We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Huntsman Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Greenfield Road, Holmfirth HD9 3XF, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Huntsman Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

417 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 417: English reviews
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Went here last week with my family, as we have previously really enjoy it. But the menu had changed this time, so we decide we wanted a beef sandwich with chips. Well lets just say it was still mooing... It was that raw it was to hard to chew and felt like I was eating a rubber band (I like... More 

Helpful?
Thank rduncombe123
scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a couple of days in Holmfirth to see last of the summer wine country, not a huge fan of the show ( hubby is ) but was pleasantly surprised. Hotel out of town so just country sounds and smells. Food was lovely and plentiful. Only complaint I have is the pillows are like rocks. But all in all would... More 

Helpful?
Thank missmarple51
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We visited the pub as had previously had a good experience. Booked a table as was taking disabled parent in a wheelchair. On arrival the table was perfectly located to allow for the wheelchair, Katie assisted getting us settled. Drinks were ordered and then food, all within 10 minutes of us being settled. The food was exceptional, our dad had... More 

Helpful?
Thank HP0785
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Its a very long downhill walk to Holmfirth so if you contemplate going into town you must take your car. That's the only downside! The rooms are very nice for the price. The bar has good beer and a good atmosphere too. The evening meals are good - no complaints from us four guys and the breakfast is big and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony P
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It pains me to say it but this restaurant may look picturesque but my goodness, the food! I was going to say it was distinctly average but that would give average food a bad name. I have just had a family meal that was distinctly underwhelming, bland, straight out of the freezer. If it wasn't once frozen they did an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dogsbody67
Stewie79, General Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for this feedback which you have chosen to share both on here and on Facebook despite not letting any of our team know on the three occasions they asked was everything alright, had you let us known your displeasure at the time then I'm sure we could have rectified it by not charging you for food you were not... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I chose the Wine Dine & Duvet offer, which we found to be a perfect choice The room was spotless and we were welcomed by pleasant and helpful staff the meals were excellent and plenty to choose from, its our first time in the area and we will be back hope they will have a room for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank musicol2016
Lincoln
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We only stayed for one night here while visiting Holmfirth. The pub is slightly outside the town and the views are amazing. The only sound outside came from the sheep in the neighbouring field. There is a lovely beer garden but unfortunately the weather was not good enough for us to enjoy it. We had a friendly welcome and were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Finedining1
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went as a family trip this Sunday. We first of all waited over an hour to be served food, not been told before hand of any delay. Then when the food did turn up they only brought out 3 out of 4 of the dishes. We then had to ask another member of staff if the other main course... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Stewie79, General Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this review

Hi I'm really glad you thought the food was good and I apologise if the service wasn't up to our usual high standards, we are in the process of training a lot of new team members for the busy summer season so this may have been the cause. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great people and very welcoming. Lovely caring attitude for father's day. Food steak not as good as usual because ordered medium rare. But please please sort out squeaky door when we are next to kitchen

Helpful?
Thank Nicola J
Poitiers, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016

We have stayed at the Huntsman once or twice each year for a night or two over the last few years. We've experienced Blizzards and really hot weather (sometimes on the same day) but we have always found the staff to be friendly and welcoming. Since Stewart and Cat took over the management 2 or 3 years ago there has... More 

Helpful?
Thank jmcp1950
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
1.3 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
4.0 of 5 stars 553 reviews
1.8 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
1.3 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#4 of 12 in Holmfirth
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coddy's Farm
Coddy's Farm
#2 of 12 in Holmfirth
5.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Huntsman Inn

Address: Greenfield Road, Holmfirth HD9 3XF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Price Range: $81 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Huntsman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntsman Hotel Holmfirth
The Huntsman Inn Holmfirth, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay