We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
27, G.Leontos Str, Rhodes Town 851 00 Greece
Lowest prices for your stay
Only 1 left at
$103
View deal
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Expedia.com$103
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (108)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (105)

About

#60 of 124 hotels in Rhodes Town
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
3.9
Value
3.6
The Athena Hotel is a beautiful three star hotel in the center of Rhodes Town. Located only fifty meters from Elli beach and in short distance from the luxurious Casino, the Medieval city of Rhodes, the Hydro-biological Aquarium, the Museum, the Palace of the Knights, and the shoping center of Mandraki.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
Car hire
Baggage storage
Concierge
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Finnish, Greek and 2 more
259Reviews4Q+A19Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 50
  • 103
  • 64
  • 27
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
MCoey wrote a review Aug 1
Ipswich, United Kingdom88 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
This hotel is located literally a two minute walk from the beach,with bars and restaurants and It’s about a 15 minute walk to the port and old town.Wr stayed for 4 nights and I can honestly say it was a great find and we were so glad we stayed here.Can’t fault the staff both on reception and maids or the cleanliness of the hotel throughout.Rooms were quite small for a family but we only slept there and we had a decent size balcony which included table snd chairs and an airer for our clothes which was very useful.The rooms had free air con which worked fine and kept us cool at night.you just leave your key in the switch when you enter the room and it turns on.Also if you close and lock the patio door it automatically comes on.We found the beds very comfy and would have been changed,along with towels,every 3 days.which was fine for us.The pool was lovely and clean as was around the pool area.Sunbeds we’re always taken quite early though,so need to get one fast if wanting a pool day.We we’re given free towels to use for the pool and had to pay 5 euros refundable deposit if taking them to the beach.We didn’t eat or drink at this hotel so can’t comment about that.We can not fault this hotel and were so pleased we stayed here.After a two year wait to travel and having to change bookings several times,we were not disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
pernille h wrote a review Jun 2022
Oslo, Norway3 contributions
If you use makeup and exist nearby the towels expect a 30€ fee. small stains removeable with hand soap was too much of a job for the industrial washing machine. bad customer service everywhere from the bar to the reception. would not recommend to anyone, bad beds too. on my other friends room the aircondition didnt work and it was 30°. breakfast was extremely mediocre. but you cant expect anything more from a 3 star hotel. good bye and thank you
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: avoid going here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MarJoLii wrote a review Jun 2022
Turku, Finland2 contributions
Nice hotel, first got a room which was an absolute no no...then the most friendly receptionist (Lady) found us a perfect room from 6th floor! Great thanks to her for replacing!! Breakfast is nice, the hotel in all is nice, one receptionist (male) is arrogant and rude though. We've now tried to talk to him for few days, with no result and total silence in return, so now decided to quit trying. Obviously his akward and weird arrogancy and irrelevant behavior tells a lot about his class... but other than that the service has been excellent! Too bad that the whole accommodatiom experience can be nullified (with few percents) cause some people who obviously are not good for the business.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
GAIL H wrote a review Nov 2021
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom63 contributions73 helpful votes
Absolutely revolting. The staff are duplicitous, and obnoxious. The room was filthy. It was not sea view as booked. It was a dirty street with a set of traffic lights. The whole hotel was dirty. The room and the landing. Positive reviews relate to customers they have had in the past . Not new customers. Who they put in these appalling rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Just avoiud. It's not good
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ewa A wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
+1
Nice and helpful staff, rooms cleaned every day, towels and cosmetics changed regularly. Wide selection of food for breakfast which was always fresh and tasty. Rooms well equipped, great advantage was free WiFi available in the hotel room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Perek24 wrote a review Sep 2021
Ashford, United Kingdom276 contributions153 helpful votes
Stayed here just for one night awaiting to catch our early morning ferry. Rooms are clean and tidy and everything worked. Hard to say about the hotel facilities as our stay was very short. We couldn't fault the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Iryna P wrote a review Aug 2021
21 contributions12 helpful votes
The hotel is located between two seas - Aegean and Mediterranean. The rooms are clean and comfy. The perfect location of the hotel allowed us to visit every beautiful corner of Rhodes city by foot. The stuff is very friendly and always ready to answer all your questions. We really enjoyed our stay and breakfasts served.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Supertraveller wrote a review Jul 2021
3 contributions
The staff was rude. And the hotel needs construction very badly. Cannot recommend for anyone. Bathroom stinks and the ac was from 80s (like everything else). Wifi does NOT work in the hotel room and poorly over all.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gabriele wrote a review May 2021
Athens, Greece11 contributions14 helpful votes
Me and my girlfriend stayed in the hotel for three days. As we were expecting the hotel is in a good position, not too far from the city centre and close to the beach. One of the two receptions was a little bit rude with us, during the check in we were expecting a warm welcome in that beautiful island but instead of that we found her at the bar chatting with a colleague, and we find that not professional at all. The first room they gave us has got a very old bathroom and the tv was not working, we asked for a change and on the second room the bathroom was nice but still has some issue like the key holder (the one that turns on the electricity) was not safe, when we inserted the key for the first time it simply detached from the wall. The breakfast has got many choices but the majority of the items was not fresh and the quality of each product was very poor, especially drinks like orange juice were not fresh, we were very disappointed about that. Last but not list during the checkout we had another problem at the reception because we previously asked for a later checkout which was approved prior to our arrival at the hotel but still we were accused by the receptionist in a very rood manner to have “broke the hotel’s rules”. At that point the hotel manager came out from the back office and make us aware that there was a misunderstanding between us, the hotel and booking and made his apologies, it was one of the few people in the hotel that really cares about the customer feelings and needs. We do not recommend this hotel to couples or families, during the night it’s very difficult to have some peace and quiet environment because rooms are not well isolated from one another. I’m really sorry but that’s not what we were expecting, it’s not like the photos and it’s not like the description given by the hotel, we will come beck in Rhodes for sure but we won’t come back at the Athena hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Κωνσταντινος Πάχος, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hotel Athena
Responded Jul 3, 2021
Thank you for your kind comments but we are sorry to inform you that you are very wrong about few things you mention. Firstly you were NEVER offered old food in our buffets, you were 2 of our first guests in the hotel since we opened for summer season on the 23rd of May and everything was brought at our hotel and cooked freshly every day. NOTHING is ever aged in our buffets. Secondly as explained from both me as a manager and our receptionist you placed a request for a late check out via booking.com which was reply as confirmed based on availability and which you never confirmed at reception but we never the less offered you the late check out.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen Ellis wrote a review Aug 2020
21 contributions12 helpful votes
came here for 3 nights and had a great experience, nothing bad to say. right in the middle of everything about 10 steps to the beach and the staff at reception was great. Breakfast was good for what you pay. Lovely drinks at the bar and the pool was great! There were temperature checks and hand sanitiser regularly too so this made me feel safe. Also the bed was soooooo comfy
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$32 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
athena hotel rhodes town
LOCATION
GreeceSouth AegeanDodecaneseRhodesRhodes Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
122
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Athena
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Athena?
Nearby attractions include Flaws (0.1 miles), Enigma Escape Experience (0.2 miles), and Boomerang Sports Pub (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Athena?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Athena?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Athena?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Athena?
Conveniently located restaurants include Carne, Greek Stories, and Ono by Marouli.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Athena?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Athena?
Yes, dry cleaning and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Athena?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Italian, Greek, Swedish, and Finnish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Athena?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Street of the Knights (0.6 miles), Fortifications of Rhodes (0.5 miles), and Mandraki Harbour (0.3 miles).