We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Steam Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mallaig
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Steam Inn
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived late on a cold, rainy night after a very long train journey. The late arrival time was no problem, the bar maid showed us to our room and what we found was such a delight. A warm room with a big, very comfortable bed. And after a long good sleep there was milk and cereals for breakfast, although... More 

Helpful?
Thank seeblick_12
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
302 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was not a place with a terrific view but it did indeed have very good food. Service was hurried but efficient and accurate. Good place for lunch off the train and worth trying if you have a leisurely evening stay. We had mussels and specials which were terrific. Sticky Toffee pudding was okay.

Helpful?
Thank Lynn J
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

No matter which of these is your priority, you certainly won't come away from The Steam Inn disappointed. No matter how often I visit this first class establishment, I never find fault; whether it be with meals, drinks, accommodation or anything else. In fact I can thoroughly recommend The Steam Inn to ANYONE with total confidence. That is why I... More 

Helpful?
Thank David L
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016

Stayed in room 2 with a sea view, great hot shower and appreciated the cocopops and cafetiere in the morning. Very clean and nice service all round, thanks! As with a lot of small old hotels, sound proofing isn't great but ear plugs are provided so I would say that this is still a very good deal.

Helpful?
Thank prego u
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

Friendly welcome from all staff we met. We also ate in the restaurant and food was excellent. Room lovely, no breakfast as such but there is a fridge in the room with fresh milk and they leave cereal and tea/coffee so that's enough and well priced! Definitely recommend this to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank MrsJoMo
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

Booked several rooms for a family get together. Rooms were spotless and had everything needed, hair dryer, toiletries, shower cap, plenty of tea and coffee including a cafetiere and ground coffee. Each room had a fridge a pint of of fresh milk and a box of cereal each. although we did't bother with the cereal as plenty of places nearby... More 

Helpful?
Thank Breaksaway_10
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

We arrived in Mallaig after the last ferry with no accommodation booked. We walked in and what a surprise - from the outside a quite bright green painted traditional looking pub, inside was a quite contemporary very welcoming restaurant and bar. We were offered a double room for £60 with no breakfast. It was spotlessly clean, a very good size,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jfretwell
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016

Stayed here recently, but as others have mentioned, no breakfast. I also didn't notice this when booking, but it really isn't an issue, especially considering the £30 price charged. Not wheelchair accessible, as all accom is round the back of the hotel and upstairs. The only way to get to it is via a door behind a sofa in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maria W
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2016

Having booked for three nights and been told on the phone that they took dogs (obviously by an untrained member of staff) we stayed one night with our dog and then were thrown out by a very rude and unreasonable manageress who seemed to be blaming us for something that was entirely their fault. This could have really ruined our... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank capricorn575
steaminnsteph, Manager at The Steam Inn, responded to this review

We are a dog friendly establishment and welcome pets into the bar - not in the bedrooms. This was explained to you on arrival, however there seemed to have been some confusion. Since you had taken your dog, and had booked for 3 nights, we let the dog stay. After hearing noise from your room and knowing you were out... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015 via mobile

Clean, comfortable, modern with en suite facilities in every room, an excellent place to stay in Mallaig. I've stayed here many times, and never had ANY form of complaint. The staff are all wonderful; friendly , and helpful to a fault. Convenient for rail, bus and ferry alike, and in easy walking distance of everywhere in Mallaig. Rooms ARE limited,... More 

Helpful?
Thank David L
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallaig
0.0 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mallaig
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
4.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
3.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#14 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Steam Inn

Address: Davies Brae, Mallaig PH41 4PU, Mallaig, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Steam Inn Mallaig, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing