We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Joe's Bungalow

Unawatuna Beach, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Joe\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Male
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is one of the finest hotels i have ever visited within the 4 visits to Srilanka. Great service and excellent hospitality. Both the outdoor and indoor dining areas are really good. I would like to visit this place again.!!! :D

Helpful?
Thank abaan2016
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved this place so much on our visit in April that we went back again in December! Gets better every time! The area is developing with more beach bars etc but not too much. Joe's Bungalow's are just amazing and the location is beautiful! Rooms are very clean and comfortable, great shower and service was fantastic! You will be spoilt... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura C
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015 via mobile

Amazing! Waking up to such a beautiful view, so tranquil & relaxing each morning was just fantastic - breakfast, lunch & dinner you are spoilt for choice.....rooms are comfortable, clean & a big plus for me way the power shower! Loved everything about this place - couldn't ask for more!

Helpful?
5 Thank Laura C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

I and 3 colleagues stayed at Joe's Bungalow's between 19th - 26th Feb 2015. As we were on business we were in Unawatuna for this brief time. I'll start with the positives firstly the Location is excellent, a small beach is located adjacent to the property but also Unawatuna Beach is just a 5-10 minute walk away which is visible... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank mattydb81
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest I have read your review with the greatest of regret. I have done a full investigation into your complaints and my findings are as follows. Please feel free to contact me to discuss this further if you so require. We received a reservation for 4 single rooms on "set menu" basis from your agent. The hotel Manager greeted... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the 3rd of May weekend...let me start with the view and location...absolutely awesome! me and my group of 12 friends were greeted with welcome drinks on arrival. The hospitality was exceptional as was the food which exceeded expectations. The staff were very obliged and went out of their way to make sure everything was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ronali P
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks so much for your lovely review, we are really happy to hear you had a great Birthday weekend and we were able to make it an event to remember. We look forward to welcoming you back soon Kind Regards Joe's Bungalow More 

INDIA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The property is almost on the beach. Clean rooms and a special thanks to the very obliging and hospitable staff. The food too was very good. I will most definitely like to come back and spend a few extra nights soon.

Helpful?
Thank FORTUNEIndia
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your kind review. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon Kind Regards Joe's Bungalow More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in February 2014 and the management was beyond pathetic. It seems this hotel/bungalow is facing a severe identity crisis as they are not sure if they are operating as a hotel or a bungalow. We arrived earlier than the check-in time and we were asked to wait until the rooms were made ready (which was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JJayaweera
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed in this awesome property for 2 nights. Awesome because the view and the location is fabulous. We were there on 28th & 29th Dec'2013. My only suggestion to all Indians will be never visit this property. The manager is pathetic. I feel bad to see such a lovely property is being handled by such an unfriendly, rude manager.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 513traveller
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Myself and my wife have stayed at Joe's Bungalow on three occasions in the last two years and I thought it only right that I pass on my thanks and gratitude. The bungalow is basically directly on the beach and is perfect for morning and evening walks along the beach front. The staff are very attentive and cannot do enough... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful places I have been in my extensive travels, having worked for Emirates for some time I thought I had seen it all. To my surprise once the main gate to Joe's bungalow was opened and I saw the sunrise over the property I was truly speechless. The staff are so accommodating and friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank keggysue
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely review. It is so nice to hear that you had a great holiday and Joe's Bungalow is one of your favourites! I am glad that our staff were able to meet your expectations and we do hope to see you again should you return to Sri Lanka! Kind Regards Joe's Bungalow More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 27 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#6 of 27 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 27 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Neptune Bay Hotel
Neptune Bay Hotel
#23 of 27 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 27 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 663 reviews
0.0 mi away
SurfCity Guesthouse
SurfCity Guesthouse
#56 of 117 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay