Hotel Balnea Superior

Hotel Balnea Superior

looking towards the window
Traveler (505)
Camera
Room & Suite (168)
Dining (58)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, Jun 1
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
$256
$209
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 3 hotels in Dolenjske Toplice
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.3
Exclusive furnishings. Natural materials. A glass-enclosed panoramic passageway to Balnea Wellness Centre. An intimate atmosphere. Suites with a fireplace, plus a whirlpool bath in the bedroom. Spacious air-conditioned rooms have free Internet access, a toilet, shower or whirlpool bath, LCD TV with cable channels and hotel information, a hairdryer, alarm clock radio, tumble dryer, minibar, telephone with a direct outside line, safety-deposit box. Most of the rooms have a balcony with seating. Suites have separate sleeping and living areas. Most of the suites have a fireplace in the living area and a whirlpool bath in the sleeping area.Free wireless Internet access is available in the reception area, coffee bar, seminar halls and other parts of the ground and the lower ground floor. The hotel's Internet area features two computers.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
Spa
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Poolside bar
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Hammam
Massage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View

Location

Zdraviliski trg 7, Dolenjske Toplice 8350 Slovenia
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 48 out of 100
48
Brnik Airport
43.3 mi
See all flights
Rijeka Airport
44.4 mi
See all flights
422Reviews6Q+A40Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 235
  • 138
  • 38
  • 5
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Miroslav K wrote a review Jul 2020
Grosuplje, Slovenia338 contributions53 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Solid 4 star hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Room is large, materials used are solid and maintenance is good. Dining is situated in an annex to old hotel Kristal and it is a bit awkward to go out of the building (even if it is just a few meters) for breakfast. Variety of food is quite good. Parking is free however it is hard to get free spot when the hotel is full.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Terme Krka, General Manager at Hotel Balnea Superior
Responded Aug 25, 2020
Thank you for the wonderful review! Welcome back again, we are looking forward to hosting you again. Best regards, hotel Balnea team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandra L wrote a review Aug 2023
Varazdin, Croatia206 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is one of the best in this range (4 stars superior) that we have been in Croatia and Slovenia. Rooms are spacious with big balconies and everything is very nicely decorated in the hotel. We especially liked sayings in different languages in elevators. Personnel at the reception is very polite and helpful, as well as in restaurant.
The food is really very good and there are plenty of choices. For dinner, there was a buffet for everything except the main course, where you can choose from several dishes.
Indoor pools were ok for us, although probably not very interesting for children. We were there during the winter, but they have water slides at outside pools. On Friday evenings they serve sparkling wine at the pools.
There is a long glass corridor to wellness and saunas. We usually spend a lot of time in saunas. They are not very big (to our standards), including the one where sauna programs with air swirling are held. During our weekend there was a crowd, because saunas are open also to outside guests. There are smaller saunas also at the top floor of the hotel Balnea.
They have a weekly program that offered some kind of recreation every day. Next to the hotel is also a nice garden with sculptures of Slovenian artists. Dolenjske Toplice are small but nice.
Our biggest problem was afterwards. I applied for membership in Terme Krka Club when leaving and despite several emails and promises, I never received a club card. So the follow-up care is not very good, but I will not lower my grade because of this, since it is not relevant for all prospective guests.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Saunas can be pretty crowdy on weekends, because of outside guests.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bostjan wrote a review Jun 2020
Ljubljana, Slovenia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After a while and righ after corona pandemy here we are again. The hotel is still perfect. Very friendly and professional service, clean and comfortable rooms, splendid food. All the measures against virus spreading are taken, but they are not disturbing. Like other guests we have felt very safe. Highly recomended.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Terme Krka, General Manager at Hotel Balnea Superior
Responded Aug 25, 2020
Thank you for the wonderful review! Welcome back again, we are looking forward to hosting you again. Best regards, hotel Balnea team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gorazd U wrote a review Jan 2022
Ljubljana, Slovenia2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
unfortunately I have to point out the great disappointment in the Balnea hotel restaurant. After a short Sunday visit to Dolenjske toplice (we were not accommodated in a hotel, we were external visitors, so we can only write a review of the restaurant), the atmosphere and friendliness of the restaurant staff invited us to a Sunday lunch at the restaurant of the Balnea Hotel. Everything was fine until the food came to the table. Oh what a disappointment, generic food to cry on. We ordered a Sunday lunch with Viennese steak and baked potatoes with some toppings on the menu. I can briefly describe our disappointment that the food was all wet to taste and inconspicuously prepared to look at. The meat was tough and the frying brown. Because we were hungry we ate the food. The next disappointment was the price. Food that was worse than the cheap menu in the student canteen was at least twice overpriced. I will not write specifically about the price and I will conclude that this is a restaurant with food for survival and nothing more than that. My advice - do stay away.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Terme Krka, General Manager at Hotel Balnea Superior
Responded Feb 11, 2022
Hi, Thank you for your message and for expressing your views. At Terme Krka restaurants, we offer our guests top-quality service and products. To satisfy their culinary wishes, we offer a varied selection of dishes every day at all meals – several types of starters, main courses, salads and desserts. We follow seasonal cycles, use local, home-grown foods and pay close attention to ensuring healthy cooking and balanced meals. Online reviews confirm that we are on the right track and that the vast majority of our diners like the flavours we prepare. On the day you visited us in Dolenjske Toplice, the popular Balnea Restaurant offered three types of lunch – a soup buffet, several types of main dishes, a salad buffet and a dessert buffet. We regret that the dishes you chose did not suit your taste. We strive for quality service at every step and in every area of our company, and we are grateful for any feedback you may give us. We hope to meet your expectations on your next visit. Kind regards, Terme Dolenjske Toplice team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon wrote a review Dec 2021
Ljubljana, Slovenia7 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Calm and relaxing atmosphere, facilities are very clean. We loved the small pools and water temperature in the old part of the spa.

Food was nice too, the tables are very close to each other though. Parking situation could be improved too, there are not enough parking spaces in the close proximity of the hotel, but there is plenty of space 5 min walk away. This was a bit annoying because I was told I cannot park in front of the hotel and I need to repark, but some other cars stayed parked there for the whole weekend.

All in all it was a very pleasant weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nace wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited with two small children for the weekend. Great experience. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable rooms. Just what we needed for a relaxed weekend. Dinner was self service and mostly very good. Recommend it!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: quiet, great location
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barbara H wrote a review Jul 2014
Domzale, Slovenia14 contributions10 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Too expensive for children - in my case no discount for children under 10 years old - rude staff...I would never go back, if it was not for my dauthers medical treatments...food was the same...pork in 100 difrent ways, desserts not for sweet tooth...i liked the room...very clean... In hotel bar no newspapers or just the ones forgotten by guests
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helene E wrote a review Jul 2016
Tel Aviv, Israel19 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It's my second vacation at Balnea -Dolenjske Toplice.First time I remained with a "want more" sensation.
The second time -I appreciated the improvements: modern rooms with excelent appliances, therapeutic facilities meeting special problems ...and the staff -helping,smiling ,almost guessing what you need!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adriana T wrote a review May 2016
Tel Aviv, Israel29 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
For the 3 time we travelled and looked for the comfort of this hotel and the KIRKA SPA and Wellness center complex. we enjoy it a lot. Very comfortable, helpful and very good stuff. The pools are great with their warm natural water.
Very professional stuff with a lot of experience in treatments of body paints like hydrotherapy , massages and many more.
Good basic, local fresh and healthy food. You can feel the empathy and good managing .
I liked very much the trips in the neighborhood , and the Nordic Walking on the hills.
At list once a year , it is a must to stop the trepid life and take a break to refresh yourself.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Higher floor with view to the magnificent green park
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
europebyfoot87 wrote a review Apr 2016
Tel Aviv, Israel55 contributions22 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Went to the thermal pools at the hotel after reading a lot about it, and since it was snowing it was the only thing to do in the area.
For 9 euros per person you enter the pools through the hotel. The "Thermal spas" are just three pools with no apparent difference between them, just like any normal heated indoor swimming pools.
While there's a locker, you don't even get a single towel. When asked, the guy at the entrence said you can get one at the hotel.
At the hotel reception they said you can get one from the lockers. At the end we didn't get any towels, even after slipping while wet and falling right in front of the guy at the entrence.

Long story short - just three simple heated pools and you must bring your own towels. Can't believe we drove here especially for this.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Terme_Krka_Spa, Manager at Hotel Balnea Superior
Responded May 3, 2016
Dear Mr! Thank you for alerting us to the problem you have experienced and your opinion. I deeply regret your unpleasant experience at our pools. According to your description, I assume you visited the medical pool complex at the Vital Hotel which is mainly intended for our guests undergoing medical treatments and consequently does not offer so many relaxing delights as the Balnea pool complex. The latter is connected to the Balnea Hotel with a panoramic hallway and offers its guests countless pampering possibilities – in addition to the pools and saunas, there are also massages, baths, …. We also appreciate you pointing out the problem with the towels and I would like to inform you that the issue has already been dealt with. Our guests’ satisfaction is our main aim so we constantly strive to provide them with numerous positive experiences, while reducing the unpleasant ones to as few as possible. It’s our sincere wish to amend the bad experience of your last visit so we kindly invite you to visit us again. Andrej Božič, Manager of Dolenjske Toplice Spa business unit
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MarcoBos_OT asked a question Dec 2018
Cesena, Italy55 contributions20 helpful votes
per chi ha deciso di fare mezza pensione, per il pranzo come ha fatto ?
Answer from Daniele B
Udine, Italy86 contributions67 helpful votes
Nella zona saune mettono a disposizione delle ottime mele.
Answer from Giuliano X
Thiene, Italy316 contributions152 helpful votes
E' solo per l'arredamento. Contiene acqua calda e si entra nudi maschi e femmine
Patrizia T asked a question Apr 2017
Montefiascone, Italy18 contributions8 helpful votes
ci sono idromassaggi nelle piscine?
Answer from Marino C
Porto Recanati, Italy106 contributions54 helpful votes
si sia all'interno che all'esterno.
Sandra L wrote a tip Aug 2023
Varazdin, Croatia206 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Saunas can be pretty crowdy on weekends, because of outside guests."
Read full review
Nace wrote a tip Jan 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"quiet, great location"
Read full review
Maja Martina M wrote a tip Mar 2019
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A suite is a must see! And experience! :)"
Read full review
christa72016 wrote a tip Jun 2018
Chicago, Illinois4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our room had a lovely view out the back towards the pool area.."
Read full review
Keith A wrote a tip Jun 2018
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms have a nice balcony with two chairs and a table."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dolenjske Toplice area.
PRICE RANGE
$250 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SloveniaLower Carniola RegionDolenjske Toplice
NUMBER OF ROOMS
62
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL BALNEA SUPERIOR

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Balnea Superior
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Balnea Superior?
Nearby attractions include Berryshka Distillery and Chocolatier (1.2 miles) and Sokol Bar (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Balnea Superior?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Balnea Superior?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Balnea Superior?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Balnea Superior?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Balnea Superior?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ostarija, Gostilna Pod smrekco, and Gostilna pri Henriku Henrik Kocjancic s.p..
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Balnea Superior?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Hotel Balnea Superior located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.03 miles away from the center of Dolenjske Toplice.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Balnea Superior?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Balnea Superior offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Balnea Superior?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Breg (6.1 miles), WW2 bunker in Drska, Novo mesto (5.6 miles), and Šance in obrambno obzidje (6.3 miles).
All Dolenjske Toplice HotelsDolenjske Toplice Hotel DealsHotels near Hotel Balnea Superior
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars