We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Les Sables Noirs

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Les Sables Noirs
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 19: English reviews
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It is hard to call this a "hotel" unless you are used to suites in a hotel. Kitchen and living room along with a seperate bedroom and bathroom. Really great experience. We could see the beautiful black sand beach from our porch and enjoy the sunset. We had a wonderful sunset dinner on the terrance that will always be remembered.... More 

Helpful?
Thank neverhome482
ANTONELLA D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Les Sables Noirs, responded to this review

Dear neverhome482, thank you for your very nice advice. We are really happy that you appreciate Les Sables Noirs with all its facilities and that you enjoy your stay. We hope to see you again Sincerely Antonella More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our second consecutive year at this hotel and we hope to return next year too. Few hotels offer such great facilities for all, whether you want a good place for a young family -as did we- or a romantic getaway, as did others. I must say that Vulcano itself is probably a little too touristy in the summer... More 

Helpful?
Thank PippaGL
ANTONELLA D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Les Sables Noirs, responded to this review

Dear PippaGL, first of all I would like to thank you for your so kind words. We are really happy that you appreciate both your stay and happier to know that you will come back next year. We wait for you and all your wonderful family Antonella More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is well located, walking distance from the port and has it's own beach. Be aware that the hotel just serves breakfast and neither lunch nor snacks nor dinner. The room was OK but never worth of 4 stars with really cheap equipment inside. The rooms were clean though but one of them was smelling strange. In. 4 star... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christoph G
ANTONELLA D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Les Sables Noirs, responded to this review

Dear Christoph G, I thank you for the time you have dedicate to write your advice and we will take into consideration your notes. I would like only to underline that the room you booked is one of the not yet renewed but it is clean and good scented and that you are the first guest that does not appreciate... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a lovely little hotel with a great view. The location is also very close to the centre of Vulcano. Nice staff, they were always ready to help organise tours to the other islands. The rooms are also nice and spacious and it has a great terrace.

Helpful?
1 Thank dandymar
ANTONELLA D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Les Sables Noirs, responded to this review

Dear dandymar, thank you for your words! We are glad that you spent a beautiful vacation in our hotel and that you appreciate all our services. We hope you can come again Kind regards Antonella More 

Annecy, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is awesome, redecorated recently, very spacious room, by the black sand beach, perfect rooftop, perfect situation! Many services, nice people, I definitely recommend it, and I' m looking forward to going back there very soon!

Helpful?
Thank BlueFlowerBlue
ANTONELLA D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Les Sables Noirs, responded to this review

Dear BlueFlowerBlue, "Perfect" is really what best a guest can say and we are really proud to succed to render your stay so pleasant to recommend it. We are looking forward too to see you again Sincerely Antonella More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel located at the beach, with one of the best breakfest buffet in Italy- and the Espresso is a must, even if you do not drink coffee normaly- Try it! Thank you for a wonderful time and excellent service! And it seems that the owner speaks fluently every language- I've heard her speaking english, french, german... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ralf B
ANTONELLA D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Les Sables Noirs, responded to this review

Dear Ralf B thank you for your kind words, we are really happy you had a great time in our hotel and that you appreciate our breakfast buffet and.... our Espresso!! We hope to see you once again Sincerely Antonella More 

Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2016

If asked to prolong stay, was made believe and pushed and shuved around and treated as a I do not what!!! Never go there again!!!! the whole management had a laugh and I felt awful, Thanks, Just what you need when on Holiday!!!!!!!! And they were NOT very helpful, in fact they are what I call underclass people, the sort... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eve S
ANTONELLA D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Les Sables Noirs, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Eve S, I want to underline that you had no reservation in our hotel but in an other of Vulcano. This hotel called us, and we accept your stay only for one night because we are fully booked. Noboby "pushed and shuved around" , indeed we were very helpful even when most of our guests are strongly complained... More 

Zuerich
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2016

Lovely stay, hotel is right on the beach and away from the noisy clubs. There is no better-located hotel on the island. Staff was extremely helpful, be it the front-office staff, the bell captain/driver or the very smart barman!

Helpful?
1 Thank Geschaeftsmannnnn
ANTONELLA D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Les Sables Noirs, responded to this review

Dear Geschaeftsmannnn, I thank you on behalf of the Management and the staff for your beautiful words. We are happy that you appreciate your stay with us and we hope you can come back again Kind regards Antonella More 

Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

We spent 3 nights here in late June. The rooms were very large by European standards and have a nice kitchen/eating/living area as well as a balcony. The staff was very responsive and friendly, and the pool and beach area lovely. Breakfast, dinner and drinks were all very good.

Helpful?
Thank Janine R
ANTONELLA D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Les Sables Noirs, responded to this review

Dear Janine R, we are really glad you spent three beautiful days with us and you appreciate the hotel with all its services. Hopefully you can come again Sincerly Antonella More 

Paraty, RJ
Level Contributor
92 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

Wonderful hotel just by the beach and with roomy and well decorated rooms. Brand new furniture, air conditioning working super well, friendly staff and a top notch breakfeast....delicious and with plenty of choices and well selected ingredients. Wonderful drinks evening party to enjoy the Sunset. Only and big minus is the rigid hours around the swiming pool...which CLOSES at 13pm!!!!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patricia V
ANTONELLA D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Les Sables Noirs, responded to this review

Dear Patricia V thank you for the beautiful advice, we are really glad you appreciate our services and our hotel. We need to regulate the opening hours of the swimming - pool due to the children that can distrub our guests during their relaxing time, but none forbid to stay there relaxing even after the close. Hopefully you can come... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

341 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (121)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Other (62)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (150)
Viewed
Apartment (54)
Viewed
Beach (10)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (35)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isola Vulcano
0.9 mi away
Therasia Resort
Therasia Resort
#1 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mari del Sud Resort
Hotel Mari del Sud Resort
#4 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orsa Maggiore
Orsa Maggiore
#3 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#7 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eros Hotel
Eros Hotel
#5 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Mea
Hotel Mea
#4 of 33 in Lipari
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the spectacular location of the Aeolian Islands, which has been a UNESCO world heritage site since 2000, and directly overlooking the Baia del Ponente bay, lies the renovated four-star Resort Les Sables Noirs, just a few steps away from the sea. Having always been considered one of the most prestigious establishments in the archipelago, Les Sables Noirs combines natural beauty with top-class style and facilities. Choose to spend your holidays in a corner of paradise which is unique in the world. Enjoy every comfort you desire, as well as the beauty of a pristine sea and a still-active volcano. Les Sables Noirs Hotel is located directly on the black beach at Vulcano and is just 500 metres from the town centre, which is within easy walking distance. It enjoys a spectacular view of the other Aeolian islands, and also of a sunset whose colours are never quite the same each evening. This hotel has recently been renovated (using eco-friendly products) and boasts ​​mosaics in typical Aeolian colours. The 29 new rooms, which have a sitting room with kitchen area, as well as a garden and terrace, have been furnished with taste and elegance, and with every attention paid to detail, in order to make our guests feel completely "at home." The hotel also features 14 rooms located by the swimming pool. All are spacious and comfortable, with a veranda furnished in typical Aeolian style. Les Sables Noirs also offers holiday apartments. These new apartments each have a fully equipped kitchen area. All 43 rooms are equipped with air conditioning, WIFI, satellite TV, telephone, minibar, hairdryer and a safe. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Les Sables Noirs

Address: Via Porto di Ponente, 98050, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola Vulcano
Price Range: $132 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Sables Noirs 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Sables Noirs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Sables Noirs Hotel
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isola Vulcano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isola Vulcano
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay