We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 72: English reviews
Start your review of Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore
 Click to rate
Godalming, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile

As a family we went there recently on a Saturday night and were initially somewhat pressurised from the start to place our order. Starters were all fair. We ordered a bottle of Rioja which we discovered on its arrival was a young wine and very expensive at £19 ..... this wasn't helped by an inadequate description on the wine list....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlesT924
publandloard, Owner at Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore, responded to this review

Dear Charles, I am sorry that you felt pressured into placing your order, this is never our intent! We do pay a bit more than average for our wines as we buy them locally from Hennings wines – I do like to support local business, buying local where we can – this said, I have never had a complaint about...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

Went here for a friend's birthday. We had a fab section to ourselves. Good wines and beers and great bar staff. Never had to wait long to be served. The food was cooked fresh from scratch for the buffet, nice change from frozen packet deep fried rubbish other places serve. Main menu looked good and venue was welcoming. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
publandloard, Owner at Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and we would love to welcome you again.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 8, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner at the beginning of October whilst working away. Thankfully we were only here for 2 days, this place is horrendous!!! It looks so pretty from the outside however as we were shown into our room ( number 4 on the bottom floor) we were hit with a smell of mould and damp, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
publandloard, Owner at Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore, responded to this review

Dear Amanda, I am very sorry that you had issues with the room that you stayed in at The Squirrel and that it`s taken some time to reply – I wanted to address the problems raised before replying to your review. 1. Room number 4 has only just been redecorated – the smell is new paint and does not smell...

Milford, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 18, 2016

We visited on Friday evening no problem getting in lots of empty tables. Only 2 girls left to run the pub and restaurant. Service was fine drinks served and order taken. Had to ask 3 times a jug of water probably because the bar was busy. Food was excellent I had probably the best burger in the area my wife...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martyn R
publandloard, Owner at Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore, responded to this review

Hello Martyn, Thank you for your review and your honesty with regards to the drinks! You are right, we have had a couple of staffing problems that I am dealing with and I am finding it hard to split my time at the moment, for your info, I am not the manager and the manager usually works on Friday nights...

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 5, 2016

I only booked in at the Squirrel Inn, Hurtmore for three nights, because all the rest of Hotels/B&B in Godalming were fully booked from about a month ago, As we were attending and helping with a wedding reception in Godalming, After a long day we were looking forward to have a good nights sleep, That was not to be we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 12, 2016

My wife and I just spent five nights at the inn. The decor is good in the main inn and the cottage rooms were very old but nice. We had the continental breakfast which was good. The staff were very helpful especially after complaining about suffering three nights of misery with someone in an upstairs room walking up and down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterHD45HQ
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 8, 2016

Friday 5th August 2016. We attended Craig & Vanessa's Wedding Breakfast here. Lovely Country Inn, The Setting, Staff ,Service & Food > Excellent. (Best Cheese Board I've had in a Long Time) Thanks to all . Would recommend, Wished we lived closer. Kind Regards Joan & Steve Tranter

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joan t
South West England, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 4, 2016

Very good business stop-over - friendly bar, good rooms, WIFI, everything you would expect plus superb garden area. Excellent venison cooked by Chris (Michelin trained) plus friendly welcome from Charlie, Toby and team. Would recommend....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HA_DAN
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 14, 2016

Needed to be in Guildford a couple of days so decided to stay here as it looked very nice. The reception guy was brilliant and helpful. The accommodation on the other hand is in the building away from the main building. This building was looking very tired when I approached it – despite the lovely oak beams it wasn’t well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thehamster4
publandloard, Owner at Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are in the process of doing a refurbishment project to the letting rooms (room 4 completed) Outside all rubbed down and ready for painting which will be completed shortly. The sound that you could hear was a hot water pump that was replaced the day after you noticed it. A complementary continental type breakfast...

Bristol
Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the Squirrel a few years ago, and thought it fine for a reasonably priced overnight stay. The pub looks as if it had some money spent on it, so it is rather smart. Staff seemed a bit miserable but they were polite. The rooms, in an adjacent building have either gone downhill or my memory was playing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MyLittleTownBristol
publandloard, Owner at Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore, responded to this review

Dear My Little Town Bristol, I know that I have mailed you and thank you for the further information that you have given to me! I am currently working my way through the rooms at the moment inside and out but I will take your points on board when refurbishing this room. I have already replaced the whole bed and...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godalming
1.6 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#3 of 4 in Godalming
234 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Godalming Hotel
1.5 mi away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
541 reviews
5.2 mi away
Worplesdon Place
Worplesdon Place
#2 of 2 in Worplesdon
328 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Dunsfold
Bed and Breakfast Dunsfold
#6 of 17 in Godalming
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the village of Hurtmore, nr Godalming and Guildford, with easy access, situated just off the A3, we pride ourselves on locally sourced food and a constantly rotating selection of real ales from across the country. In the summer our extensive, child friendly garden and outside dining areas comes into thier own...a perfect setting for a family gathering or a quiet peruse of the papers. With a great variety of food on offer, including daily specials, there is something for all tastes and appetites.Food is served between 12 and 9.30pm daily (8pm on Sundays) .Accommodation is also available within beautifully refurbished 16th Century Cottages, which consists of 5 double and 3 single rooms. All rooms come equipped with flat screen TV’s, DVD players and tea/coffee making facilities and are ideal for those on business, leisure weekends or just visiting family or friends. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore

Address: Hurtmore Road | Hurtmore, Godalming, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Price Range: $67 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squirrel Inn At Hurtmore Hotel Godalming
Squirrel Inn At Hurtmore Godalming, Surrey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“choose upstairs room”
 of 5 bubbles grahamsZ3667JC, Sep 5, 2016 | Read review
“Check with hotel first”
 of 5 bubbles benk72016, Apr 27, 2016 | Read review
“Can't coment in rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 719delyths, Apr 13, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with one small window only”
 of 5 bubbles 33gillg, Sep 22, 2015 | Read review
“The quaint cottages which house the rooms have low ceilings, fine for me, but tall people? Watch your head! The pub is great.”
 of 5 bubbles paulsM9685OI, Feb 1, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question