We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Buck's Head

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meonstoke
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Buck\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 134: English reviews
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been here a couple of times for lunch in the last 6 months and the food is consistently good and the beer is excellent. The hosts are very friendly and I'd describe this as a good country pub in pleasant surroundings. Certainly worth a visit if you are in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin and Sue C
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here with 3 children whilst walking the South Downs way. It was definitely the best place we stayed along our route. The bedrooms were spacious, beds comfortable and breakfast was delicious. Very welcoming - nothing was too much trouble.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I had originally tried two pubs in the area for lunch which were full, so when we walked in the Bucks Head after driving by and seeing it served food we were very grateful they could seat us. I'm always nervous when trying a place to eat when it hasn't been recommended to me but food did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

Really friendly welcome. Beautiful setting with outside seats and dog friendly. Food was beautiful and can't wait to go bk ! Reasonably priced and Plenty of free parking opposite. Suits all age groups.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2012travelbugs
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 4, 2016

Visited for Sunday lunch and had an excellent roast beef with all the trimmings. Have previously sampled some other items from a reasonably priced menu with specials always on offer. Very dog friendly with a young staff who are attentive and enthusiastic. We shall be returning many times, I am sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C0untryman
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 2, 2016

Not been here for a while but the pub has all been refurbished following flooding. Pleasantly surprised. All nicely done and the pub still has its cosy welcoming feel. Menu has plenty of choice to suit most tastes. Ordered the ham and chips. This arrived in a timely manner (on a plate and not jenga stacked on a piece of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank musicmanhampshire
down south
Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile

Was meeting up with a friend, what better place to take her for dinner than the Bucks Head. Been lots of times with family, one of my favourite places to eat. The staff are so friendly & welcoming, can't do enough for you. Food is amazing especially the desserts. Great place to meet up any time of the day, cosy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sOngbird55
crewe
Reviewed August 25, 2016

Stayed for one night as part of South downs walk. The Bucks head is situated in a beautiful location with a clear trout stream running around the side of the property. The welcome was friendly. Although I stayed on the one night of the week they do not serve food they kindly made up a fantastic high quality ploughman's. Also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weekendwalker_9
Nicki B, Owner at Buck's Head, responded to this review

Another great big thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We are so lucky to be in such a wonderful part of the country, glad you enjoyed it. I am thrilled you rate the ploughman's, and personally delighted about the scrambled eggs, thanks again. Nicki

Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

Stopped here for a bite to eat on a Sunday afternoon, post lunch time. I asked the landlord if they were still doing food, he seemed a little unsure until he heard we wanted a couple of ploughman's lunches. He must have been rubbing his hands with glee. The 'lunch' consisted of 'plastic' ham, 'plastic' cheese, gherkins that were past...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loricol
Nicki B, Owner at Buck's Head, responded to this review

I will say that it is with great sadness that a review like this has been posted on our pretty much, unblemished record. (We have been here for the last two years, previous comments were under other ownership). I am disappointed to have answer this, especially when no negative feedback was offered at the time. If we do ever get...

Wiltshire
Reviewed August 19, 2016

We stayed here for one night on our South Downs Way walk. Check in was really easy as we arrived as they were just getting ready to open the bar. Our room was large with additional seating and a bath too - a real bonus after a long days walk.We ate in the pub in the evening and the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TBOWilts
Nicki B, Owner at Buck's Head, responded to this review

Glad you had a nice time with us, sorry we had a big run on our lovely pies that day! I really appreciate you taking the time to review us, and hope you are walking down this way again in the future - I will save a pie for you this time :+) Many thanks Nicki

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meonstoke
4.9 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
1,260 reviews
5.2 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.3 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 2 in Petersfield
295 reviews
2.0 mi away
George & Falcon
George & Falcon
#1 of 1 in Warnford
160 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Roebuck Inn
The Roebuck Inn
#1 of 2 in Wickham
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A quaint, traditionally styled village pub, with 5 en-suite letting rooms. Based in the heart of the Meon Valley, this is an ideal stopping point for cyclists and walkers alike. We are proud to offer our guests home cooked seasonal meals, sourced by local suppliers. Recently refurbished and reopened by the current owners since July 2014. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Buck's Head

Address: Bucks Head Hill, Meonstoke SO32 3NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Meonstoke
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Buck's Head staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Did not stay, so cannot comment on the rooms”
 of 5 bubbles mands_carter, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Haven't stayed, only eaten!”
 of 5 bubbles C0untryman, Sep 4, 2016 | Read review
“We only ate here not stayed.”
 of 5 bubbles maryr517, Aug 2, 2016 | Read review
“Great food, best quality in fantastic surroundings.”
 of 5 bubbles alansara2015, May 23, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms were quiet with nice en suite bathrooms with baths, perfect for tired walkers”
 of 5 bubbles charlottejoll, Apr 10, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question