We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Emayani Beach Lodge

06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Emayani Beach Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Emayani Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 65: English reviews
Arusha, Tanzania
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed at Emayani Beach Lodge in January 2013 and I just loved the place. I favor beaches off the beaten path, so this was perfect for me. The accommodations right at the water's edge are roomy, clean, and airy, with the breeze coming right off the water. It is a wonderful place to just relax. We didn't even venture...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy F
Emayani-Beach-Lodge, Manager at Emayani Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kathy, It is always nice to see a positive response coming in, especially several months after a stay. We hope you still cherish great memories about your stay at our lodge and we hope to welcome you again in the near future. The next time we can even spoil you with private beach-parasols and lazy loungers right on the...

Washington, D.C.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spent three nights at the Emayani this summer. IT was wonderful. The bungalow was incredibly spacious, and spaced far enough (but not too far) from the restaurant and other villas. We felt like we had a private home, yet with the amenities of a resort. The manager (Johan) was wonderful as were the staff. Really, there is nothing that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Docterloeb
Emayani-Beach-Lodge, Manager at Emayani Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your very positive review. Regarding the transfer from Tanga/Pangani to the lodge; we can organize an airconditioned mini-bus to come and pick our guests.If you wish to do so, please send us an email and we make sure you get collected at the point of your choice. Kind regards, Johan Knols Manager.

Zofingen, Aargau, Switzerland
Reviewed August 6, 2013

It's a long trip from Tanga to Emayani, because the hotel is far away from mass tourism. It is a relaxing atmosphere there. Emayani is at a lovely beach, which was unfortunately sea grass-decked. That was the reason why swimming in the ocean is not fun - at least in July/August. But the beach is perfect for long beach walks....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Patrick G
Emayani-Beach-Lodge, Manager at Emayani Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for reviewing Emayani Beach Lodge in an honest way. And I have good news: At the moment we are aware that the mats in front of the windows can be noisy for light sleepers and we are looking into changing the way the mats are positioned. We are experimenting with one room and await...

Charlevoix, Michigan, United States
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were originally planning on staying a few days in Zanzibar after our safari. However,our travel agent suggested Emayani Beach Lodge instead knowing that we prefer quiet and low key. The Emayani exceeded this. We flew in from Arusha and landed in a field where a mini van/taxi waited for us. There is nothing at the airport but 4 posts...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leslee P
Emayani-Beach-Lodge, General Manager at Emayani Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Leslee, Thank you for your very positive review of Emayani Beach Lodge. We do like to create a very relaxing environment at our accommodation and try purposely to be different from Zanzibar and the typical Zanzibar beach-hustle-and-bustle. Thank you also for mentioning the very important work being done by Kasa-Divers on the turtle project. We can not enough underline...

Apex, North Carolina
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great little place with huts right on the beach. Very quiet and relaxing, the beach was pretty much deserted the whole time we were there (nobody on the beach trying to sell you junk) and we were there 6 days. Food was good and simple and the drinks were excellent (well I stuck with the Dawa "traditional drink" the whole...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank turtleloves2travel
Emayani-Beach-Lodge, Manager at Emayani Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Turtlelove(r)s, It is not often that we receive a response after almost one year. Nevertheless we appreciate your accurate comment on Emayani Beach Lodge. As you rightly remarked, Ushongo Beach is a place to relax and enjoy the tranquility and silence. We hope it will remain like this for many more years to come. Thanks again for your input...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed February 25, 2013

after a long but relatively uneventful taxi ride there, we found a quiet paradise which at the time we had all to ourselves. the staff was wonderful, looked after us and made us feel totally safe. the food was great, the bartender, waiter polite and knowledgeable. having the dogs to keep us company was a bonus for sure. water so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nurseygirlwed
Emayani-Beach-Lodge, Manager at Emayani Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest(s), Thank you for your positive feed-back about our lodge. You have no idea how happy you make our barman if he can make cocktails, he just loves it! We are happy you did not only enjoy your stay at our accommodation but had a great time during the Pangani-Citytour as well. We hope to see you back some...

Dodewaard
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Great staff, extremely helpful and friendly. A deserted, clean, and amazing beach at your feet. Accommodation in spacious and beautiful bandas. The perfect place to relax and enjoy your holiday. Highly recommended for those seeking peace and tranquility after a safari!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BartKnols
Emayani-Beach-Lodge, Manager at Emayani Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear B.K., Thank you very much for taking the time and to write a very nice review about our accommodation. We loved having you here and especially enjoyed your stories about the ins- and outs about the behavior of mosquitoes. We wish you good luck with your research and hope to meet you again one day at Emayani Beach Lodge....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Emayani after a busy time researching for a book on a co-operative farm near Arusha. We couldn't have found a more ideal place for rest and recovery. The room was comfortable, tastefully designed and furnished, the food is superb, the staff friendly and efficient, the location perfect in every way. Reasonably priced too. We would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antony E
Emayani-Beach-Lodge, Manager at Emayani Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Antony, Thank you very much for your positive review about your stay at Emayani Beach Lodge. Management and all the staff wish you all the luck with your research and your book and obviously we hope to see you back one day in the near future. Kind regards, Johan Knols Manager.

New York City, New York
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I came to Ushongo after my trek of Kilimanjaro. Emayani has a great location. The food was very good and the staff was nice. However, there are no windows. Just openings with floor mats that cover them. So basically, there were alot of mosquitos in the room. The mosquito net was fine but when I went to the toilet I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JD515
Emayani-Beach-Lodge, Manager at Emayani Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your honest opinion. We regret that our spacious, open windows gave you an uncomfortable feeling. The windows are large and airy to allow the sea-breeze to come in to make, together with the fans, the sleeping-temperature comfortable on the always warm Tanzanian coast. We also regret that our 24/7 surveillance ( were you...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Emayani for four nights. We were blown away by the friendliness of the staff, the fantastic breakfasts, and the beautiful little bandas. Lying by and swimming in the little pool was a great alternative when the tide was low. We would highly recommend this place to anyone! If you have some flexibility in your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brabby
Emayani-Beach-Lodge, Manager at Emayani Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for responding on TripAdvisor. It is comments like yours that keep us sharp and on our toes. We appreciate your very good rating. We are also happy you liked our fresh-water pool as well as the 'salt pool' (Indian Ocean). Hopefully we can greet you as guests once again in the future. Asante sana!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangani
0.0 mi away
The Tides Lodge
The Tides Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pangani
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peponi Beach Resort
Peponi Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Tanga
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barry's Beach Resort
Barry's Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Pangani
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pangani Cliffs Lodge
Pangani Cliffs Lodge
#4 of 10 in Pangani
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kijongo Bay Beach Resort
Kijongo Bay Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Pangani
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bahari Pori Bandas
Bahari Pori Bandas
#8 of 10 in Pangani
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Emayani Beach Lodge features 11 en-suite coastal bandas, all within 50 meters of Ushongo Beach. Each banda has its own verandah and private parasol with beach-beds on the sea-edge. The spacious layed-out lodge has a swimmingpool, WiFi-connection, a very colourful bar, giftshop and 400 meters of quiet beach. From the lodge we operate a fast and safe speedboat shuttle service to Zanzibar (north beaches).Furthermore we operate a dive-centre and, apart from diving, offer windsurfing, kayaking and snorkeling trips to nearby islands.Guest that like to fly in, can land on our own air-trip, about 1 km from the lodge. Bookings can be made with Coastal Aviation in Tanzania.Emayani Beach Lodge is all about relaxation and unwinding.Karibu Emayani! (Welcome to Emayani!) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Emayani Beach Lodge

Address: Ushongo Street | Ushongo Beach, Pangani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Tanga Region > Pangani
Price Range: $95 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Emayani Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Emayani Beach Lodge staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Emayani Beach Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms identical.”
rthorne848, Nov 17, 2016 | Read review
“the rooms all have great views.”
jsmidthun, May 10, 2016 | Read review
“Any of the bungalows is superb! They have wifi in the lobby/restaurant”
underwatergirl, Dec 23, 2015 | Read review
“Furthest from main dining area”
LeoC347, Dec 5, 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms face the beach so I don't think there are any bad rooms. They have wifi in the bar area.”
tx2tz, Jan 15, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question