We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

The Glen Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Glen Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 220: English reviews
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a very friendly small hotel. Our room was very nice, if a little small for the furniture that had been squeezed in. The bed was large (two singles joined together) and really comfortable, with soft pillows and high-quality linen. The bedroom and bathroom had clearly been refitted quite recently and were well appointed. The bar doubles as the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gavin O
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had booked this hotel for one night and having read the reviews were fairly happy with our choice, however on arriving we were a little disappointed. The room was clean and the water was hot but it lacked something extra making it just an average room in an average hotel. We had our evening meal there. The menu was... More 

Helpful?
Thank alison k
Badenochtraveller, Owner at The Glen Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that this reviewer did not enjoy their stay at The Glen. The whole team strive very hard to provide all our guests with a comfortable stay but we cannot be 'all things to all people'. As can be seen by most of the reviews on this site, other reviewers have a different opinion of our... More 

Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

touring the north family recommended this place and we were not disappointed. A small highland hotel with great character and service. our room was comforatble spotless and well appointed. the bar was well stocked and I was tempted to try one of the new boutique gins I know nothing about ( the trend has not reached Australia yet!) the barman... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2Eliza_12
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very comfortable and friendly hotel. The staff were all extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The room was beautifully appointed and the bathroom had an excellent shower. The breakfast was cooked freshly each morning from a good choice of items and was accompanied by plenty of tea! We ate two evening meals in the bar and both were... More 

Helpful?
Thank crayolp
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here without nothing anything of the place. Nice hotel, very nice people working in. The room was nice and clean. We had some drinks in the terrace outside, nice meeting place for travellers. Very good beers, food no so special. Close to the hotel there is the folk museum, really nice for children.

Helpful?
Thank ziofrenky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

my husband and I had a meal here it was absolutely beautiful the landlady landlord and staff were lovely too we stayed for the pub quiz and won 1st prize which was a bonus we only did it as a laugh also we were allowed to stay overnight in their car park with our motorhome faultless!!

Helpful?
Thank Joyce P
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

We were en route to an AirBnB further north before it fell through at the last minute. Luckily we scored a room at the Glen Hotel. The room was on the smaller side, but the bed was huge and very comfortable. The pub below serves good hearty food and the drinks are reasonably priced. All in all, a pleasant stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Taelor P
Sydney
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights as a base for our highland sightseeing. Breakfast was included in the rate and had a lot of options. The staff were all lovely and very helpful, particularly in the bar where we ate dinner every night as it was both great food and convenient!

Helpful?
Thank kam0706
Widnes
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016

This country hotel in Strathspey continues to maintain the high standards experienced in previous visits. Comfortable rooms, dining which is excellent value for money and a well stocked and friendly bar. The staff are pleasant and helpful. the hotel is ideally situated for touring the are around Aviemore and the Cairngorms

Helpful?
Thank Charles M
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

Staff at hotel were all very friendly. Our room (1) was clearly recently decorated and was very clean - the bed was very comfortable. Dinner, although took 45 minutes to arrive, was delicious (they were busy though). Breakfast was good and gluten free bread was provided without a problem. The only downside was the constant hum of an extractor fan... More 

Helpful?
Thank ATrainer
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.8 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 stars 566 reviews
3.3 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
2.8 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
18.9 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Glen Hotel Restaurant
The Glen Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This elegant Edwardian Hotel is located at the heart of the Scottish Highlands, the magnificent setting for the popular BBC series, 'Monarch of the Glen' which was filmed only a few miles away. Quite apart from the breathtaking scenery, lovers of outdoor pursuits are spoiled for choice the Monadhliath & Cairngorm Mountain Ranges lie nearby golfers can enjoy the diverse challenges at Newtonmore, Kingussie, Grantown-on-Spey & Boat of Garten and opportunities for walking, cycling, fishing and other activities are just too numerous to mention.All rooms offer satellite TV with 12 channels, tea/coffee making & are non-smoking. BT Sports is available in the games room downstairs.The Glen Hotel is a family run hotel which benefits from a high level of repeat business from both the tourist and commercial sectors.Our informal dining is 'good honest pub grub' and is widely accepted as being good value for money. In addition, we are one of the few establishments in Scotland to hold the prestigious 'Eat Safe' Award - your guarantee of safely prepared food served in an efficient manner.We have featured in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide for the past 9 years and we have been voted CAMRA 'Regional Pub of The Year' 5 times in the past 9 years.And you won't loose sleep either! Our beds have been replaced recently with those similar to what you would expect to find in a 4 or 5 star hotel and are complimented by luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets and superior quality duvets.If you want out door activities the we can help! Given a little notice then we can assist with organizing golf, shooting, fishing, mountain biking, riding and much, much more! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Glen Hotel

Address: Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Price Range: $72 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Glen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Hotel Newtonmore
The Glen Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay