We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort

Save
Share
Praia do Alvor, Alvor, Portimao 8500-088 Portugal
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
$336
View deal
Trip.com
$312
View deal
ZenHotels.com
$299
View deal
Orbitz.com$336
Booking.com
Expedia.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1253)
Room & Suite (498)
Pool & Beach (325)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 01/26/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 01/26/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 27 hotels in Alvor
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.1
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice
The Pestana D. João II is a is a 4-star hotel overlooking the sandy Alvor beach with calm, crystal clear waters. It is only 10 minutes on foot from the town centre, very close to the Alvor river. Take a dive into one of the 2 outdoor saltwater swimming pools surrounded by lush and peaceful gardens, or relax at the Spa with an indoor swimming pool, Turkish bath and sauna where you can schedule a Magic Spa massage. For your meals, there is 1 restaurant and 3 bars (2 of which only open in the summer). If you have kids, the Pestana Kids Club is the perfect place for them to have fun (open from June to September). All rooms offer a balcony with views of the sea (frontal or side), garden or hotel grounds and have a TV and Wi-Fi.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Boating
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Game room
Mini golf
Billiards
Evening entertainment
Kids club
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
2886Reviews248Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,205
  • 1,049
  • 420
  • 115
  • 97
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
joe wrote a review Aug 17
Wigan, United Kingdom2 contributions
Great location. Friendly staff. Very nice pool area and gardens. Lots of sunbeds and umbrellas. Very efficient and polite staff around the poolside bar area especially Ivone who couldn’t be more helpful and efficient. No need for the early morning sunbed rush here. Good housekeeping. Good choice at breakfast. Can’t believe the minority of terrible reviews. Mark and Ann
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Safari01085644687 wrote a review Aug 15
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I rated my experience at this hotel as average because of the attitude of some people working there. Most of them were grumpy and some of them rude with us. Special mention to the blonde lady seating guests at breakfast. She was very rude, shouting at everyone everyday. She had extremely bad manners making us feeling very uncomfortable. Most of the people working at reception were constantly grumpy and not helpful at all. They not even tried to help. We’ve never seen good manners or a smile in their faces, especially a young dark hair female receptionist. When we arrived, all the keys of our rooms were wrong and when asked her to please change them for us we received an extremely bad attitude and not even a sorry. Apart from the bad experience with most of the workers at the hotel (except the nice cleaning ladies) I have to say that the location is very good, just steps away from a beautiful beach. Plenty of sun beds by the swimming pool and good facilities for a 4 star hotel. The manager of the hotel should sort out the attitude of the people working there if they want guests to come back to Dom Joao.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Catarina Arede, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Mr./Mrs. Safari01085644687, We would like to thank you for sharing this information with us because we can only improve with the valuable feedback provided by our Guests. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We are sorry that our team did not meet your expectations. We have already spoken to the team. We are working together to improve the quality of our service and assistance. We hope that, nonetheless, your experience was positive. Thank you for staying with us! We sincerely hope you will give us one more opportunity to rebuild your trust in our team service and to recover your impression of the hotel. Kind regards, The Team at Pestana Dom João II
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hilary B wrote a review Aug 11
44 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
These apartments are located in a lovely spot, close to the sea and the board walk. They cleaning team are pleasant and helpful. We were pleased that they cleaned the pool on a daily basis. Sadly the apartments have deteriorated dramatically over the last few years. They have not been updated for 15 year - that includes the sofa bed in the lounge! The oven is so old that you can't read the symbols to work it and the fridge had broken so we had to make do with one in the lounge The infant pool is a major hazard with the sides being so rough. Although they watered the grass constantly, the state of the walls was poor.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Catarina Arede, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Mrs. HilaryB577, We appreciated the time you took to give us your honest opinion on your stay and, in particular, the comments regarding your accommodation. We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We have taken note of the issues raised. We are working with the relevant teams to solve the matter and improve the conditions offered. Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope that, in the future, you will give us another opportunity to host you and change your impression of Pestana Dom João II. Kind regards, The Team at Pestana Dom João II
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ror wrote a review Aug 8
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Ok, rooms, restaurant, pool , bar , scenery , common areas, etc. perfect, as is in the brochure. Unfortunately , the service is so poor. The hotel have not employed enough staff to manage the hotel facilities. The ambience is not in keeping with what would be expected of a costly resort due to cheap night time entertainment and the lack of customer service. Would recommend if wiling to pay the rates here to go to Lagos and get better bang for you buck.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Catarina Arede, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Mr./Mrs. Resort20235078371, We would like to thank you for giving us your honest opinion on your stay. Unfortunately, we did not satisfy your expectations. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken note of all the issues mentioned so that improvements can be made in the short-term. We appreciate that you chose Pestana Dom João II for your stay. Kind regards, The Team at Pestana Dom João II
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diane P wrote a review Aug 7
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom16 contributions12 helpful votes
Stayed here for 1 week in July Sea view room was lovely. Well equipped with fridge, safe and plenty of wardrobe space. Bathroom with bath, shower over the bath with rain head and a bidet! Tv had lots of channels in a variety of languages and at least three in English. Food in the restaurant was good. Lots of choice at breakfast with fresh omelette cooked to order everyday, fresh fruit, pastries and even bucksfizz! Poolside bar menu a bit limited but a toasted sandwich and fries is sufficient. Positioned right on beach front with gated access to the beach and promenade. Fabulous beach and photo opportunities if you walk along wooden jetty. Although there are lots of signs showing tsunami escape routes which are a bit unnerving.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Catarina Arede, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mr./Mrs. 287dianep, We were delighted to hear that your recent stay at Pestana Dom João II was delightful and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our team would like to thank you for your very kind feedback. Many thanks for choosing Pestana Dom João II for your holiday. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel. Kind regards, The Team at Pestana Dom João II
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ADw wrote a review Aug 6
Ireland22 contributions32 helpful votes
Absolutely loved our stay in the Dom Joao, the hotel is spotless, the staff are excellent and the breakfast in the mornings is like nothing I’ve seen before, so much selection!! The location of the hotel is amazing, right on the beach (there’s a board walk from the pool directly onto the beach) it takes about 15-20 minutes to walk into the town in the evenings along the boardwalk. However the boardwalk isn’t lit up at night for walking back to the hotel. I’d highly recommend this hotel for couples, friends or families with kids. There’s something to suit everyone!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Catarina Arede, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mr./Mrs. 583aislingd, On behalf of the entire team at Pestana Dom João II, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback. It is delightful for us to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we could help you create beautiful memories. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel! Warm regards, The Team at Pestana Dom João II
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ARJ wrote a review Aug 6
6 contributions5 helpful votes
I shouldn’t have believe the positive reviews . I’ve travelled around the world and this hotel is definitely not a 4* and their description is false advertising. Had booked a sea view room and was given one in front of a concrete structure( see pic). Explanation from hotel staff ; “it’s only a classic sea view “. After complaining a lot , I got moved to a partial sea view room. False advertising and ranking as 4*: - satellite/cable tv- if you speak English be aware that there are only Portuguese channels . The only English channels are the 5 news channels, nothing else which is not cable /satellite TV - Towels with massive holes and dark stains (see pics) . Seriously shameful to give that to clients. - Pillows are very old , with balls of material inside . - States mini -bar but it’s only a fridge - There is no golf course, only mini golf - COVID safety measures- what is describe on booking .com is false : non hand sanitizer in rooms ,no distancing in dining area etc. - They almost don’t put any labels for the food at buffet so you don’t know what you’re eating. If you have allergies or are vegetarian there are very few options. - They put the same salad in 3 bowls to make it look like there is more choice - Refurbished the hotel waiting areas only . the corridors are still from 1970s - They mention bowling at the hotel but it’s outisde - Beds very hard /uncomfortable The list goes on … This hotel is for Portuguese clientele , not international one. It’s overpriced as it doesn’t have 4* standard at all
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Catarina Arede, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear AudReJin, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your experience at Pestana Dom João II. Your opinion is crucial for us to improve how we work. We would like to sincerely apologize for not fully meeting your expectations and for any inconvenience this may have caused. We have shared your comments with our teams to ensure that improvements will be made. We would like to thank you for staying at Pestana Dom João II. We hope this experience has not tarnished your impression of our hotel permanently. We would be delighted to change it during your next stay. Kind regards, The Team at Pestana Dom João II
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Quest02682602964 wrote a review Aug 1
1 contribution
Great hotel for families, nice breakfast with a lot of options, ideal for kids. They also have the swimming pool area with a kids pool where our daughters were able to play. Close to the beach. Hotel staff very nice as always in Portugal, there is always options to eat. However the pool bar was not that great, slow service and few options. No really kids friendly. So you have to go for the buffet. Reception staff were nice, and ready to help and offer options to visit around, it was very nice. Not so close to the Center of Alvor but not an issue as you have everything you need on the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Catarina Arede, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr./Mrs. Quest02682602964, On behalf of our entire team at Pestana Dom João II, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continuously improve in anticipating our Guests' needs, preferences, and expectations. We were glad to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your stay at Pestana Dom João II. At the same time, we would like to apologize for not fully meeting your expectations in some instances. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused. We have shared your comments with our teams to ensure that improvements will be made. It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to welcoming you again at Pestana Dom João II and regain your trust during your next visit. Warm regards, The Team at Pestana Dom João II
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon M wrote a review Jul 2022
Stamford, United Kingdom7 contributions14 helpful votes
We stayed for a week mid July on a bed and breakfast basis. The hotel is very nice and clean, beds are very comfortable. The air-conditioning was welcome and very quiet. We were on the top floor, and our side views were fabulous. Breakfast had a fantastic choice. However the young waiters and waitresses were a bit quick to clear your table even when you hadn't finished. Also they had no smiles or good morning chat. Position is good through gardens to the beach and a 10-15 minute walk to the village, nearer to go by the front entrance following signs to Alvor.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Catarina Arede, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mrs. Sharon M, On behalf of our entire team at Pestana Dom João II, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continuously improve in anticipating our Guests' needs, preferences, and expectations. We were glad to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your stay at Pestana Dom João II. At the same time, we would like to apologize for not fully meeting your expectations in some instances. We have shared your comments with our teams to ensure that improvements will be made. It was a pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to welcoming you again at Pestana Dom João II. Warm regards, The Team at Pestana Dom João II
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kerry62_13 wrote a review Jul 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom137 contributions60 helpful votes
Visited the hotel in 2019, and decided to return with family for a special occasion but booking the villas this time. I have listed a couple of good but mostly bad points below: There are some villas but site is made up of mostly apartments Site is well laid out to ensure overlooking into other properties is limited Two 2 bed/2 bathroom premium villas were booked, however it appears they are very limited, we both were allocated 1 bathroom apartments. Our request to be situated together was honoured with one downstairs and one upstairs apartment in the same block allocated Bedrooms are very small with the main clothes storage vin the living area, how strange Upstairs apartment balcony very small, in fact a struggle to fit 4 people Equipment in apartments inconsistent, lower apartment had no dish rack or sink plug to name a few Bathrooms in both apartments- the baths were shockingly bad making them unusable. Bathroom mirrors badly rusted A very disappointed child couldn’t use her bath products she specifically brought to enjoy Had to purchase bleach due to bad smell on arrival, appreciate apartments may not have been in use prior to our visit but this could be addressed prior to entry The daily towel change was welcome, especially as there was very little space for 4 people to hang towels to dry Maids worked tirelessly and when called on to sort an ant issue they acted quickly The outside table in Apt 5 is of a poor design and kept toppling causing drinks to be split on numerous occasions. This was reported but they missed the point thinking all that was required was to stable the base. After reporting 4 times I gave up. A kitchen leak and a faulty hob was reported and dealt with reasonably quickly The curtains in the living areas whilst heavy and decent quality were in need of a good clean with dust from the floor The main pool at the hotel is noisy yes with children who you expect it from but not groups of adults playing loud music. A idea would be to designate the villas pool as a quiet area so everybody is catered for. Based on the above if you do book please take the above into consideration. Also one important point I was advised by an outside source that the hotel is earmarked for demolishing, and to be rebuilt. The lack of investment until this happens will only see these villas: apartments deteriorate further, which is sad for people who save hard for a well earned holiday One last point we ate the ocean snack bar on our last day. Service was appalling, order was incorrect, bill was also incorrect. A burger at €14 was served wit crisps rather than the usual fries. Yet they had the nerve to add on service charge, needless to say we declined to pay this! It may be franchised out but the Pestana name is being used Just as well the people who travelled with me made my holiday!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: If you have anything specifically important to you. Check what you are getting when booking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Catarina Arede, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Mr. KERRY R, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your experience at Pestana Dom João II. Your opinion is crucial for us to improve how we work. We would like to sincerely apologize for not fully meeting your expectations and for any inconvenience this may have caused. We have shared your comments with our teams to ensure that improvements will be made. We would like to thank you for staying at Pestana Dom João II. We hope this experience has not tarnished your impression of our hotel permanently. We would be delighted to change it during your next stay. Kind regards, The Team at Pestana Dom João II
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$81 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pestana dom joao ii hotel alvor, pestana dom joao ii alvor
LOCATION
PortugalAlgarveFaro DistrictPortimaoAlvor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
257
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort?
Nearby attractions include Sunset Bar (0.7 miles), Mourisco Cocktail Bar (0.7 miles), and Praia dos Três Irmãos (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tasty Cuisine, Ristorante Pizzeria Napoli, and Indian Garden.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Alvor.
Does Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Portuguese.