Out of the Blue Resort & Spa

Traveler (2301)
Pool & Beach (580)
Room & Suite (480)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Wed, May 1
$154
Breakfast included
$142
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#11 of 24 hotels in Agia Pelagia
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.0
Value
3.8
Nestled among a vast and verdant private peninsula, Out of the Blue Resort introduces guests to a stunning sanctuary of luxury, family-friendly entertainment and inspiring Cretan hospitality. The splendid resort looks out to endless azure vistas and offers accommodation to suit every need. From family bungalows to luxury suites and 3 villas with their own private pools, every stay is tailor-made to make your vacation your favourite summertime memory. Delicious gastronomy promises to take you on a trip through incredible flavours, numerous swimming pools offer endless fun while water sports cater to adrenaline lovers. Children can roam safely and play to their hearts’ content as they come face to face with the island’s dazzling history in the Minoan Amusement Park. Out of the Blue Resort’s exceptional spa services are also available, promising to rejuvenate you from the inside out while the endless evening entertainment options initiate you in a sensational vacation tinged with Crete’s indisputable allure.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Game room
Tennis court
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Waterslide
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, German and 1 more

Location

2 Eleftherios Venizelos, Agia Pelagia, Crete 71500 Greece
Name/address in local language
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,790 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Nestled near Heraklion, Out of the Blue Resort & Spa is renowned for its serene luxury and impressive array of amenities, including a well-regarded spa, beautiful pools, and private beach access. Guests frequently praise the spacious, well-appointed rooms with stunning views, though some have noted issues with cleanliness and maintenance. While the hotel's location and friendly service are often highlighted, the value proposition is occasionally questioned due to high-priced dining and outdated amenities. Despite this, the resort's atmosphere and cleanliness receive consistent acclaim.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Serene
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Abundant
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1,790Review94Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 858
  • 432
  • 221
  • 150
  • 129
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Clara M wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Positives: lovely staff, food fairly good and varied, restaurant location beautiful overlooking private bay, absolutely stunning location and botanical gardens (amazing work from the grounds team), both beaches lovely and relaxing. Great to have free loungers even on public beach. Water crystal clear. Town itself lovely with a good range of eateries along the waterfront.

Mobility issues: the hotel is on a very hilly peninsula and not suitable for those with any mobility issues. The classic rooms are either in the main hotel with a shower over bath which many can't access, or what is called a 'bungalow'. Be aware that this does not mean the same as in UK.. The bungalows seem to be over two levels. You enter on top floor to lounge then have to go down marble steps no handrail to bedroom and bathroom. Various pools either have ladder access or steps but again no handrail. As a result my family member was unable to shower or use any pool. Hotel has lots of steps around and rarely with handrails. They do have lots of golf buggies to ferry people around and this was much needed.

Room for improvement: hotel looks a bit tired in places and is in need of some improvement. Looks like they are doing this but it's a huge site so will take time. I would say current standard feels more 3* at present. Loud music and entertainment from French tui team at classic pool and on main terrace early evenings. Lack of information on booking as to what all inclusive involved. It only includes a la carte restaurant one night per week and when we went to 'seasalt and rosemary' only certain menu items were included which was disappointing. Not that we needed snacks, but didn't seem to be much available just some small rolls, whereas at 5*all Inc you expect a wide range of offerings. Poor signage throughout the whole resort. No clear advertising of entertainment e.g.we missed most of a traditional dancing event.

I would consider returning if I found a cheap enough deal and didn't have anyone with mobility issues with us. But I'd be careful about the room I book.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tatyana Yemelianova, Guest Services / Front Office at Out of the Blue Resort & Spa
Responded Jul 14, 2022
Dear 2Clarel, Thank you for choosing "Out of the Blue Resort" on your recent vacation and for having taken the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure for us to welcome you here. We are very concerned to read about some inconveniences. Kindly be assured that the issues have been addressed. We are very happy to know that the service which you experienced from our staff met your expectations; Our staff is one of our best assets and we all work hard to ensure that they have the best working conditions possible. I’m glad they served you well. All your comments have been taken into consideration and communicated to the head departments. Please be assured that we are taking the necessary steps to ensure the complete satisfaction of our guests. Looking forward to welcoming you back at "Out of the Blue Resort". Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maria wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay in the hotel was excellent, the premises and the facilities were beyond our expectations. The personell was really helpfull and assisting with our 2 years old child. The location is unique and the sea on the private beach was calm and crystal clear. For sure will be our destination for the next years.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tatyana Yemelianova, Guest Services / Front Office at Out of the Blue Resort & Spa
Responded Aug 20, 2022
Dear Ms. Maria, Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. It makes us very happy to learn that your holidays with us was a wonderful and unforgettable experience and that you also enjoyed the hotel's environment. We always work towards offering the greatest experiences to our guests, and your feedback shows us we are doing it right. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. In the meantime, if you are so inclined, please find us on Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest and Twitter for all the latest news and events happening in our resort. Best Regards, Guest Relations / Front Office Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
Karina L wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent wonderful 10 days in this hotel. We are frequent travelers with my husband , but I can really say that this was one of the greatest vacations. Thanks fir the great stuff we felt that everybody tries to make our stay perfect. The ladies that cleaned the rooms and territory did it very professionally and quickly, the personal in cafes, bars and restaurants were always very attentive and polite, the ladies and gentlemen at the reception were very helpful and always smiling, which is I assume not so easy when there are so
many guests with so many different needs and questions. Special thank you to Tatjana, the lady from reception. Thanks for organizing and planning 4 wonderful excursions around the Crete. We could never imagine that we would be able to see so many interesting places and also relax and gain energy and strength to continue working back home. We liked everything: the stuff, room, view on the sea, swimming pools and beaches, enormous and very neat and beautiful territory which we explored every day and every day found some new paths, entertainment team at the pool that made us move and laugh, the cooks that cooked wonderful tasty food. You have a great team, thank you , you made our holiday perfect! We will definetly recommend your hotel as couples, families with kids, companies of friends or solo travelers - everybody will find what to do and how to relax in this hotel that is reallly arising OUT OF THE BLUE
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Take the swimming shoes for the beach as there are pebbles and it will be easier to walk into...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tatyana Yemelianova, Guest Services / Front Office at Out of the Blue Resort & Spa
Responded Jul 23, 2022
Dear Ms. Karina L, Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. It makes us very happy to learn that your holidays with us was a wonderful and unforgettable experience and that you also enjoyed the hotel's environment. We always work towards offering the greatest experiences to our guests, and your feedback shows us we are doing it right. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. In the meantime, if you are so inclined, please find us on Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest and Twitter for all the latest news and events happening in our resort. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fair guy wrote a review Sep 2022
6 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel advertised as 5 star chic all inclusive. Here is the reality. Our rooms problems, no hot water in wc sink, shower didn't work, toilet continually overflowing, pop up sink plug not working, safe not working, replaced still not working, third time replaced with no instructions to use it, TV not working properly, bottom bed sheet too small for mattress, room not cleaned first day, not left towels on 3rd day, ants living under bed, general cleanliness poor eg dirty balcony never cleaned, finally room finish tired and shabby. The hotel is not all inclusive, pay for fresh orange juice but any alcohol or cocktail with orange juice is free? All inclusive al a carte meal 50% of dishes had to be paid extra for. The hotel staff were generally unfriendly and unhelpful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Out of the Blue Resort & Spa
Responded Sep 4, 2023
Dear Mr. Nic M, Thank you for choosing "Out of the Blue Resort" on your recent vacation and for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure for us to welcome you here. We are very concerned to read about some inconveniences. Kindly note all your comments have been taken into consideration and communicated to the head departments. Please be assured that we are taking the necessary steps to ensure the complete satisfaction of our guests. We are sorry again that your holiday did not meet your expectations. Looking forward to welcoming you back at "Out of the Blue Resort" on Crete. Best regards, Guest Relations Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Annie B. wrote a review Aug 2021
The Hague, The Netherlands7 contributions16 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
the location of the hotel is great, close to the village with beautiful views. But with most (75%) of the facilities being closed the hotel is more a sleeping beauty than a gem.

There is a lot of overdue maintenance, which does not help the experience you expect from a 5 star hotel. The service level is far from what I would call 5 stars!

At the bars which where open, the service level is really bad, employees not being friendly at all expect when they get big tips. most bars close at 11 pm, the staff start to clean up 30 mins prior to closing, which means even slower service than usual, and some times ending up with no ice or some drinks being unavailable.

There is some variation in food at the buffet restaurant, but the quality is poor. I expected more fresh veggies from this hotel, who say to grow their own veggies. Also most restaurants where closed. Not shared if and how guests can book in the one and only ‘a la cart’ or Kosher restaurant? The rosemary has a great view, but most of the food is for extra pay (€40 for a steak!!!) and very poor quality of food (to oily, uncooked fish etc). We gave up on the food at the hotel and went to the boulevard, where is a great variation of restaurants. Almyra was the best, with very friendly staff and the best fresh fish! Don’t forget the cocktails and wines at Almyra!

Gardens are good maintained, rest of the facilities are not clean (such as toilets and showers at beach area). Rooms are cleaned, but not dusted properly and under the bed, dusty and dirty.

Very poor and unfriendly service especially at the reception, one of the gentlemen being rude to guests, others arguing behind the desk while guests waiting . The guest relations lady (Tania) is great and knows her work and does what she can to help guest!
Service at bars and restaurant is really bad, poor and unfriendly even sometimes grumpy staff.

Wellness Closed for most of the services and the one at the beach area did not look very inviting.

Just 2 (of the promised 7!) pools were open. Never (in my two weeks visit) been able to use a sunbed!

As mentioned at the start. Great location but not a 5 star hotel at all!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Ask for a room in lifestyle building and skip all inclusive, eat at boulevard, worth the money!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Social Media, Marketing at Out of the Blue Resort & Spa
Responded Aug 19, 2021
Dear aygunb2014, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience during your stay at our hotel. While we are happy that you enjoyed our location and environment, we are sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with the other aspects of your holiday with us. Many of the issues you describe stem from the Covid requirements placed by the Greek government, but some show that you did not experience the 5-star service that we strive to provide. We would like to assure you that your comments will be passed on to the respective teams to check and discuss improvements. We do hope to have the opportunity to change your experience for the better by welcoming you back at a future time Kind Regards, ONP Social Media Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Explore41154156418 wrote a review Jul 2022
40 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I just come back from this outstanding resort and I have trouble to start explaining what to put first as impression of my journey. Definitely to start with beautiful nature and seaside, magnificent sunrise and beautiful sunsets, the overall space is huge, so everyday you can experience something new, you really do not need to go anywhere around the island to feel the true and authentic Greek vibe.

The rooms and apartments are spread very nicely to combine very nice ambiance,
breakfast and dinner area with such a variety of salty and sweet options, fresh fruits, great and attentive service, but everyday you have grill station, so do not miss out on gyros or anything warm from charming grill master.

Beautiful Greek taverna, Sea salt and Rosemary with great ambiance and even better food and hospitality was highlight of our experience.

In 2 minutes walk you can reach Agia Pelagia, small city-village with real authentic Greek atmospheres, tavernas, coffee places, souvenir shops etc, to fulfill your trip without leaving the resort. Btw it is easy reachable from Heraklion airport, only 30 min car drive.

The private beach of the resort has everything that you need, beach bar with lovely refreshments, and nice sunbathing area, very cozy and without buzz, just simple relaxing and unwinding.

Even if you just look at the waves and enjoy the greenery, you have all that you need for an excellent vacation.

Thanks to their Manager, Mr. Manolis, who was helpful and on point with our every request, we really felt taken care of.

Definitely we will come back again, since we just started exploring this lovely resort and island, for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Sea salt and Rosemary Taverna or Safran restaurant for unique dining experience, within resort
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tatyana Yemelianova, Guest Services / Front Office at Out of the Blue Resort & Spa
Responded Jul 27, 2022
Dear Explore41154156418, Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. It makes us very happy to learn that your holidays with us was a wonderful and unforgettable experience and that you also enjoyed the hotel's environment. We always work towards offering the greatest experiences to our guests, and your feedback shows us we are doing it right. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. In the meantime, if you are so inclined, please find us on Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest and Twitter for all the latest news and events happening in our resort. Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Corey W wrote a review Sep 2022
Edmonton, Canada34 contributions53 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I paid for a sea view room and it was very nice. Clean, pretty modern, two bathrooms, good AC and a great view. The room itself was pretty good value. I few very minor quirks I didn't like, but not worth really mentioning.

They had their own private beach with chairs and umbrellas included, which was nice. There are great views all around the property and several pools too. I'm not sure if it was the time of year, but we never had an issue getting a chair at the beach or pool.

There's a town right next to this place with lots of shops and restaurants. You can also walk about one km to another small beach cove. There's other markets and restaurants not far from the resort entrance too.

I didn't pay for all inclusive because I don't really care for the drink options and we often go explore for the day anyways, but the breakfast buffet was included and was very good with lots of options and no waiting.

Issues I had were minor, so I wasn't going to let it affect the review much. They gave you lots of drinking water, but we asked for more after a couple days and they said room service would bring us some more. Never happened.

I also asked what it would cost to eat lunch or dinner at the buffet restaurant if we chose to do that for one meal or day. They said you had to pay 25€ a person to get all inclusive for the day.

Seemed a bit odd I couldn't just pay for each meal, so we went to upgrade the next day just for the day. Another person greeted us also told us us it would be 25€ for all inclusive and we were fine with that and getting ready to pay, then it suddenly became 40€ which made absolutely no sense. They tried to explain it that drinks were included until 11, but that's what All Inclusive was anyways (even then, I just wanted the option of eating at the buffet for one or two meals). It was annoying, overly complicated and frustrating to just eat at the buffet for one meal.

Just info about the location and cost to get here. It's about 25-30 minutes getting here from the airport. Our flight was delayed, so the rental car place was closed and I couldn't get my car. It was a 50€ taxi ride from the airport (was 1:30AM), a bit steep. Was told it was 40€ to get back or you could ride the local bus.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tatyana Yemelianova, Guest Services / Front Office at Out of the Blue Resort & Spa
Responded Sep 10, 2022
Dear Mr. Corey W., Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. It makes us very happy to learn that your holidays with us was a wonderful and unforgettable experience and that you also enjoyed the hotel's environment. We always work towards offering the greatest experiences to our guests, and your feedback shows us we are doing it right. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. In the meantime, if you are so inclined, please find us on Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest and Twitter for all the latest news and events happening in our resort. Best Regards, Guest Relations / Front Office Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Luuk S wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a beautiful hotel/resort with lots of nature. You can better think of it as a small nature park with 2 different large main buildings with rooms and a section with bungalows. There are 5 swimming pools scattered all over the complex.

The room we got was better than we expected. We got a room with two bathrooms and two toilets and two air conditioners. To top it off, we also got a balcony with a sea view. Included was a minibar with a bottle of red wine, a pack of Orange juice, and 6 large bottles of water (all for free). Also a kettle with tea and instant coffee.
The beds were good and the air conditioning worked well.

You notice that things are in need of replacement here and there in the hotel. For example, the parquet floor had started to swell due to shower water. A simple solution would be a shower door.

The restaurant was also good. The food had enough variety every day and was always of good quality. Sometimes the food could have been kept a little warmer. Upon reception, the staff always asked if you wanted a bottle of cold water. Thereby you had the possibility to order something extra to drink like cola (only all inclusive of course).

The staff is always friendly and happy to chat.

During our visit the sunbeds by the pool were with enough overcapacity. The pool water was cool (about 20 degrees) so you could cool off in it. Via the H2O pool you walk through a 50-meter path directly to the bay of Agia Pelagia.

in summary, this hotel has been very good for us, but do not expect yourself a 5 star luxury resort where everything is tip top. It has been kept up to Greek style.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Out of the Blue Resort & Spa
Responded Sep 4, 2023
Dear Mr. Luuk, Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. It makes us very happy to learn that your holidays with us was a wonderful and unforgettable experience and that you also enjoyed the hotel's environment. And thank you for the good comments about our colleagues’ service. We always work towards offering the greatest experiences to our guests, and your feedback shows us we are doing it right. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. In the meantime, if you are so inclined, please find us on Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest and Twitter for all the latest news and events happening in our resort. Best Regards, Guest Relations Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vangelis wrote a review Aug 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Experiencing the beauty of this beachfront resort was truly extraordinary. From the moment I arrived, I was captivated by the stunning views and the soothing sound of the waves. The resort's prime location was an absolute highlight, providing a seamless blend of luxury and natural splendor.

One aspect that truly stood out was the culinary experience. The food was not just excellent; it was a delightful journey for the taste buds. Each meal was a masterpiece, meticulously prepared and presented. The diverse range of flavors and the use of fresh, local ingredients added an extra layer of authenticity to the dining experience.

However, what truly elevated my stay was the impeccable service. The staff's genuine warmth and attentiveness made me feel truly pampered. Whether it was the front desk, housekeeping, or the restaurant staff, everyone went above and beyond to ensure my comfort and satisfaction. It's not just a place to stay; it's a place to be cared for.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Out of the Blue Resort & Spa
Responded Aug 26, 2023
Dear Mr. Vaggelis, Τhank you very much for your truly excellent feedback. We are more than happy to know that we have meet your expectations and look forward to welcome you back again soon! We truly hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Kindest Regards, Guest Relations Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bigbaddoc wrote a review Sep 2022
89 contributions39 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a large hotel that was clearly built to a high standard, but has sadly not been maintained to the same standard. If you review this hotel online, be aware that many of the write ups from 2017 or around then do not reflect the hotel as it is now. There are many restaurants or areas mentioned that are not open or used in 2022. It is all looking rather tired, I was actually stopped in my tracks the first time we visited the kids pool. It is peeling paint, severely faded equipment and muddy paths, certainly not 5* in my opinion. You know something is wrong when you find yourself Googling what a hotel needs to do to meet 5* status - I have never felt the need to question a star rating mid-holiday.

I would sadly agree with the comments regarding the reception staff, my three interactions with them left me with the impression my enquiries were distracting them from something more important and I was a nuisance.

The swimming pools (that were open) are in various states of repair, as are the numerous fountains, water features and the like - many of which are empty, so there are just large empty spaces that are super obvious.

We were in the Exclusive Collection area of the hotel, supposedly the top tier "zone" and as such were entitled to use of a different dining area and a zoned off area of the private beach. We were not told this on check in, and stumbled across this information online a week into our holiday. The private area of the beach is nothing to write home about, the timber sun beds look like they're not long for this world.

To the right of the beach as you look out to see is a concrete promenade, portions of which have collapsed into the sea, meaning this area is out of bounds. This means navigating the site takes a lot of walking up and down hills. This has also removed an entire bar and seating area. As you look at the official images of the site, bear this in mind.

Dinner time in the Red Pepper Restaurant is like feeding time at the zoo, after a few evenings we grew rather tired of this and sought food in the town.

The saving grace of the whole holiday was breakfast, this seemed to be the only Exclusive collection perk that was worth it, and the only time I would say that my expectations were met.

I do not like to be negative in my reviews if possible, but we paid a lot of money for this holiday and it was a let down, it really was. I would not recommend you to visit this hotel, there are many better places to go in the world where you can have a 5* experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Out of the Blue Resort & Spa
Responded Sep 4, 2023
Dear Client, Thank you for choosing "Out of the Blue Resort" on your recent vacation and for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure for us to welcome you here. We are very concerned to read about some inconveniences. Kindly note all your comments have been taken into consideration and communicated to the head departments. Please be assured that we are taking the necessary steps to ensure the complete satisfaction of our guests. We are sorry again that your holiday did not meet your expectations. Looking forward to welcoming you back at "Out of the Blue Resort" on Crete. Best regards, Guest Relations Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Familie P
hellevoetsluis32 contributions6 helpful votes
les seules chambres avec vue sur la mer sont des chambres d'hôtel. pas de bungalow
Answer from Helen H
Tring, United Kingdom29 contributions107 helpful votes
Partial sea view not good Didn’t see a magnifying mirror That is the least of your worries tbh the food and accommodation is terrible
Answer from jerrod k
Oceanside, California161 contributions121 helpful votes
it could be part of a package. same for meals, you pick the package and it includes some or all restaurants.
Patricia G wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Access the water at the beach from the sand. The stone steps can be extremely slippery & there are no warnings!"
Read full review
Steven M wrote a tip Sep 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book direct"
Read full review
ganlayer3 wrote a tip Sep 2023
Athens, Greece139 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay at the bungalows. Have fantastic views."
Read full review
Shmil F wrote a tip Aug 2023
Kefar Sava, Israel166 contributions95 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Big variety of rooms"
Read full review
Scott W wrote a tip Aug 2023
Chelmsford, United Kingdom18 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the standard and classic rooms and demand digital air conditioning."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Agia Pelagia area.
PRICE RANGE
$146 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
out of the blue, capsis elite hotel agia pelagia, hilton garden inn malia, sofitel agia pelagia, agia pelagia sofitel
LOCATION
GreeceCreteHeraklion PrefectureAgia Pelagia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
465
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OUT OF THE BLUE RESORT & SPA - Prices & Hotel Reviews (Crete/Agia Pelagia)

Frequently Asked Questions about Out of the Blue Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Out of the Blue Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Nefeli Bar (0.1 miles), Agia Pelagia Beach (0.2 miles), and Venus Shop (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Out of the Blue Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Out of the Blue Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Out of the Blue Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Out of the Blue Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Out of the Blue Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bravo Seafood Restaurant, Mythos taverna, and Alchemist.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Out of the Blue Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Out of the Blue Resort & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Out of the Blue Resort & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Out of the Blue Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Out of the Blue Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Russian, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Out of the Blue Resort & Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Enetiki Epavli ton Monidon (3.0 miles).
All Agia Pelagia HotelsAgia Pelagia Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Agia Pelagia
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars