We also tried the fish which was fresh and very good. Well worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
neel p, Tartaruga Team at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for the review .We are glad to note that you met out delightful service. Hope to see you again.Regards More 

mayen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile

Great place for a stopover...had a lovely room ...28 i think it was ...with balcony overlooking the beach and bay... all clean ... very friendly helpful reception..breakfast started at 7.30 and was excellent ... intend to go back!!

Helpful?
1 Thank bobbyz
neel p, . at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely comment .It is a pleasure to note that you have memorable stay at Tartaruraga .Hope to see you back next vacation. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

222 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (188)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (127)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#9 of 28 in Unawatuna
746 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 28 in Unawatuna
767 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 28 in Unawatuna
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 28 in Unawatuna
580 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#14 of 28 in Unawatuna
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant

Address: Yaddehimulla Road | Unawatuna Beach, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Price Range: $30 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tartaruga Hotel And Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Avoid room on the 1st floor... ask for a room on the front (not on the side) with ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles Scuba971, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Choose room on ground floor opposite restaurant area.”
 of 5 bubbles Suri221151, Sep 3, 2016 | Read review
“beach view”
 of 5 bubbles jasonpeers, Sep 1, 2016 | Read review
“You will not get a magical view in any of the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles bbann230, Aug 24, 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms don't have AC and some near the kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles 726donaw, Jul 5, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay