We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas

Traveler (33)
Room & Suite (21)
Video (1)


#2 of 2 hotels in Las Catalinas
Here at Santarena, we appreciate luxury, but prefer places that feel traveled. In a formal sense, Santarena is an homage to the old mansions of the great coastal cities of Havana and Cartagena, a traditional gem where sun-kissed days revolve around blossoming courtyards and lounging on timeless terraces with marveling picturesque archways surrounded by lush greenery and constant views of the sky. Views from our rooftop are incomparable, especially when it is paired with our 35-square-meter pool. Stylish accommodations and inviting public spaces are seamlessly woven with gracious hospitality to make this the ideal home base, captivating guests with an authentic laid-back warmth throughout.
Read more
Property amenities
Room service
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Price:35% off room rate


Full view
Camino Las Catalinas, Las Catalinas 50304 Costa Rica
E-mail hotel
Getting there
Liberia Airport18 mi
Nosara Beach Airport36 mi
0Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My experience staying at Hotel Santarena was unpleasant, both for the quality of the room and for the behavior of the hotel staff. I would discourage travelers staying at this hotel as it is really not value for money. I booked a King Room for one night costing 405USD for the
Read more
Response from Santarena_Hotel, General Manager at Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Fabio, Thank you for taking your time in sharing your feedback with us and I am truly sorry to hear that we came up short in providing you with a memorable stay. I am most concerned by the service shortfall you encountered and can assure you that it was never our intention to provide anything less than seamless, personalized service and facilities for our guests. At Santarena Hotel, we aim to create a very welcoming and exceptional experience for our guests. I am therefore extremely sorry that we didn’t take care better care of you and your wife at Check in. I regret to learn of your disappointment regarding the slowness of service, and missing amenities in our guest rooms. I do apologize that we did not have the opportunity to assist to make your stay more comfortable and pleasant. Please be assured that each point of your feedback has been duly noted. I will particularly take this opportunity to review our processes we have in place to ensure that our guest approach is as considerate as can be. Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us, which helps us to focus on what is important to our guests. I sincerely hope that there will be another opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Best regards, Robert
Read more
We stayed for just 1 night, but it was enough to get i love with the hotel and Las Catalinas. Hotel juat opened, staff was super friendly, still in a warm up mode. Room was immaculately clean. Sleeping quality is high. For now there is no elevator which can be a challenge for
Read more
Response from Maria Jose M, Sales Manager at Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas
Responded Apr 16, 2019
Thank you so much for your feedback! We are very pleased that you enjoyed Santarena Hotel as well as Las Catalinas town. We hope to see you visiting again, the elevator would be ready soon as well as 04 Calle La Ronda bakery. Have a lovely week! Maria Jose M
Read more
I booked your hotel for later in 2019, Nov to be precise. You took £400 holding deposit from me. I booked via Booking.com. Despite cancelling, you have not honoured the £400 refund which is stated in the T&C. Booming.com and I are having no luck contacting you so I am now
Read more
Response from Maria Jose M, Director of Sales at Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas
Responded Mar 4, 2019
Hi Martin, We're sorry that you couldn't join us later this year and especially sorry that you've run into this difficulty with the refund process. We've already gotten started with booking.com on the refunding process, but unfortunately, it can take between 2-3 weeks for funds to post back in the account, so we apologize for that delay. For next time, we suggest booking directly with us at santarenahotel.com to take advantage of our best prices and direct service. And in the meantime, to help walk you through the rest of this process, a member of our team will reach out to you directly, and if we don't have the right contact information you can reach out to us at hello@santarena.com. We hope to help you resolve this issue as soon as possible.
Read more
We have visited Las Catalinas before and fell in love with the place and were lucky enough to stay at the new Santarena Hotel. It's a beautiful hotel with high ceilings, colonial architecture and stunning Ocean Views. The staff are superb and always giving you great
Read more
Response from Maria Jose M, Manager at Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas
Responded Mar 16, 2019
Hi Richard, Thank you again for choosing Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas for your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay as well as the trails, we hope to see you again very soon! Regards, Maria Jose M
Read more
I'm a fan of Las Catalinas, so I had big expectations of their new Hotel Santarena. Just the name is so nice, that I couldn't imagine the hotel inside. Well, my expectations were exceeded. The architecture of the place is amazing, they took care of every detail in decoration,
Read more
Response from Maria Jose M, Manager at Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas
Responded Mar 16, 2019
Hola Carolina, Thank you again for choosing Santarena Hotel for your stay with your friend! We are very pleased to hear that expectations were exceed! We hope to see you again soon at the hotel, Las Catalinas or Ponciana Restaurant. Regards, Maria Jose M
Read more
$220 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Santarena at Las Catalinas
Costa RicaProvince of GuanacasteLas Catalinas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing