Amphitryon Hotel

Amphitryon Hotel

view of the stone diving board from the baia seaside cafe
Traveler (210)
Panorama of the Pool at the Amphitryon Boutique Hotel
360
Panoramas (26)
Room/suite
Room & Suite (167)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, May 30
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
$81
$71
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#88 of 121 hotels in Rhodes Town
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.0
Value
3.8

Welcome to Amphitryon Boutique Hotel, your Rhodes Town “home away from home.” Amphitryon Boutique Hotel aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Colossus of Rhodes (0.2 mi) and Mandraki Harbour (0.2 mi), guests of Amphitryon Boutique Hotel can easily experience some of Rhodes Town's most well known attractions.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and air conditioning, and you can stay connected during your stay as Amphitryon Boutique Hotel offers guests free internet access.

The hotel features a 24 hour front desk, a sun terrace, and baggage storage. Plus, Amphitryon Boutique Hotel offers a pool and a poolside bar, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, there is free public parking available nearby.

While in Rhodes Town, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Amphitryon Boutique Hotel, including Tamam (0.3 mi), Koukos (0.3 mi), and Marco Polo Cafe (0.4 mi).

If you are interested in exploring Rhodes Town, check out one of the government buildings, such as Governor’s Palace (Customer Service Center of Prefecture Dodekanisou) and Rhodes' Town Hall.

Amphitryon Boutique Hotel puts the best of Rhodes Town at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free internet
Wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Greek

Location

Alexandrou Diakou 10, Rhodes Town 85100 Greece
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Diagoras Airport
Dalaman Airport
36.3 mi
See all flights
438Reviews7Q+A61Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 112
  • 148
  • 82
  • 31
  • 65
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
AliG wrote a review Aug 2022
Altrincham, United Kingdom12 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Amphitryon Boutique Hotel. Well the name might be over-egging the charms of this hotel but we’ve really enjoyed our stay and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The hotel is really well positioned in a quiet area just 2 minutes walk from the walls of Rhodes Old Town (and innumerable bars and restaurants) and a leisurely 10 minute stroll to the pebbly Casino Beach.

The rooms were spacious, cleaned every day, with good aircon (essential in July), comfortable beds but no room safe (as advertised). View from our large balcony was disappointing as was the fact the balcony/terrace was shared with the nextdoor room. Other rooms had smaller private balconies.

We stayed B&B. The buffet breakfast was basic but as expected but only served til 10:00am. The pool area is a small suntrap - clean, well maintained with about 15 sunbeds and a few dining tables so sunbeds were occupied quickly! Pool not suitable for small children. Bar/snackbar at the poolside. The two lunches we had in the hotel were great but the lunch menu was reduced to sandwiches only in our second week.

All in all a great place to stay and good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicholas Koveos, General Manager at Amphitryon Hotel
Responded Aug 6, 2022
Thank you for your positive review and kind comments. We are glad that you had a relaxing, safe, and enjoyable stay with us. We appreciate your review about your hotel experience and we would be more than happy to welcome you all once again if your travels ever bring you all back to Rhodes Greece!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John Z wrote a review Jun 2022
20 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a brilliant weeks stay. We found the hotels location perfect. 3 minutes walk to the Old Town, you're in the New Town for all the restaurants and shops and less than 10 minutes stroll to either of the beaches. Breakfast was super with a vast choice to suit everyones needs. The buffet evening meal for €10 was a bargin and snacks of the menus were excellent. The rooms were basic but clean. We had a balcony overlooking the street ( which we asked for ) which had a good shower and very good air conditioning.
The best part of the hotel were the staff, who were lovely, friendly and most welcoming, especially the girl who ran the bar in the afternoon and evening who went above and beyond to help.
All in we had a wonderful stay and loved it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicholas Koveos, General Manager at Amphitryon Hotel
Responded Jun 17, 2022
Thank you for your positive review and kind comments. We are glad that you had a relaxing, safe, and enjoyable stay with us at the Amphitryon Hotel. We appreciate your review about your hotel experience and we would be more than happy to welcome you all once again if your travels ever bring you all back to Rhodes Greece!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brighteyes wrote a review Feb 2020
7 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely little hotel in a fabulous central location. Room basic but clean and comfortable. Staff helpful and polite. The only problem was the noise from outside bad we had a street facing room. Also the noise from adjoining rooms, TVs, people shouting etc.. meant we didn't sleep a wink. This didn't spoil our stay though.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicolaos Koveos, General Manager at Amphitryon Hotel
Responded Aug 19, 2020
Thank you Brighteyes1972 for your positive review and genuine kind words. We take pride in our services, kindness, and professionalism alongside our holiday experiences. We appreciate all of your sincere comments and suggestions and take note of these for our future guests for a better overall holiday experience. We are happy you had a relaxing, safe and carefree holiday and if your travels bring you back to Rhodes, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back again. Until then, stay safe.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GeoP wrote a review Sep 2021
Scotland, United Kingdom7 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is a disaster. First day we arrived they placed us in the room 405. The room had nothing to do with the photos on the website. Shower had a curtain which hasn't been changed for YEARS! The curtain was supposed to be white but on the bottom the colour had turned into dark yellow!!!Just to mention a shower curtain cost 5 euros! When we tried to turn on the air condition it wasn't working so I called the reception. They tried to convince us that the air condition was OK as they didn't have any other complaints (strong argument) but I demanded to change room. In the new room (room 411) the controller of the air condition wasn't working so I took the initiative and went to the old room and exchange the controllers. Finally we had a room with air condition. The new room had a much better bathroom with shower screen (no yellow curtain) with a very dirty hair dryer that I believe it was last cleaned when the shower curtain was placed in the first room. We stayed there for 6 nights. They never changed the sheets and the towels, the never mopped the floor, actually the didn't provide any service a 4 star hotel is supposed to provide especially during covid times! The "cleaner" was just folding our towels and sheets so she was not actually cleaning but just increasing the risk of spreading covid as she was touching all the surfaces/sheets/towels of all rooms. Generally the hotel is not well maintained, it is very dirty and surely you can not call it boutique hotel as it has no style or nice decoration. It is more a 2 star hotel, not even 3 star and surely not a 4 star hotel! It could be a good hotel if the managers/owners cared enough. The only good thing is the location. Rhodes is beautiful so just pick another hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicholas Koveos, General Manager at Amphitryon Hotel
Responded May 12, 2022
Thank you for your review, and our sincerest apologies to hear of your less than satisfactory experience on our behalf. As all of our other guest reviews show, we all holiday in a different way and we were unfortunate as it seems to have not fulfilled your holiday expectations. Our guests' comments are always analyzed so we can follow through to make sure that our services are always looked after for our future guests. We respect every guests insightful holiday experience alongside us every year, however your portrayal of the hotel is utterly false as you have tried to paint a dark picture of the entire hotel, it's services, it's hospitality, and it's surroundings. From your comments we would expected you to approach our reception desk and inform us of any issues you were having which you did not do unfortunately so we could enhance your experience alongside us. We would recommend on your next review, a more truthful and courteous review which truly reflects the wholehearted services and products that you wanted and experienced through your holiday provider that you chose to book your holidays with. We wish you the best of luck on your future travels !!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cherylanne C wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked through love holidays, was advertised with a restaurant and pool and all regular amenities, we have arrived and the pool is empty. The restaurant isn’t open after breakfast (10am) and because you have to go through the bar / restaurant area to the pool , with it being closed - so is the whole poolside area.

It should state that the restaurant and pool isn’t open as it’s false advertising. It’s only opened for breakfast and then locks the doors meaning you have no access to any seating area other than your one seat size balcony (unless you get a bigger room)

If I was aware there wasn’t an evening restaurant / seating & a pool we wouldn’t have booked to stay here. It makes it worse that we can’t even sit outside together unless we go to a cafe.

Reception staff don’t give a crap either.

Would book in a hostel for the same service
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicholas Koveos, General Manager at Amphitryon Hotel
Responded May 12, 2022
Thank you for your review, and our sincerest apologies to hear of your less than satisfactory experience on our behalf. As all of our other guest reviews show, we all holiday in a different way and we were unfortunate as it seems to have not fulfilled your holiday expectations. Our guests' comments are always analyzed so we can follow through to make sure that our services are always looked after for our future guests. We respect every guests insightful holiday experience alongside us every year, however your portrayal of the hotel is utterly false as you have tried to paint a dark picture of the entire hotel, it's services, it's hospitality, and it's surroundings. From your comments we would expected you to approach our reception desk and inform us of any issues you were having which you did not do unfortunately so we could enhance your experience alongside us. We would recommend on your next review, a more truthful and courteous review which truly reflects the wholehearted services and products that you wanted and experienced through your holiday provider that you chose to book your holidays with. We wish you the best of luck on your future travels !!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian G wrote a review Oct 2022
44 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this through hotels com and didn’t realise they used a third party to book. Booked promo room and was never told this meant you got cheapest room in hotel. Didn’t fit with description on hotels com. No furnished balcony and tiny room. Spoke with receptionist who was very helpful and agreed to move us to a better room Room a lot better but still a tiny balcony with no furniture and scruffy views. On the positive staff are all really nice especially the man behind the bar and the staff who worked long hours at the reception. Breakfast very good with loads of choice including continental. Bacon sausage eggs etc. excellent location in centre of Rhodes town to walk to old town harbour or beaches Overall enjoyed our stay but if wanted a better quality hotel would book one on seafront with sea views.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t book promo room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicholas Koveos, General Manager at Amphitryon Hotel
Responded Oct 11, 2022
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a relaxing, safe, and enjoyable stay with us. We appreciate your review about your hotel experience and we would be more than happy to welcome you all once again if your travels ever bring you all back to Rhodes Greece!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Orry Best wrote a review Aug 2022
26 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is simply below average in terms of premises and by no means is a 4 star, but despite this, it's a good choice for people who value simplicity and location. Where ever you are in the city you can reach the hotel and rest easy and quickly. You can appreciate that hugely. The breakfast can satisfy most of people so there you go. Don't underestimate that because if you want a hugely luxury hotel you will end up far and alone in an island which supposed to be famous for it's old town capital which doesn't luck of beaches anyway. Our room was small but there is nothing wrong to say about it. It goes well right the hotel itself. Everything works just fine. No luxury but very convenient. That's just about it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicholas Koveos, General Manager at Amphitryon Hotel
Responded Aug 16, 2022
Thank you for your positive review and comments. We are glad that you had a relaxing, safe, and enjoyable stay with us at the Amphitryon Hotel. We appreciate your review about your hotel experience and we would be more than happy to welcome you all once again if your travels ever bring you all back to Rhodes Greece!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OnAir61439834503 wrote a review Apr 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely shocking hotel.. don’t know where to start. Doors don’t close properly, toilets don’t flush, the sinks spin when touched, rooms do not look like as advertised on many pages and the air con did not work properly. Wasn’t made aware of checkout time either verbally or in the forms filled during check in and blamed for not asking myself, which obviously was not going to be on the front of the mind whilst on holiday this led to us being forced to pay an extra fee due to leaving ‘late’ our flight was not until later on in the evening and me and a friend who travelled here were left with a suitcase on the streets waiting for four hours for our previously booked transfer. I am not one to complain but this hotel shocked me incredibly, we will not be returning. I advise you save your money as they’ll make any excuse to charge you further. Also tried blaming us for not paying tourism tax when first checked in which we were again not made aware of, then paid in fully but did not appreciate the accusation that came from the fault of a member of staff. Staff have lack of respect and little training from our experience.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicholas Koveos, General Manager at Amphitryon Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review and comments, and our sincerest apologies to hear of your less than satisfactory experience on our behalf. As all of our other guest reviews show, we all holiday in a different way and we were unfortunate as it seems to have not fulfilled your holiday expectations. We still wish you all well on your future travels!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
james t wrote a review Jul 2022
Stirling, United Kingdom23 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Good pumped to this hotel from Evita resort hotel as they had double booked.
At 4am crabbit this isn't what 2 adults and 3 kids are wanting to here.
This is a sister hotel I got told from the taxi driver also told me that this happens all the time every weekend.
So after booking 2 rooms they put us in a suite 1 double bed 1 double pull out bed and 1 camp bed.

Camp bed stunk of sick or urine so that got fired outside.
3 kids sleeping in 1 bed where to tired to argue.

A disgrace you have to pay me to stay here.
And I'm not cheap.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicholas Koveos, General Manager at Amphitryon Hotel
Responded Jul 21, 2022
Thank you for your review, and our sincerest apologies to hear of your less than satisfactory experience on our behalf. We take notice of and respect all comments and holiday scenarios from our guests. Please note that as a result of minor maintenance issues some rooms have been reallocated to alternate Hotels with the same star rating along with services and amenities that match our own hotel. Our sympathies go our to you as a result of the unforeseen circumstances however, you have received the same services and amenities that you have paid for through your travel agent. We would recommend however on your next review, a more truthful and courteous review that truly reflects the wholehearted services and products that you wanted and experienced and not to portray a dark picture of the entire hotel, it's services, it's hospitality, and it's surroundings in such a disingenuous and uncourteous manner. We wish you all the best of luck on your future travels !!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lars K wrote a review Aug 2022
Holstebro, Denmark82 contributions48 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was as expected.
We think it was in a really good place. 5 minutes' walk from the harbour, and a little more to the beach. Lots of places to eat close by. The hotel looks a little tired, but they keep it nice and clean. The staff were nice and welcoming. The pool area is not large, and could use a loving hand. Here I am thinking particularly of a tall sad wall to the neighboring building.

Small details such as no towels in the room on arrival, a toilet that could tilt a bit, a loose soap holder in the shower cubicle and a leaking shower hose could not spoil our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicholas Koveos, General Manager at Amphitryon Hotel
Responded Aug 9, 2022
Thank you for your positive review and comments. We are glad that you had a relaxing, safe, and enjoyable stay with us. We appreciate your review about your hotel experience and we would be more than happy to welcome you all once again if your travels ever bring you all back to Rhodes Greece!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen F asked a question Jan 2017
London, United Kingdom17 contributions19 helpful votes
Is there free parking at hotel ?
Answer from JulijaBg
Belgrade, Serbia32 contributions17 helpful votes
not officially, but we parked in front of hotel few times like other locals and we had not any problems, no one complained
Answer from Evitahotels
Attica, Greece3 contributions4 helpful votes
Hello Chantal B and thank you for reaching out to us concerning your question. The Junior Suite you have booked has 2 normal extra beds for your children. I'm sure that you will have a very comfortable stay with us for the 7 nights you have booked. If you have any further questions you are more than welcome to contact us again at your leisure. Until then stay safe to you all!!
Odyssey30366352184 asked a question May 2021
Can i do a check in under 18?
Answer from Evitahotels
Attica, Greece3 contributions4 helpful votes
Hello and thank you for considering the Amphitryon Hotel for your holiday destination!! You are more than welcome to check in if you are at least 17 years old. Normally you will need 1 person at least 18 years of age, however as we are a city hotel, you can all check-in if you are at least 17 years of age. If there is anything else we can be of help with, please do not hesitate to contact us again at your leisure.
Answer from Claude L
22 contributions8 helpful votes
Bonjour, Je suis partie en voyage organisé avec un guide nous accompagnant tout au long de notre séjour. Il faut vous adresser directement par mail à cet hôtel, en écrivant en anglais, car ils ne parlent pas du tout le français. Claude
Κικι Β wrote a tip Sep 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"follow the reviews, the experience is bad with hotel hygiene."
Read full review
Josie wrote a tip Jun 2023
Subotica, Serbia46 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"the locatio is really awesome. "
Read full review
Nay G wrote a tip Jun 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dont take children"
Read full review
Ian G wrote a tip Oct 2022
44 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t book promo room"
Read full review
Masa N wrote a tip Jul 2022
8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nice hotel. Everything is near. Public parking in front of hotel. 30m is shop.50m is the best ice cream Buffle.Only 2 min away from old town"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rhodes Town area.
PRICE RANGE
$43 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GreeceSouth AegeanDodecaneseRhodesRhodes Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AMPHITRYON HOTEL $45 ($̶6̶2̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Amphitryon Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Amphitryon Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Aromaterie (0.1 miles), Anastasia Cruises (0.2 miles), and Flaws (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Amphitryon Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Amphitryon Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Amphitryon Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Amphitryon Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Amphitryon Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gelatiamo Rhodes laboratory, Ono by Marouli, and Greek Stories.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Amphitryon Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Amphitryon Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Amphitryon Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Street of the Knights (0.3 miles), Fortifications of Rhodes (0.1 miles), and Mandraki Harbour (0.2 miles).
All Rhodes Town HotelsRhodes Town Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Rhodes TownHotels near Amphitryon Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars