We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elba Costa Ballena Beach & Thalasso Resort

Traveler (668)
Room & Suite (217)
Pool & Beach (104)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#2 of 10 hotels in Rota
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
If you’re looking for a family-friendly hotel in Rota, look no further than Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel. As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a minibar, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available. Guests have access to a 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and room service while staying at Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel. In addition, Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel offers a pool and a lounge, which will help make your Rota trip additionally gratifying. Travelers looking for a place to eat close to Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel can head to Kanguro Chiringuito & Beach Club (0.4 mi), Arroceria Ballena (1.2 mi), or Solyluna chiringuito (0.7 mi), all of which are within walking distance. Rota is also known for some great parks, including Parque de los Lagos, Parque Atlantico, and Parque Laguna del Moral, which are not too far from Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel. The staff at Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Room service
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Business Center with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Golf course
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
1,805Reviews
82Q+A
23Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 978
  • 582
  • 157
  • 51
  • 37
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The pros: 1] The property sits really close to the beach, it only takes a good 10 minute leisurely stroll to get to it. 2] On windy days, the pool is surrounded by wind breakers, it is very pleasant to lay next to it, and tan yourself while you sleep. 3] Breakfast is included with every stay, and there is an excellent choice of hot and cold items - buffett style. I never went hungry during my stay. 4] There is a coffee/teamaker in the room [with a small selection of coffee and tea bags, with all types of sugar.] 5] The rooms are spacious, and come with a flat - screen TV. 6] Room 325 has one bed, non-smoking, quiet, and comes with a large enough balcony where one can sit an catch some sun. 7] Andrea Rodriguez, the assistant manager is very professional, courteous, respectful, and certainly customer centric in her management style. She made sure my stay was worry-free and enjoyable. Her attitude towards clients is a complete 180 degrees from what I expected [considering that in Europe, CUSTOMERS DO NOT MATTER, whereas back home, YOU MATTER, BECAUSE YOU ARE THE CUSTOMER! 8] The employees do their best to make their hotel guests feel welcome, which is a reflection on managment's customer centric efforts. The cons: These include 1] The towels, which at some point, must have been white, but have turned a dirty brown color after so much use. 2] The paint in some places are peeling. I am okay with the flaws as long as the pros overwhelm them, as in this case.
Read more
Response from Pablo C, Director General at Elba Costa Ballena Beach & Thalasso Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Manuel We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Our Hotel and I want to thank you for the time you have spent sharing your experience with us. I’m delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience and , and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Best Regards
Read more
We stayed two nights. Room was spacious, but Wifi signal was only usable in bathroom. We ate dinner one evening and breakfast two days...food was only average. Pillows were high and hard, which prevented me from a good night's sleep (personal issue; wife said it was fine for her). Staff was very friendly and professional.
Read more
Response from Pablo C, Director General at Elba Costa Ballena Beach & Thalasso Resort
Responded Mar 19, 2019
Dear Steve Thank you very much for your nice review of our hotel. We take note about the wifi signal. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Best Regards
Read more
Stayed here for a week with my husband and toddler. Location: there’s nothing in the nearby area except other resorts. The nearest market-type store is a 15 minute bike ride (2.50€ cash at front desk) or a 30 minute walk. Beach: it’s a short walk from the hotel and gorgeous with very fine sand. No services down there though: chair/umbrella rentals, snack shop. Sleeping room: our room was 408. Quiet, spacious with high ceilings, and clean overlooking golf course and kiddie pool. Mini frig, kettle, bath tub, proper hangers, and a drying rack on the balcony - whoever thought of this is brilliant. Pools: big pool and kiddie pool. The big pool is lovely since it’s not too big and there are plenty of loungers. Although I almost cut myself on one of the stair/rails to exit the pool since it was broken. The kiddie pool is perfect for little ones with a slide and fountain but it was super dirty. Algae or mold growth throughout the pool and chipped tiles everywhere. Food: we had the breakfast and dinner buffets. Since we got there right when they opened there was plenty of food and the grill didn’t take too long but an hour in, you can see that food is not replenished quickly and the line for the lone grillman is long. Some meals were good but overall the food isn’t that great. Service: a few interactions with the disinterested staff cemented our impression of the hotel. That it’s just an ok resort. Spa: we didn’t get to visit. Kids play room is cluttered but the kids love it. Our kid loved it for a blessed 90 minutes.
Read more
We are not fussy eaters but the choice for breakfast and evening meal were awful. Only one night from the three we stayed were there potatoes always chips. The plates were cold you had to queue for show cooking for about 10 minutes. The food at breakfast was never replenished one morning at 10.10 there was no bacon and tomatoes and even when I left the dining room at 10.30 there were still none bearing in mind breakfast doesn't finish until 11.00. The chef cooking the eggs omelettes and crepes done each person in turn so if there was a family with a large order you could wait up to 15 minutes for an egg I don't think this is acceptable. I have stayed in many 4* hotels but for food this is the worse. The room we had was lovely and overlooked the pool as I asked and paid extra to have On leaving I went to pay the drinks bill in the restaurant and was asked for 196 euros when I queried this I was told that we had drinks in the bar and 2 lunches which was not true after about 15 minutes this was rectified and my bill was 12euros. If I did go back to this hotel hopefully I could have room only
Read more
Response from Pablo C, General Manager at Elba Costa Ballena Beach & Thalasso Resort
Responded Nov 4, 2018
Dear Christine Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. At Hotel Elba Costa Ballena, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon
Read more
I stayed here for 4 days with my wife and 2 sons in 1 room and had a very nice time. - The breakfast buffet is very good and has lots of different food. - The rooms are spacious and clean - There are lots of things to do for children - Employees are friendly and helpfull Minus: - The spa is not included. - There is a public parking place close, but is not free and sometimes full. - Because there are so many children, I think it is not a very romantic location.
Read more
Response from Pablo C, Gerente at Elba Costa Ballena Beach & Thalasso Resort
Responded Aug 25, 2018
Dear David, We would like to thank you for your rating and the time spent sharing your experience with us. We are very glad to know that you have had a nice stay in our hotel, enjoying our buffet and our facilities. We hope to see you again. Bets Regards from Costa Ballena
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$108 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainAndaluciaProvince of CadizRota
NUMBER OF ROOMS
234
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing