We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Oak Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Royal Oak Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 102: English reviews
Salt Lake City, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at the inn for several nights in July. The inn keeper, Janette, was so friendly and accommodating. She went the extra mile to create delicious culinary delights for my husband, who is gluten free. I can't say enough about how grateful we are. We would love to go back and enjoy a stay at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janita60
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in room one and it was absolutely beautiful, spotlessly clean, nicely decorated. Very comfortable (which you need after a 5 hour drive!) Friendly staff, good ale in the bar, lovely fresh breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank 1RebeccaB93
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice, friendly staff and locals who were very informative with regard to places to go and see close by,. Food in the evening was good with a range to choose from. I dont like a big cooked breakfast so plumped for scrambled eggs on toast which I thoroughly enjoyed.

Helpful?
Thank Sally O
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights in July. The room was very clean and comfortable and well decorated apart from the windows.Unfortunately they dont serve food on Monday evenings and we were directed to The Drax Arms up the road where we had a lovely meal. Had we have known beforehand we would have eaten on the way... More 

Helpful?
Thank BRIAN403
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 3 nights at the Royal Oak and found the room extremely spacious and the king size bed very comfortable. We enjoyed some lovely meals and the full English breakfast was well presented using good quality products. I would certainly recommend and plan to revisit later in the year

Helpful?
Thank tjaphillips16
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

We stayed in room No 1 very large room with large shower 5 mins lovely breakfast home cook wiyh local produce,in the car to Monkey World and the Tank Museum. Also there is a lovely large beer garden in the back, this hotel is set in a lovely quite villiage

Helpful?
1 Thank Parc123
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were all pleased to here you had a nice stay and that you liked the room. I shall let my husband know that you enjoyed the garden also as that is his domain. Again many thanks for reviewing us Janette & the Team More 

Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016

Arrived late Tuesday evening not booked in but ask the young lady behind the bar if they had a room for a couple of nights she was very helpful she spoke to the owner they had one room left the young lady Then showed us the room we were very impressed very large white and clean lovey bathroom walk in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne G
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I was sorry to hear you were disappointed with the curry and wish you had said something at the time. We were all pleased to hear that you were happy with the room and location and that you got to see the local attractions. You are welcome back... More 

Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

Okay ... hmm... any place with British flag bunting all over the bar makes me feel slightly wary. Indeed there were some quite rude militant types hanging at the bar .. didnt really need their opinion on 'foreigners' thankyou very much. The barmaid, who saw us in, wasnt very welcoming. Saturday night drinks were a crappy collection of Carling and... More 

Helpful?
Thank kylie s
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear that you did not like the bunting in the bar it was there for the Queen's Street Party weekend here in the village and because of the football. As for the customers at the bar I am unable to comment on their opinions as it is just that, theirs not mine. I have... More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

Recently stayed here for a few nights and was very pleased with the recently renovated accommodation. Large, well appointed rooms. Excellent king sized bed. Limited but very well executed menu available for dinner. Superb full English breakfast (recommended). Very convenient for monkey world, Lulworth, Poole etc. Made most welcome by Jeanette and her staff (lovely people). We would recommend this... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are all really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the food. Kind Regards Janette & the Team More 

Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

Recently visited The Royal Oak Hotel and stayed for two nights, What a fantastic place the whole place is spotless. the rooms are beautiful and the staff are friendly and welcoming. The food was very nice. This hotel is set in the small but beautiful village of Bere Regis, A great base to explore 20 miles from Bournmouth.Weymouth and even... More 

Helpful?
Thank andipallett
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and was able to go and see all that this area has to offer. Kind Regards Janette & the Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bere Regis
10.0 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
9.0 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
7.9 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We an Old Coaching Inn with 3 fully refurbished King Size Rooms with en-suite. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Hotel

Address: West Street, Bere Regis BH20 7HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bere Regis
Price Range: $114 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Bere Regis, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay