We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

896 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 281: English reviews
Pune
Reviewed 1 week ago

I found a great problem in that there were steps to go everywhere...not a hotel for anyone with knee problems or any difficulty with so many steps. the problem was that there were no rails, no bannisters and everywhere the steps were very steep including the bedroom itself. But the staff were so kind, so loving, so amazing that it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alicebubele
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was our first trip to Zanzibar and it will not be our last. Karafuu on an all inclusive package is good value for money. The setting is awesome with amazing views and beautiful blue seas and palm trees. The rooms were comfortable the best part being the air-conditioning. The food could be improved on, much of the same thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a week before Christmas 2016. Beautiful setting - palm trees, powdery white beaches and warm, blue sea - a bit like paradise. We had a wonderful, restful time - friendly service, wonderful weather etc. I would definitely not classify it as a 5 star hotel though, probably 3 star. A few areas for improvement: 1) FOOD. Really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jphansen81
Tzur Igal
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been staying at Karafuu a few weeks each time around this past 2 years, total over 4 month all and all (work related – I’ve also stayed in many others hotels in Zanzibar) I've seen the hotel around the year and had the chance to enjoy some of the room types. The complex is HUGE, beautiful and got some...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barak C
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

I went to Karafuu with my family , Three children 8 12 and 14 . We stayed in the villa suite. The accomodation had lots of space. I think we where lucky to get this upgrade and the standard accomodation would have been cramped for a family of 5 in 2 rooms . The food however was very poor, Poor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JustinHawes
Reviewed November 24, 2016 via mobile

Me and my husband came 2 Zanzibar for the first time. The trip was great. Due to health issues we r very selective in our food. We met there Chef Materekaj Juma who is a special person, and prepared us what we needed,took care of all our needs even on his day off, always with a smile and with all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank נתלי ואמיר י
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is very important to go extra mile when delivering services to valued guests. Thank you for recognizing our special Chef Matereka and he is really very special and into detail to so many selected foods ie Kosher, Vegetarian, Gluten-Free food etc. He will offer you any meals that will meet specific dietary either medical or religious. What...

Sargans, Switzerland
Reviewed November 18, 2016 via mobile

We had a great time here. The bungalows are much bigger than we expected. The view is incredible. If your room is on seaside, the ocean is directly in front of your room. You have plenty of space in your room. Dinner as well as breakfast is delicious in the restaurant, where you not have to make a reservation. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ladina87
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest It is great that your needs and expectations were met to your satisfaction even though you were disappointment somehow with some of the service delivery in other ala carte Restaurants. I really apologize for this and your feedback is going to help me very much to rectify the problem of staff that seems to be lazy in those...

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 8, 2016 via mobile

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. Il start with the pros: The beach is absolutely breathtaking and if you enjoy sea life you will love it as the tide goes quite far out and you see lots of rock pools. You can walk for miles! The pool is also gorgeous and is right on the beach. The hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank hana d
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is really very exigent to me and I fail to understand how I can explain to disapprove your disappointment which should have not be there and I am defeated to explicate one point after the other. Before any comments, I would like to thank you very much for sharing your positive and negative review with us. On...

בית נחמיה
Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile

we were a week in this wondrfull place. the staff is very kind, specialy hawa from thr recepion desk. the room was exallent. very clean! very good service at the bars, restaurants and in general. the locion is exallent. highly recomended!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Iirisrubin6
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We highly recognize you as our valued guest. We are proud that the team including Ms Hawa made it to your expectation by going extra mile that led to your successful vacation. You got all you need as per your expectations. Thank you very much for sharing with us your review. Yours sincerely, Dominic Ouko Manager Assistant

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed October 20, 2016

Usually I preferr writing a positive opinion rather than writing a bed review, but in this case I choose to make an exception because that it is Surprising that this hotel is rated as 5 star hotel when in reality it is barely feels like a 3 star hotel . The hotel is located on the south east of Zanzibar...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank monicaVini
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is also sad to me as well to read your review with all you have stated that everything was poor according to your experience. I cannot imagine it happens here but if is true you encountered all you have mentioned then I really apologizing for your disappointment. We always admit both positive and negative comments. Your Review...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,737 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1199)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (340)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (169)
Viewed
Room/Suite (120)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
View from Room (67)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
1:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (428)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (521)
Viewed
Amenities (117)
Viewed
Beach (34)
Viewed
Bondeni Pool (11)
Viewed
Cottage (78)
Viewed
Junior Suite (66)
Viewed
Masai Pool (9)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (109)
Viewed
Samawati Spa Pool (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pingwe
16.4 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
1,396 reviews
32.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
22.3 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,351 reviews
31.5 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
3.8 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 12 in Bwejuu
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
On a deserted white sandy beach, at 65 km from Stone Town, lies Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, an international five-star hotel, winner of the World Travel Awards as Tanzania Leading Resort and Africa Leading Beach Resort 2011 .It is one of the most luxurious hotels on the east coast of Zanzibar, where, even during low tide, it’s possible to enjoy a comfortable swim in the ocean. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa

Address: PO Box 71, Pingwe, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pingwe
Price Range: $111 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karafuu Beach Hotel Pingwe
Karafuu Hotel Beach
Karafuu Resort Beach
Karafuu Beach Resort And Spa Zanzibar Island/Pingwe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa staff and other travelers.
59 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (59)

Questions? Get answers from Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Given the choice i would want sea view nearest to Reception”
 of 5 bubbles alicebubele, 1 week ago | Read review
“Definitely get a sea view room or near the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles LynnC207, 1 week ago | Read review
“Try get the front row accomodation .”
 of 5 bubbles JustinHawes, 1 week ago | Read review
“take the rooms with two digits since they are with the view to the Ocean”
 of 5 bubbles dannys747, Aug 25, 2016 | Read review
“We had a room close to one of the restaurants/pool/bar areas. We basically had the pool to ourselves for the full 7 nights we stayed there.”
 of 5 bubbles christelledj, Aug 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay