We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I checked in to room 313 last night. first think I noticed was the outside light fixture was hanging by the electrical wiring. Walked in to a really stained dirty carpet, the toilet was full of iron stains, I found the bed and the pillows hard (others may not) making it difficult to get a good nights sleep. The windows... More 

Helpful?
Thank deek057
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The night staff were very friendly and helpful. But there was no hot water in the motel until the mourning also the bathroom was disgustingly dirty, and the floors were very dirty and dusty. When we checked out in the morning the older lady on the front desk wasn't very nice and they didn't even offer a discount for not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review

Dear Wendy B, Please accept my sincere apologies, we did in fact have a mishap which caused our hot water to be down for a few hours. I am sorry the situation was not handled in a more professional manner and I want to assure you that I will share your concerns with the front desk agent that served you.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Port Hawkesbury hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very small renovated room, was basic, and okay but.... When the next room occupant came in we could follow their conversation. Thankfully they went to bed early. Sometime thru the night a mouse crawled inside the wall and woke us up scratching

Helpful?
Thank Gil S
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review

Dear Gil S, I am sorry to hear that you did not sleep well. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, I do want to assure you that we have a very stringent pest control policy in place through a very reputable company. Kind regards, More 

Perth-Andover, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our room was around back, facing the water. It is an older property, but the room was spacious, everything worked and, most importantly, it was clean and the bed was so comfortable. The staff are super friendly and down-to-earth. The room was very quiet and we both slept so well. We had supper here one night, since they readily informed... More 

Helpful?
Thank duchess2686
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review

Dear duchess2686, Happy belated birthday! Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay, we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, More 

Cerritos, California
Level Contributor
484 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

As with other travelers who have reviewed this motel, we arrived after a long drive and we were ready to crash for the evening. A traveler we met the day before told us that, although this is an older place, it was much better than other places in the area. As noted, they are renovating. We were given a room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review

Dear Barbara F, Thank you for taking the time review your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback. Safe travels. Kind regards, More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

We arrived into Port Hawkesbury on a very rainy evening. Having been on the road for some time we were more than ready to stop for the night. The first hotel we saw was sold out and when I asked if there was any where else to stay they suggested the Hearthstone Inn. We checked Trip Advisor (because that's what... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review

Dear Susan S, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We have been working diligently over the past 6 months to ensure that our guests all have a great experience. We have some great new team members in place who take pride in the property, we have completed some much needed renovations and have... More 

Chemainus, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

We found the Inn very acceptable for an overnight stay. There were no.perks such as a breakfast which was disappointing but there was pretty good Internet. The staff were friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. So if you do not mind having to pay for breakfast and a bit higher rate compared to Hearthstone Inn, Sydney go and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bev K
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review

Dear Bev K, Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay. We appreciate your business and hope to see you at the Hearthstone Inn again in the near future. Kind regards, More 

Port Hastings, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

This motel also owns the Puffin across the street, which is where they put us. Toilet not attached to the floor properly, the painted tub is peeling and rusty drain. Rust spots in sink, drips of 'something' on top of toilet lid, brown streaks down the front of the tub. Bed on rollers, so when you sit up in bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank milespg2016
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review

Dear milespg2016, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are currently undergoing many improvements to the property and we hope you have an opportunity to try our product again in the near future. Once again, please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations. Kind regards, More 

Truro, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2016

This. hotel is nothing fancy but they have made an effort to update the decor and it is spotlessly clean. The staff were friendly and polite. The attached restaurant has excellent food that is reasonably priced. They have hands down the best battered haddock I have every had

Helpful?
Thank 1kagc
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review

Dear 1kagc, Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay. It is great to read that our fabulous housekeeping and culinary teams efforts are being recognized. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, More 

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2016

I will never stay here again and would advise others to avoid this business. One reception staff member was abrupt, rude and outright lied to me and other members of our party as we checked in. The receptionist the following day was polite and sympathetic to our concerns. The rooms we were given were not well kept. The only source... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Charlene M
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte M, Once again thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We understand your frustration and we are currently in the process of renovating to serve you better. Kind regards, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hawkesbury
1.7 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
65.8 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
43.7 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Dundee Resort & Golf Club
50.5 mi away
Margaree Riverview Inn
Margaree Riverview Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Forks
3.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
66.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Known as the jewel of Canada, Cape Breton Island is one of the world's most visited spots. Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, located at the entrance to the island, is the perfect place to start your adventure in this scenic Atlantic Canada masterpiece. Our newly-renovated hotel features 26 smoke-free guest rooms and a friendly staff dedicated to providing you a warm Maritime welcome. With tastefully decorated queen and king bed rooms featuring all the comforts of home, the Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury is the answer to your travelling needs. Enjoy the Convenience of Free Wi-Fi & Our On-Site Restaurant Whether you are taking the family on vacation or visiting on business, we offer a worry-free stay and a restful night's sleep. You will enjoy free Wi-Fi access, free in-room coffee, sleep-enhancing mattresses, complimentary morning newspaper and a range of other sought-after amenities. Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury boasts the added convenience of an on-site restaurant and lounge. If you are in town for a conference at the Port Hawkesbury Civic Centre or planning to check out some of the award-winning golf courses on the island, come home to the Hearthstone Inn. We will cater to your every need. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury

Address: 388 Highway 4, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia B9A 1M5, Canada (Formerly known as the Port Hawkesbury Motel)
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hawkesbury
Price Range: $104 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury Nova Scotia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay