We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hanmer Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hanmer Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 104: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

I've stated at a huge amount of backpackers but none have come close to this quality - beds were fully made, heater and blankets provided in the cupboard, massage chair, books, board games and a fully equipped kitchen. Owners were lovely and the whole vibe was super relaxed and fun. Bathroom was top notch. Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016 via mobile

Hanmer Backpackers is run by a pleasant Japanese woman and sleeps 22. When we were there, there were 12. The first night a group of 70+ were the most social ones around. This was on a Friday. Saturday had a younger crowd, however, the staff became rather bitter when the volume of the music was slightly raised at 1930 (regardless... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bertie B
HanmerBP, Manager at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review

Bit disappointing with your review there, yet thank you for taking the time to do so. We can always learn from feedback. In our defense there are a couple of things we would like to point out. On the contrary to the title we actually actively encourage an sociable environment. We strife to create an comfortable place for everybody and... More 

Christchurch
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2016 via mobile

We had a good experience and Tristan is quite a carector, well traveled. The rooms are clean and a good sized and well equipped kitchen. We are staying there again at the end of the month. You can see all the main street from the backpacers so every thing is close.

Helpful?
Thank michael H
HanmerBP, Manager at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for you nice feedback. It was great having you again last week and we hope we can welcome you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Tristan More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2016

Thanks Tristan for a fabulous stay... you are a delight !!! We had a private room in the main house with shared bathroom... and we had two bathrooms to choose from, which was great. Tristan the owner sat with us and chatted for a while which was nice. We had a table and chairs outside our room so after a... More 

Helpful?
Thank JazzyPerth
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks you for the great feedback. It was a pleasure to have you here and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards, Tristan and Yoko More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2016

It`s very cozy. I loved the style of the house, like a chalet. The staff members were very friendly. Facilities were clean and they even have a massage chair. The kitchen is well-equipped and there is a nice bbq spot. It`s close to everything because Hanmer Spring is quite small. I would stay again, it`s one of the best backbackers... More 

Helpful?
Thank Webca
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We look forward to seeing you again. Tristan and Yoko More 

Bristol, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2016

Nice little hostel in town. Very small but clean and friendly service. The wood burning stove kept the place nice and toasty. Nice lounge area with lots of books. Beds were comfortable. They also had some fresh picked blackberries and lots of spices available to everyone in the kitchen. If your looking for a lively backpackers this is not the... More 

Helpful?
Thank William L
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our little hostel. Your feedback matches with our management style. We focus on the hostel being sociable, friendly and a comfortable place to relax, yet, indeed, we are definitely not a "party backpackers". Enjoy your travels. Tristan and Yoko More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2016 via mobile

Should not be in hostel business. We had 4 people paying for a room and 2 guests visited us. They were to camp that night, but were just hanging out (not drinking at all) in our room showing videos and photos from the trail we had recently hiked. Sure, they over extended their welcome despite us telling them they were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review

To avoid going over the many half truths and complete lies in your review we sum it up as follows: Our hostel, and backpacking in general, is based on honesty and respect, both were lacking in your group and you were dealt with accordingly. Hostel operators do inform other hostels about free loading "guests". A lesson learned... More 

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2016

It was an absolute pleasure staying here! The hosts were very friendly and accommodating. I will happily stay here again in the future and recommend to any all of my friends who are looking for a friendly atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank ProbablyTony
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your friendly review! More 

Seddon, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2016

This was a very average place.The room was good and the beds were comfortable but there were a lot of rules. One couple in our group even had their booking cancelled on the morning of their stay with no warning because they had changed their credit card.

Helpful?
Thank TrevorJohns
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. There are some (common sense) rules in the hostel to ensure everybody has a comfortable stay, we never had any negative feedback about them, but will keep it in mind. We do require valid credit details to secure a booking. If a card has been voided we... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2016

Tristan the host was most welcoming. There's some nice touches about this place - milk for coffee, shared food for all when left by others, lovely rooms, your washing is done for free and a very homely ski lodge feel to the place. All these details made it the best hostel we stayed at in NZ for a very reasonable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pedr0Arvy
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for this very nice review. Positive feedback always makes me happy. Cheers - Tristan More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kakapo Lodge YHA
Kakapo Lodge YHA
#3 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jack in the Green Backpackers
Jack in the Green Backpackers
#7 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Greenacres Chalets And Apartments
Greenacres Chalets And Apartment...
#18 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hanmer Backpackers is the most centrally located hostel in beautiful Hanmer Springs. Our hostel is a small, cozy, friendly and warm Swiss chalet style backpackers providing excellent accommodation and service at low prices. We are the most affordable accommodation provider in Hanmer Springs for the independent traveller. The main attraction in Hanmer Springs are the Thermal Pools, which are located a 3-4 minute walk from our hostel! But there's more, Hanmer Springs is a fabulous place for mountain biking, hiking / tramping, skiing, rafting, bungee jumping, quad biking, golf, fishing, shopping and many more things. Our kitchen is well stocked with all the essential cooking equipment, fridges / freezers, free tea, plunger coffee, instant coffee, hot chocolate, milk for the hot drinks and a complete spice rack. There is a nice outside patio with comfortable garden furniture and a gas BBQ + utensils. The lounge has some comfy sofas, extensive book exchange, board games, guitar and a massage chair to take care of your sore muscles after a day full of activities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hanmer Backpackers

Address: 41 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $41 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanmer Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hanmer Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay