We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

920 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 286: English reviews
Boyne City
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

After having and amazing time on safari on the mainland of Tanzania, my husband and I were looking forward to relaxing on the beach on Zanzibar for a few days. We were very disappointed with our experience at Karafuu resort. Our room was OK but looked like it could use a bit of basic maintenance. We had problems with our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jegleston
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review and I always get convinced and admit mistake to rectify situation and to put it in perfect position. Positive and negative criticism is a tool to improve services especially in your case and I do appreciate your openness and your time you have taken to express your bad experience to Management....

Israel
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was in Zanzibar with my son for 9 nine days. The hotel is lovely and very clean. Our bungalow was clean and orderly. The staff was professional, gracious and hospitable and were anxious to please. The kitchen staff were very considerate of dietary requirements, in our case, kosher food. I do not know if I would consider this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Inbal N
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Karafuu Beach Resort & Spa Team always go extra mile and beyond to each and every client’s expectation and thank you that you have experienced our objective by yourself. This is all about our property. We won’t wait for long to deliver you again such kind of splendid services. Once gain thank you very much for your fabulous...

Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our room desperately needed maintenance. Trainee staff incompetent and required supervision. Room service irregular and poor. Food not up to standard. Overall, overpriced, definately not 5 star. Internet expensive and one could only use one device at a time. Location good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sakman2015
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking your time to share with us your review. We believe that both negative and positive comments are really very vital for us to improve and to deliver perfect and quality services. It is very unfortunate that you were very disappointed and your expectation was not met. With the help of your comments...

Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewed 1 week ago

The general maintenance of the hotel is not good. The rooms are clean and tidy but the air conditioning does not go below 26 centigrade, bath amenities are not always replenished and light bulbs are not replaced despite multiple calls to reception. There are frequent water stoppages (No water at all in the shower and tap). One half liter of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dgershon
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is very unfortunate that you were disappointed with some of the services during your stay with us. I really apologize for the inconvenience caused because this is not our goal. Our aspiration is always to make sure each and every customer gets satisfied with our facilities and services. I can see there were some issues of complain...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed in a junior suite at Karafuu for 7 nights. we would rate it as 3.8-4 stars. The bungalow was very spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. There were small signs of wear that could be improved upon but not so bad to put you off. Our suite opened directly onto the beach so the sea was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank charily2016
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I do welcome and recommend criticism of the negative feedback because it helps me on behalf of the Resort to rectify and improve the quality services. Sorry for few negative experiences you had found here and there and for the disappointment especially for theme nights which seem to be repeated somehow. As you have mentioned it is helpful...

Pune
Reviewed January 12, 2017

I found a great problem in that there were steps to go everywhere...not a hotel for anyone with knee problems or any difficulty with so many steps. the problem was that there were no rails, no bannisters and everywhere the steps were very steep including the bedroom itself. But the staff were so kind, so loving, so amazing that it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alicebubele
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I regret to have learned the difficulties you have experienced during your stay with us. Yes we don’t have rails and banisters everywhere towards rooms but ramps are available on door steps, pools, lobby and Restaurant areas. We are planning to come up with few special rooms for such disable persons. But with the help of friendly and...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed January 11, 2017

It was our first trip to Zanzibar and it will not be our last. Karafuu on an all inclusive package is good value for money. The setting is awesome with amazing views and beautiful blue seas and palm trees. The rooms were comfortable the best part being the air-conditioning. The food could be improved on, much of the same thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed January 10, 2017

Stayed here for a week before Christmas 2016. Beautiful setting - palm trees, powdery white beaches and warm, blue sea - a bit like paradise. We had a wonderful, restful time - friendly service, wonderful weather etc. I would definitely not classify it as a 5 star hotel though, probably 3 star. A few areas for improvement: 1) FOOD. Really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jphansen81
Tzur Igal
Reviewed January 9, 2017

I've been staying at Karafuu a few weeks each time around this past 2 years, total over 4 month all and all (work related – I’ve also stayed in many others hotels in Zanzibar) I've seen the hotel around the year and had the chance to enjoy some of the room types. The complex is HUGE, beautiful and got some...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barak C
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed January 7, 2017

I went to Karafuu with my family , Three children 8 12 and 14 . We stayed in the villa suite. The accomodation had lots of space. I think we where lucky to get this upgrade and the standard accomodation would have been cramped for a family of 5 in 2 rooms . The food however was very poor, Poor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JustinHawes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,758 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1220)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (342)
Viewed
View from Room (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (120)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (169)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
1:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (447)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (521)
Viewed
Amenities (117)
Viewed
Beach (34)
Viewed
Bondeni Pool (11)
Viewed
Cottage (78)
Viewed
Junior Suite (66)
Viewed
Masai Pool (9)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (109)
Viewed
Samawati Spa Pool (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pingwe
16.4 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
1,431 reviews
32.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
17.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 171 in Zanzibar Island
416 reviews
31.5 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
14.8 mi away
Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
On a deserted white sandy beach, at 65 km from Stone Town, lies Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, an international five-star hotel, winner of the World Travel Awards as Tanzania Leading Resort and Africa Leading Beach Resort 2011 .It is one of the most luxurious hotels on the east coast of Zanzibar, where, even during low tide, it’s possible to enjoy a comfortable swim in the ocean. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa

Address: PO Box 71, Pingwe, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pingwe
Price Range: $138 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com and Travelocity so you can book your Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karafuu Beach Hotel Pingwe
Karafuu Hotel Beach
Karafuu Resort Beach
Karafuu Beach Resort And Spa Zanzibar Island/Pingwe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa staff and other travelers.
59 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (59)

Questions? Get answers from Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“A bungalow on the cliff overlooking the ocean is the best choice.”
 of 5 bubbles 748inbaln, 5 days ago | Read review
“ask for a sea front room in order e to sit on the veranda which is shady day and you get to see the beautiful sunrise from your bed.”
 of 5 bubbles dgershon, 1 week ago | Read review
“The unobstructed sea-view and beach-privacy of the junior suite is worth the additional cost”
 of 5 bubbles charily2016, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Given the choice i would want sea view nearest to Reception”
 of 5 bubbles alicebubele, Jan 12, 2017 | Read review
“Definitely get a sea view room or near the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles LynnC207, Jan 11, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question