We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Queen's Head

View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 64: English reviews
Start your review of The Queen's Head
 Click to rate
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in October 2016 when the new owners took over and 7 months later in May 2017 returned to see how things were going. Firstly, we noticed the flower beds in the rear patio garden were devoid of plants save for a gooseberry plant and a lemon plant in the final stages of dying of thirst. The radiator...

Thank Jeffw661
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 4, 2017

We came here as a small group of work colleagues for lunch, one of our number having recommended it. It was not very busy that day and so we were able to occupy a quiet corner and chat. We chose a variety of starters, main courses and puddings. I had a chicken dish with potatoes, carrots and broccoli, all well...

1Thank kittyginger
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 7, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night, newly decorated and very well thought out. Everything you would expect in a room plus a smart TV which is great for entertainment. Breakfast good, lunch the next day great, service friendly overall would stay again

1Thank foodid111555
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 6, 2016

This traditional British country pub has bags of character inside and out. We stayed the night, the room was clean, nicely decorated and spacious. The full English breakfast couldn't be faulted, they'd even gone to the trouble of sourcing double yolked eggs! The staff and manageress were friendly and helpful. There was a good evening menu at reasonable prices: my...

Thank Jeffw661
Reviewed October 4, 2016

Quite frankly, the whole experience was extremely disappointing. Ordered some drinks and crisps as we were told the food would be 'at least half an hour'. They then had run out of crisps. Waited an hour for our food (nothing too fancy, Sunday roasts and a couple of jacket potatoes). The plates were very hot (shame the food wasn't) and...

Thank Stephen B
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 28, 2016

We arrived on a weekday evening and were served a decent hot meal in the bar. The atmosphere in the bar was friendly and calm: local people dropping by, chatting, no intrusive music or TV - it made us think Broadchalke would be a nice place to live, where people know and talk to each other and to passing strangers...

Thank JemnAnne
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

I have read previous reviews and can only conclude they are reviewing a different establishment than rye one I visited. The entrance to the pub smelled of stale beer and was quite disgusting. The bar area was neither clean nor presentable. The table was sticky with beer/drink. Ordered dinner and it too was disappointing. Very basic with small portions and...

3Thank Mary M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 7, 2016

My wife & I visited this pub recently for food, We were greeted by friendly staff & made to feel very welcome. I ate the Cajun chicken, which was absolutely delicious & my wife has not stopped raving about the vegetable lasagne that she had. The portion were a good size & the food was fresh & hot. Will definitely...

Thank 411tom71
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 25, 2016

The customer service was poor. The rooms were dirty. stained duvet, uncomfortable bed with metal spring sticking out, paint peeling everywhere, bathroom fittings shabby. The bar was so sticky and the beer mats dripping it was a job to peel a glass off the bar. The selection of wine was pitiful. The outside seating areas was littered with cigarette butts....

1Thank Suzi705
Elizabeth413, Manager at The Queen's Head, responded to this review

Hello Suzi, We are deeply sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, we have recently taken over and have plans for improvement. We understand the garden is a problem, we have hired a local gardener who is currently developing it. We also understand the bar is a problem, it is not because it is unclean, just that the varnish...

Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

A really nice premise set in very pleasant surroundings. The accommodation comprises a number of individual apartments overlooking the courtyard garden at the rear of the pub. Adequately furnished, our room (number 3) was very clean and tidy, my only 'complaint' being the shower was lukewarm on the two occasions I used it. We enjoyed the atmosphere in the bar...

Thank Jason K
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All Traveler Photos (5)
Dining (4)
Other (1)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broad Chalke
5.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
9.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
262 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
748 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
128 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lodge Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question


  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Queen's Head

Address: The Queens Head 1 North Street, Broad Chalke SP5 5EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Broad Chalke
Price Range: $89 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queen's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Queen's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queen's Head Broad Chalke, Wiltshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Queen's Head staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I am reviewing the restaurant, not the room(s).”
NormandyCot, Apr 8, 2016 | Read review
“Bring your dog!”
lesleyj453, Jan 24, 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in downstairs room which was very convenient !”
lin94_11, Jun 23, 2015 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms are probably a bit lighter - the ones downstairs are a wee bit dark.”
Gingerb0ris, Apr 27, 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms are within the courtyard and not in the pub/hotel itself. This makes them all fairly quiet. Be aware that the smoking area where people naturally talk is adjacent to the rooms. When the pub closes all you will hear is the owls.”
Grimrecruiter, Feb 20, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
$97* /night
View Deal
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates