We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Oakwood Resort

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Oakwood Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 312: English reviews
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the resort July 22/23 for a family wedding. I had previously only visited once for dinner many, many years ago. I wasn't sure what to expect as I had read some reviews, and they are mixed, but as always kept an open mind. We checked in at 3pm, along with MANY other people. It was clearly a... More 

Helpful?
Thank girlwantstotravel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Been here a couple of times now. Seem to keep coming back, we love it here. Staff, food and grounds are great. The beach is just a short walk away. The sunset every night is a must. The rooms are spacious and clean.

Helpful?
Thank Jamie R
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have stayed many times at the Oakwood Resort over the years. We love the grounds and the access to the great Grand Bend beach. Very nice large dining room and a cozy pub with a great outdoor patio overlooking the golf course. A really great breakfast buffet. The rooms are rustic and, unfortunately, getting a little tired...

Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We went with three couples and 4 small kids. The common area such as lobby, eating area (restaurant?!) were all from a different era, but generally well kept. The rooms were okay at best. Not so clean. The kids really enjoyed the buffet dinner and breakfast, but the bills seemed high for what was offered. We found the bar/pub much... More 

Helpful?
Thank nataliaritchie
Ancaster
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Oakwood has been around forever and it has that feel. The grounds are well kept and the rooms are iconic Canadian lakeside stuff. The staff are well versed in hospitality. Their main beach is not as well groomed as it could be but Grand Bend beach is a small hike away. The food was well intentioned albeit for $20 for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Todd C
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your reveiw, we appreciate the feedback. It's great to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay, we will be sure to work on that wow factor for when you come visit again! More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

wow we went here on a tuesday were suppose to leave on thursday stayed an extra day they were super accomidating.. anything we needed was brought to us asap needed a light bulb it was brought in and put in for us pool was great hot tub great spa was amazing they now what there doing there very friendly food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen M
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay and took advantage of all the great options we have here at Oakwood Resort. More 

Level Contributor
89 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Second stay here. Nice surroundings off main road but seem secluded in private residential area also. Nice quieter beach away from main beach in Grand Bend. Golfing and spa also on site. Ate at the Grille, not so good. Would recommend eating elsewhere off property.

Helpful?
Thank Kelley L
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback and I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

i couldnt ask for a better bunch of staff im disabled and they went beyond their scopes to make my stay a wonderful time......they found me a stool to get into bed a bath chair a sharps container for my insulin needles even the pro shop lent us a golf cart so i could go were i couldnt walk they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tammy S
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's Grand Bend I get it! But we could have stayed at one of the downtown dumps for far less and had the same experience. Rooms were clean but worn and dated. Food was terrible at the pub and the management couldn't wait to chase tables out on a Saturday night. Very disappointed with all aspects of our stay, The... More 

Helpful?
Thank scott1772016
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate the feedback and I am sorry you feel you did not get good value for your money. At Oakwood Resort we offer a full experience including golf, spa, dining and many other activities more than just the beach and we encourage all of our guests to take full advantage of the many... More 

Travelers are raving about these Grand Bend hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Let me start by staff the staff here was exceptionally friendly, they alone made the stay bearable. Everyone I encountered had a wonderful attitude which will take this property a long way if they bother to upgrade their standards. I came for a group conference and as a frequent traveler this has to be one of the worst properties I've... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Lydia H
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and your concerns. At Oakwood we always strive to provide all of our guests clean, comfortable accommodations and I am sorry to hear we fell short of this goal with your stay. We do work very hard to keep the Resort in great shape both aesthetically and structurally and will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Bend
7.5 mi away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Bayfield
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
6.5 mi away
Brentwood on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Grand Bend
5.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
24.9 mi away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#2 of 9 in Goderich
5.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Gregory Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oakwood Resort is a family owned and operated resort located in Grand Bend Ontario. The resort is nestled within a natural setting featuring large mature trees and plenty of green space all just steps away from the beautiful white sand beaches of Lake Huron. With 126 rooms offering a variety of accommodation options including deluxe rooms, suites and cottages. We are the ideal location for a family getaway, a corporate retreat or just a weekend away for two. We also offer a wide range of things to do on site including an eighteen-hole golf course, relaxing spa, dining room and pub, indoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, tennis courts, fitness center, access to our private beach, children's play area and ten thousand square feet of banquet and conference space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oakwood Resort

Address: 70671 Bluewater Highway, Grand Bend, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Lambton Shores > Grand Bend
Price Range: $169 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakwood Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Oakwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Hotel Grand Bend
Oakwood Hotel Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay