We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 49: English reviews
Mons, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

The Smithy was a welcome respite from the cold with its fireplace and lofty cabin atmosphere... The private BBQ patio was another welcome perk. The owners were the loveliest people I've met I New Zealand - they will surely take care of you!

Helpful?
Thank a5hess1
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

I've stayed at this campground a few times over the past decade or so and it fills that niche between basic DoC sites and fully manicured holiday parks. It has a reasonable selection of powered sites dotted among the trees and access is easy with a campervan or caravan. The showers are good (and included in the price) and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Docdubyer
Knysna South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016

Just back in South Africa having spent 2 weeks in March touring South Island. We stayed at many holiday parks but Alpine Holiday Apartments in Hamner springs was one of the nicest we stayed in. Cabins well furnished and comfortable, surroundings beautiful with lovely walks in the forest across the road. Well run, very welcoming and friendly managers.

Helpful?
Thank Derick C
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2016

Needing a one-night stopover between Lake Taupo and Motueka, we booked a stay in an 'apartment/cabin' at the Alpine Holiday Apartments and Campground. After checking-in and collecting our bedding we went and found our apartment and were very disappointed. The interior was like something from an ancient Butlins holiday park, it was quite dark and was very old and tired... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Toby S
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond. Yes the buildings are from the original forest camp, built a long time ago, but we have painted them and put in light coloured bedding to give it a lift. As to the lack of power points, what a shame you didn't come to the office and ask, there are power points... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2016

Beautiful location and nice and quiet at night. I wished we had booked for more than one night but I've already rebooked whilst there to return after Xmas. Very friendly staff, this place has everything we needed and we were more than happy with our 2 bedroom family room using the shared facilities. Very family friendly place and I felt... More 

Helpful?
Thank tash_nigel
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the lovely review. Greg and I think this place is special too. We are fortunate to have the friendly horses in the paddock beside us, as the children love them. Hope they stay. It makes up for the plain playground facilities. We look forward to your next journey to Hanmer and stay with us. Cheers Lee... More 

Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2016 via mobile

Very friendly staff who gave me all info I needed upon checking in, comftable and affordable in a lovely setting whether it's winter or summer also great for camping with lots of bbqs and nice and close to the village, great stay I'll be back

Helpful?
Thank Laura S
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to give a review, and we are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Safe and happy travels. Lee and Greg More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2016

I loved it here! We were only here for 1 night but I'd be happy to stay again. The forest setting is lovely but you should realise being in the forest means insects! The owners have been great as they've put up little posters explaining what the huge huhu beetles are and not to be scared of them - the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahrosewade
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write a review. especially the mention of appreciating the poster of the forest beetles and bugs, as some people have never seen them before. The scenery, and the bird life make it a lovely place though. thanks again, safe travels and happy journeys. cheers Lee and Greg More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2016

We are a Kiwi couple who travel on a tight budget and this motel met all our expectations for the monetary outlay. We had small unit with a double bed and two bunk beds, small kitchenette, dining table and old TV. There was a shared bathroom and toilet in a block of four similar units. Being in the grounds of... More 

Helpful?
Thank John T
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give a review. It is lovely to know you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for the correct explaination of our holiday Cabins. We are a Campground in the forest and provide a range of accommodation, and we try to cater for all travellers, from our delux Smithy stand alone home... More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2016

We stayed in an unpowered tent site for 3 nights here and it was the worst experience in our 2 weeks travel. Location is amazing and the price is very attractive. However, you get what you pay for. When I asked the hostess if the advertised "hot shower" (instead of a lukewarm water from a hot tub) was going to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank emi-gorsky
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay. You forgot to mention that the owner was VERY angry with you, when she had to come to the campground at 12.30 at night after receiving a complaint that there was a group of people having a midnight BBQ outside the main kitchen area and had all the lights... More 

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2016 via mobile

The campground is well located, only a few minutes from hanmer springs by car. The price is also great, 11pp for a tent site! When we arrived the staff seemed friendly and we asked to have friends visit us, which was also ok. She said they have to be gone at 11pm. But then we were located at the end... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank paulanantje
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for you comment, you did not include that you booked in on a wet afternoon for 2 people to sleep in your little car,and that the people with you in a van were not staying here, only visiting with you until 11pm. When I asked why you couldn't visit with them as we have a policy for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
1.4 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
#10 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
1.3 mi away
Greenacres Chalets And Apartments
Greenacres Chalets And Apartment...
#18 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
1.3 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground

Address: 200 Jollies Pass Road | 9 Fowlers Lane, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $41 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay