We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Heritage Hanmer Springs

Hotels.com$95*
View Deal
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Heritage Hanmer Springs
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

665 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 652: English reviews
Start your review of Heritage Hanmer Springs
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Beautiful Room. Spacious and well appointed. Comfortable. Nothing to criticise Have stayed here many times over many years, never disappointed. Hot Pools are right across the road. Cafes are adjacent. Good off street parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrackersNZ
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Although now looking a little dated, remains a well frequented professional feeling hotel. Buffet breakfast is always a winner. The regular rooms are a little smaller than most hotels, but this is an older building so is just design from that era.Book the larger rooms facing the garden if you want more space.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dougwilliams09
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed for two nights in a superior room. The room was well appointed but very small. Comfortable bed with poor quality pillows. Nice old world charm in the hotel itself. Beautiful gardens and right in the middle of town. Made the mistake of eating breakfast at Isobels, the hotel restaurant, on our second morning. Arrived for breakfast at 9.30. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane v
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Jane v Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast experience with us. This is definitely not the standard of service that we strive to achieve and we...

Havelock, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is a great hotel, in a great location, at a reasonable rate. They have wonderful new, luxurious Sleepyhead mattresses but sadly, the management are so concerned to keep them unstained that, according to staff, have been using plastic mattress covers for the past year. Nothing quite like waking up in the night covered in sweat because the bed can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank XJR1300X
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had booked a garden room for one night at the hotel but as our travel plans changed, we decided to stay for two. The reception staff went to great lengths to see if they could juggle bookings around for us to stay in the same room for two nights - this was appreciated. However, as it happened they were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank perthluv2travel
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear perthluv2travel Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Hanmer Springs in general. We are also delighted that Jonathan did such an excellent job in assisting you....

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had decided on a quick winter visit to Hanmer Springs and usually stay at local motels. Our room on the ground level was well equipped and had a good range of bathroom requisites. The bed was very comfortable & we wished we had been staying longer. We did not use the restaurant as a large wedding party was booked until...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank retep42
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear retep42 Thanks for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is conveniently situated in the centre of Hanmer springs which puts it in easy walking distance of the hot springs as well as the entire village of Hanmer springs. the on site restaurant has a good breakfast buffet + a la-carte options & a decent selection of lunch / dinner meals. the hotel is not ideal for business...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glen230
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear glen230 Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and we really appreciate your feedback about work stations in the rooms. We will take this onboard for future consideration. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope you had a good trip home. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie...

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely hotel in the wonderful thermal sings town of Hanmer Springs. The hotel itself is a blend of older and newer buildings and is tastefully decorated. The rooms have all amenities with the most comfortable beds I have ever come across in a hotel anywhere. There are several pillow choices too. The food is lovely and service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BerylNZ
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear BerylNZ Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. We are glad that you enjoyed your with us and in Hanmer Springs in general. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope you have a good trip home. Best...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Easy to find and very central with only a short 2-5 minute walk to shops, restaurants and of course the lovely hot pools. The venue is more a classic than modern but that doesn't mean you go without any comforts. Most amazing bed and pillows resulted in one of the best sleeps I've had in a long time. Rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bessieboo70
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear bessieboo70 Thanks for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Hanmer Springs in general. Thanks again for your feedback and hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager

Richmond, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel right in center of town with good parking facilities. Spacious room and bathroom and beautiful dining room, with couches and a roaring log fire! Staff are vey friendly and front desk staff were more than helpful when checking in. A really nice place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank magsnicholl
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear magsnicholl Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had such a memorable experience! Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (113)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
451 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
292 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant
Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to escape the pressure of the city and relax in the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. The Heritage Hanmer Springs is a landmark hotel in the heart of Hanmer Springs Village, just a short stroll from the shops and the famous Thermal Pools. Nestled in 9 hectares of beautifully landscaped gardens, the historic Hanmer Lodge building offers the perfect retreat from the stress of modern life. Relax and enjoy the peaceful outdoor setting that the hotel provides, including our tennis court and outdoor swimming pool (seasonal). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $96 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Heritage Hanmer Springs staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Metro Manila, Philippines
Ballarat Victoria Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Heritage Hanmer Springs staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Book the larger rooms facing the garden”
Dougwilliams09, 3 days ago | Read review
“in the main house - ground floor rear with lovely french windows onto a private courtyard”
perthluv2travel, 1 week ago | Read review
“the Garden suites are the better situated rooms.”
glen230, 1 week ago | Read review
“Try for one of the apartments”
mikepL6050XN, 1 week ago | Read review
“Website shows all the room options well.”
falc0family, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotels.com
$95* /night
View Deal
AMOMA$230
Expedia.com$98
Orbitz.com$95
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates