We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pestana Dom Joao II

Cancelon$136*
View Deal
#5 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$158*
$136*
Great Deal
$158*
$158*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Pestana Dom Joao II
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,546 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pestana Dom Joao II
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,270: English reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2014 via mobile

We had been at the nearby Pestana Alvor Park for our annual visit and found ourselves stuck in Portugal for an extra 3 nights. A quick look on the internet and I was able to book 3 nights here for our group of five at very short notice. Having read some of the reviews on here I was a little...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon S
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. Regards from Portugal Carlos Santos Unit Manager Pestana Dom João II...

Holbeach, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 31, 2014

our 3rd year in this hotel and we were not disappointed. our trip was later this year but the weather was just as hot. the staff are all very helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. the rooms are cleaned daily, with fresh towels and bed linen. we booked a sea view, which was fab.tv in room but only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jbuck_11
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to gives us your opinion about our facilities and services. We are very glad to hear you have enjoyed your holidays and we look forward to have you back. Kindest regards Carlos Santos Unit Manager Pestana Dom João II Hotel

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 28, 2014

My parents stayed at this hotel many time quite a few years ago but this is was our first visit and I can see what attracted them back! The hotel check-in was very efficient and we had our bags taken up to our room. We were delighted with our room and the lovely side sea view (room 230). We were...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sarah S
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to gives us your very good opinion about our facilities and services. We look forward to see you soon. Kindest regards Carlos Santos Unit Manager Pestana Dom João II Hotel

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 26, 2014

We have just returned from a week in this hotel and would highly recommend it. Most of the rooms have partial or full sea view. The hotel gardens lead to a beautiful beach with a hotel beach bar. Rooms are nicely decorated and maid service very friendly and good. Only bad point of rooms is lumpy pillows! Good breakfast service...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paul-der
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pestana Hotel Dom João II. Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation. We look forward to welcome you again. With kind regards, Carlos Santos Unit Manager Pestana Dom João II Hotel

DUNDEE
Reviewed October 22, 2014

Arrived home yesterday from a great holiday with my husband and 12 year old son. On arrival check in was swift. Room lovely, beds comfortable and very clean. Only complaint we would have was a huge tree in front of balcony, so could not see anything other than shrubbery and balcony very small. Breakfasts were excellent with so much choice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kymgray
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. Your kind words give us the great filling of mission accomplished and we also look forward to welcome you again on your next holiday. As for the three we must think of a solution for that view.Thank you. With kind regards, Carlos...

Sussex, UK
Reviewed October 21, 2014

Four night stay on a golfing trip (group of 9). Nice hotel on the outskirts of Alvor, 5-10 mins walk from bars and 15 mins from main area of restaurants etc. Clean, recently refurbished rooms with good beds and bathrooms. Only had breakfast in the hotel but was better than expected, plenty of choice and includes omelette bar and fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dazzer6666
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. Your kind words give us the great filling of mission accomplished and we also look forward to welcome you again next year. Please let us know of your return as soon as possible. With kind regards, Carlos Santos Unit Manager Pestana Dom...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 20, 2014

We stayed in the Dom Joao ii and had a wonderful holiday. Transfers with yelllow fish transfers were quick and safe the driver was great giving lots of tips all the journey . The kids were happy as wifi in the car . Staff were very helpful at the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. Location is excellent with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joy J
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful comments regarding our services and staff in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is highly important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve. We thank you again for the great remarks and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a...

Dartford, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 16, 2014 via mobile

Had to comment last year on the shoddy overbooking scenario that seems to prevail here. Happy to redress the balance this year. We had ensured in advance that our annual booking for a party of twelve golfers would be honoured as we find the Dom Joao ideal for our requirements and had no problems this year. The rooms are great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ybabobmij
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments in Tripadvisor. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. Regards from Portugal Carlos Santos Unit Manager Pestana Dom João II Hotel

Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 14, 2014

My wife and I had booked a week in the Pestana Dom Joao II through Jet 2 and hired a car from Faro Airport. The drive takes about 1 hour if you use the A22, which I would highly recommend and stay on it until the sign for the Alvor slip road, very straightforward. The hotel is easy to find,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bert14440
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. Sunny regards from Portugal Carlos Santos Unit Manager Pestana Dom João...

Dublin
Reviewed October 13, 2014

I booked a double room in Dom Joao 11 in May for 7 night in Sept/Oct. I booked through the Travel Republic and they use an agent – Magic Rooms – to make bookings on their behalf. I had read on trip advisor that this hotel was often overbooked and clients were let down at the last minute. Because people...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Greenhouse25
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to gives us your opinion about your holiday experience. We regret to hear that in the end you stayed somewhere else. We believe it is a negative experience and for that reason we would like to ask you to contact us directly when next wanting to book with us. That way, we...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (657)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (142)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (146)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
View from Room (61)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
2:43
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (216)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (447)
Viewed
Amenities (62)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Kids Pool (7)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (34)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
Standard Room (20)
Viewed
Superior Sea View Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Apartment (80)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.4 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 26 in Alvor
435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
0.4 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 26 in Alvor
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Pestana Dom Joao II

Address: Marginal de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-021, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Price Range: $92 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Dom Joao II 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pestana Dom Joao II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Hotel Alvor
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Alvor
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#5 Family Hotel in Alvor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Pestana Dom Joao II staff and other travelers.
113 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (113)

Questions? Get answers from Pestana Dom Joao II staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Sea view best but come at a premium”
hibee7, yesterday | Read review
“Any Seaview room ideally on level 4 or 5. To really get a panoramic view of the beach.”
Jordajo, 4 days ago | Read review
“We were on the 5th floor, great view and we never heard a sound”
Noreendavitt, 1 week ago | Read review
“Villa 10 had a great view of the sea and was ground floor so buggy could go in and out easily.”
luluslollypop, 1 week ago | Read review
“sea view only”
H2473EWericb, 1 week ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Cancelon
$136* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.com$158
Booking.com$158
Orbitz.com$158
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates