We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,287 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,286: English reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2015 via mobile

Fourth visit to hotel Good and bad Room lovely and spacious Staff really friendly and helpful at all times from check in to check out. Tasting menu with matched wines lovely and service spot on. Pool warm and jacuzzi fun if not a little busy. The bad is mainly opinion of partner who felt that the price this visit was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank legalbegal
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this charming review, we are particularly pleased that you found our staff to be “really lovely”, we are sorry that your partner didn’t feel that we offered value for money over Valentine’s weekend, hopefully if you choose to return for a fifth visit we can help arrange the package for you as we would love to...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 16, 2015

Myself and my partner stayed on valentines night as a romantic break away from the hustle and bustle of Leeds. Upon arrival we where told that our room was not ready on time (3pm) and that we where more than welcome to wait at the bar, i was disappointed tho i assumed they might have been adding some nice romantic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa for your Valentine’s break. We are extremely grateful for your very fair review and 4/5 grading. We were pleased to read your many positive comments, however we were very sorry to read your comments about some of the service you received. You will see from our more recent reviews...

Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 15, 2015

We've wanted to stay at the Feversham Arms for many years but could never justify the cost. A couple of weeks ago for my birthday we decided to splash out. We were left bitterly disappointed and now feel very bitter at spending £500+. The service is average at best; the gentleman who checked us in was unhelpful and blunt. This...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Tomfer31
Reviewed February 14, 2015 via mobile

Fantastic hotel from top to bottom the location is fantastic with the National Park on your door stop and Helmsley town itself is a lovely little market town with various shops, pubs etc. The food at the hotel and the service is second to non. We were lucky enough to have access to the spa facilities which were also excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandsrod
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

This is a lovely review, thank you! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We try to conduct ongoing refurbishment of the whole hotel, restaurant and spa, and we do have plans to update some of the bedrooms this year, so we hope that if you choose to visit us again you will see the finish results! With...

Helmsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 13, 2015

Had a lovely day with my daughter yesterday & was so looking forward to seeing what the spa had to offer in terms of facilities etc. We had the day booked for some time and went for the most expensive package and added on extras for us both (manicure & pedicure). A total of £410 was paid & in all...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rochalovesruby
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa for your mum-and-daughter Spa Break. We are pleased that you had a “nice and relaxing” time, and that you have given us a fair grading of 3/5. We are sorry that we didn’t quite meet expectations and your review has therefore been passed on to the Spa Manager and...

Reviewed February 12, 2015 via mobile

Another great visit, second time we've been here and it didnt fail. Great staff, great food and great facilities. Would highly recommend this spa hotel, When we arrived we got a complimentary upgrade because it was my birthday which was even better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We are s pleased that we could help with your birthday celebrations! With kind regards, From all the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Leeds
Reviewed February 9, 2015

Arrived at 11:30 as our treatments were booked for 12:30. Room was ready and was kindly upgraded to an amazing suite overlooking the pool. Suite was fantastic, spacious and elegant. Spa treatment by Chelsea was fantastic. So professional. Afternoon tea in the spa was really flesh and plenty of homemade treats to put us on until evening meal. Our evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeedsMarra
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Wow indeed! Thank you so very much for this wonderful review! It is so fantastic to hear and all the team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay! With kind regards, From all the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 6, 2015

Just returned from a spa break with a friend, bought for us by our husbands for Christmas. The package included a treatment, spa, dinner, overnight stay and breakfast. When the reservation was made we were told as part of the package access to the spa was included, however even though we arrived at mid day, we were told the room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Keran P
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are pleased that you found the room to be nice and that you enjoyed the food, but sorry that you did not feel that you had enough time to use the Spa. By way of explanation, hotel guests are able to use the Verbena Spa facilities from check-in at...

Reviewed February 5, 2015

I visited here in January for a birthday treat on the 2 for 1 weekday offer. The grounds are lovely, and the man on the reception was welcoming. The spa day was fantastic, we were given thick robes and slippers to use on the grounds and had full use of facilities - all of which were in working order. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angii09-x
Reviewed February 5, 2015 via mobile

I've become a regular visitor of the Feversham Spa hotel. Out first stay was in the double room, which I wasn't very impressed with given the price per adult. Since then every time I visit, I manage to get a package deal which includes a suite stay and spa treatments. As the hotel is located perfectly near my walking routes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Parisa555
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it is always lovely to hear from a regular guest! We are delighted that you have found a package that suits your needs and that you like the suites that we have on offer. We were sorry to read that you have never been “wowed” by the service, as we...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

563 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (275)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (125)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (250)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (23)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (28)
Viewed
Junior Suite - 14 (37)
Viewed
Junior Suite - 19 (29)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Spa Suite (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,457 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
638 reviews
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
344 reviews
20.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
23.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Price Range: $143 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, LateRooms, HRS, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
cleveland
1 month ago
Yorkshire
Teeside
over a year ago
Lincoln, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Avoid 3 and 5 (and some others) - traffic noise.”
ItalianLakesRus, 1 week ago | Read review
“Avoid rooms at the front not worth the price”
karenalana, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Pool view rooms are great some with balconies.”
Whiteball, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“south side rooms are peaceful”
colleen246879, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“In new rooms around the pool”
rapton, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question