We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Haus Am See

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Haus Am See
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 94: English reviews
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

There was really only one place to eat on this side of the lake - it was pleasant, OK food, and gorgeous outdoor dining view. The ferry stopped running at 4:30, so you have to drive 10 min. to "The Lahn," park and walk about 7-8 min. to a restaurant in Hallstatt. We didn't mind it too much, and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank AustinRose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I spent here one night at September as part of my trip to vienna. The location is perfect , you have a direct bus and ferry to Hallstatt. I liked the side of Obertraun more than the side of Hallstatt. The main attraction like Dachstein caves are very easy to reach from here. I liked travel at Hallstatt , and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabet L
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First of all, Obertraun and Hallsatatt is a middle up touristic place. These 2 places even not listed in hostelworld! For friendlier budget, please go to Salzburg, and make day trip to hallstatt. But, still, Obertraun is better price than Hallstatt, and it is really close to Hallstatt. There are lots of choices to go to hallstatt village, while there... More 

Helpful?
Thank soe_the_arts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The maneger's of the hotel is a couple... We come there from Israel to be a couple of nights near the lake... We order the most expensive room in the hotel. We arived one hour late and they left the key for us... In breakfast time he come to our table and start screem on us in the front from... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Milana G
mfjg1967, Inhaber at Hotel Haus Am See, responded to this review

First of all you did not make a reservation at our hotel. You were staying illegal in the hotel. Even booking.com did not give you the possibiliy ot make a review. The booking was made of a friend of you for 2 nights stayment - your friend did not sign your name that you will arrive - the key was... More 

Travelers are raving about these Obertraun hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Temperamental and rude unfriend Owner l!! The lake view was fabulous. Other than that, I won't recommend this hotel to anyone. Book this hotel only at your own risk. The owner will do everything to turn your stay into a nightmare.

Helpful?
2 Thank רון קלנר R
mfjg1967, Inhaber at Hotel Haus Am See, responded to this review

You were staying illegal in our Hotel - At the next day we were calling the Police as you did not sign your passport to the Hotel until 12 a.m. - you still try to give bad Reputation to the Hotel - you should be ashamed about yourself - you are a liar ! You can find our detailed answer... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this place online a few months ago and must admit was a little nervous about what to expect and I could not have been more pleased. This place is absolutely fantastic. We were going to your when we arrived today but enjoyed the hotel and the owners so much we stayed here today. The rooms are very clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karini72
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016

Meinrad and his wife were excellent hosts who went above and beyond to make our stay absolutely perfect. The rooms for my family were more than comfortable with breathtaking views! Breakfast was delicious with very attentive service. This hotel was by far the best hotel experience we had during our 3 week tour through Europe. I highly recommend this hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2016

Really glad we chose to stay at this hotel, and not over in the crowded & touristy Halstaat across the lake. Short walk from the Obertraun railway station. Recently renovated, so things were fresh and looked good and quite clean. Room had a balcony with table & chairs that faced the lake - nice! Good views. Comfortable bed - bathroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chaltom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

친구와 함께 여행하게되었습니다. 처음엔 할슈타트를 가려했는데 예약이 다 차서 가장 가까운 마을인 오버트라운으로 묵었어요~ 정말 탁월한 선택이었습니다^^ 방의 시설 자체가 굉장히 좋은것이 아니라, 깨끗하고 편안했습니다. 다만 풍경이 정말 최고였어요^^ 호수가 바로 내려다보이는 이 풍경~!! 할슈타트보다는 오버트라운을 추천해요~~ 한국 분들이 보통 짤츠에서 당일치기로 많이 오시는데 저는 그건 비추인거같아요~ 너무 시간이 많이 걸려요~~ 그리고 할슈타트는 정말 사람이 많아요~ 시끌벅적한 걸 좋아하는분이 아니하면... More 

Helpful?
Thank 856heejinl
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

This is a lovely hotel in a great location on the edge of the lake. The views from the lake facing rooms are stunning. The rooms are small with small shower 'pods' attached but they are clean and comfortable and entirely adequate and any shortfall in the room is more than made up for by the view. Breakfasts are the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dyrck
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

177 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (176)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obertraun
0.1 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Obertrauner Hof
Obertrauner Hof
#1 of 4 in Obertraun
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
1.4 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seehotel am Hallstattersee
Seehotel am Hallstattersee
#6 of 12 in Obertraun
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Hotel Haus Am See

Address: Obertraun 169 | 4831 Obertraun, Obertraun 4831, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Obertraun
Price Range: $84 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Haus Am See 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Haus Am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay