We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Queen's Head

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Queen\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 58: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have read previous reviews and can only conclude they are reviewing a different establishment than rye one I visited. The entrance to the pub smelled of stale beer and was quite disgusting. The bar area was neither clean nor presentable. The table was sticky with beer/drink. Ordered dinner and it too was disappointing. Very basic with small portions and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife & I visited this pub recently for food, We were greeted by friendly staff & made to feel very welcome. I ate the Cajun chicken, which was absolutely delicious & my wife has not stopped raving about the vegetable lasagne that she had. The portion were a good size & the food was fresh & hot. Will definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank 411tom71
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The customer service was poor. The rooms were dirty. stained duvet, uncomfortable bed with metal spring sticking out, paint peeling everywhere, bathroom fittings shabby. The bar was so sticky and the beer mats dripping it was a job to peel a glass off the bar. The selection of wine was pitiful. The outside seating areas was littered with cigarette butts.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suzi705
Elizabeth413, Manager at The Queen's Head, responded to this review

Hello Suzi, We are deeply sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, we have recently taken over and have plans for improvement. We understand the garden is a problem, we have hired a local gardener who is currently developing it. We also understand the bar is a problem, it is not because it is unclean, just that the varnish... More 

Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

A really nice premise set in very pleasant surroundings. The accommodation comprises a number of individual apartments overlooking the courtyard garden at the rear of the pub. Adequately furnished, our room (number 3) was very clean and tidy, my only 'complaint' being the shower was lukewarm on the two occasions I used it. We enjoyed the atmosphere in the bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason K
Mountsorrel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016

Have visited this lovely place several times for lunch recently and have had a great time on each occasion. The staff are friendly and the menu is amazingly extensive but since trying the Bubble & Squeak (topped with meat and accompanied by a tasty relish) for £7.95 I have not tried anything else - it's sublime - and become my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Graham D
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

Came here for a lovely afternoon drink and some lunch after hearing great things about the place, but in all honestly it is the worst pub experience I have ever had. Staff were rude to my friend saying she had no manners when she says please and thank you at all time and then had the audacity to mumble an... More 

Helpful?
Thank _rach_2794
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2016

Everyone was very friendly and helpful and our room was bright and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary water and toiletries in the bathroom. After a country-side walk in the Chalke Valley the bar and the dining room provided a cosy and welcoming atmosphere. The chef served an excellent choice of food that was delicious and well presented... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AMcBn
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile

Family lunch - excellent food, good service. Very friendly good menu choices, specials board, sandwiches and full menu. Couldn't want more! My husband tried a new item on the menu and was asked for his opinion. The curry was certainly one he would have again Bar staff friendly and helpful. Will certainly go back again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret H
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016

We attended a cricket veterans reunion dinner which was excellent – a three course meal to include tea or coffee all for £20 per head. The food was beautifully presented with generous portions. I had Garlic Ciabatta topped with buffalo mozzarella, tomato and pine nuts for starters, followed by Beer Battered Haddock Fillet with Chips, mixed leaves and tartar sauce... More 

Helpful?
Thank NormandyCot
Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2016

We had a Champagne afternoon tea for two at the Queens Head which was dissapointing.The tea was served lukewarm and there was only enough sandwhiches really for one person and contrary to the other reviews we read we were not offered any more.

Helpful?
Thank 2TheRevue
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broad Chalke
5.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
7.0 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 15 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 15 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 15 in Salisbury
3.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
6.8 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#5 of 15 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 stars 765 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Queen's Head

Address: The Queens Head 1 North Street, Broad Chalke SP5 5EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Broad Chalke
Price Range: $111 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queen's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Queen's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queen's Head Broad Chalke, Wiltshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay