We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villas Hermosas

Traveler (406)
360
Panoramas (12)
Pool & Beach (167)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The distinctive beachfront hotel, Villas Hermosas, is located in Playa Hermosa of Mal Pais on the Pacific Ocean in Costa Rica. Please come and share with them their playful surf, thriving jungle, empty beaches, tropical gardens, and inviting swimming pool, while enjoying all the comforts of home! With only four villas, they offer a uniquely intimate experience.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Quiet
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
339Reviews
695Photos
6Q+A
66Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 329
  • 7
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
this property definitely matches their 96% rating! very clean villas, has everything you need. clean property, friendly staff. the beach and ocean is a 10 m walk away. 10 minutes from Santa Teresa, very convenient but still secluded so you feel like you are on a deserted
Read more
We were in love with Villas Hermosas upon arrival! Our spacious villa was immaculate and quiet - well except for the howler monkeys (which we love!). The pristine beach was a 2 minute walk through the glorious and well appointed tropical garden. Our daughter enjoyed the surf
Read more
This review is an honest and transparent account of my experience. I booked a 10 day stay at the resort for me and my family in the high season. I paid a $1850 deposit when I booked it. When we arrived, we found that our villa was not clean. There was a fingernail on the
Read more
Response from VillasHermosas, Owner at Villas Hermosas
Responded May 3, 2017
Ah, we have been waiting for this review! Unfortunately from the moment this family arrived in the office to check in (long before they ever entered the villa) their vibe was notably negative, especially compared to our usual amazing guests. Not surprisingly this family has come for 4 years to this area, and stayed at a different place every time, trying to find a place that satisfies them. In over 10 years of our hotel being open, of course we have had guests decide that this place was not for them. This being a very rare event is very evident if you look at our reviews on this site and this being our first and only 1-star review in all of those years. This was what Brad was trying to get across, that no place is for everyone, and we simply cannot make everyone happy, even if we try our hardest. When he mentioned that you were in the jungle, it was because you kept insisting that you were in hospitality in New York City…obviously this is a very different environment. It is possible that our girls could have rushed the cleaning process that day, as the past guests had stayed a bit past check-out, and we were trying to have the large villa ready for you upon your arrival, and we apologize for that . A few crumbs from the toaster in the cupboard, and under the mini-bar unfortunately were not caught, so we had them go back in and scrub every surface down, and make sure everything was perfect as to your list of requests (including changing the comforter that had a dime-size bleach stain on the underside, double-casing all pillows, etc.)…but it was to no avail. During this time you had driven into town, in search of a new place to stay, so the electrical issues over dinner (we have zero control over the town’s electricity and a generator to minimize any inconveniences to our guests), and any issues with our breakfast (that your kids raved about) were not any reason why you left – you had already booked another place and were planning to move in the morning. Yes, you were charged a 50% deposit to hold the villa, and when you decided to leave we did not charge you for the other half of your stay, even though our policy and the terms you agreed to state otherwise. We do not offer refunds when clients do not do their research as to villa’s design, property design, etc., as we are a tiny 4-room hotel that relies on advance bookings. We blocked that villa off for you, turned other people away for those dates, and tried to rectify all issues with smiles on our faces. Nobody who lives in our area does so to make a lot of money – we do it for the lifestyle and operating costs in Santa Teresa are shockingly high. So, yes, the money we earn from our 4 villas is the money with which our family lives and eats. Brad joking about $20 horse lessons for our daughter (only, not me), was trying to make the very uncomfortable situation lighter and have you understand that, financially, we simply could not do it. We did, in fact, offer to refund any nights we could fill with other clients, but we were not able to so last minute. We have always fairly offered discounts and refunds to guests if need be; we are very flexible. However in your case we did not feel the situation warranted it. We had done all that we could to make you happier, provided exactly what we advertise, and that is all we can do. We hope you were able to find a place where you were comfortable in your surroundings and enjoyed your trip.
Read more
+19
My wife and I and our two kids (ages 11 and 9) had the good fortune of staying at the Villas Hermosas for 3 nights. This is no cookie-cutter resort -- it is so much better and more authentic. The properly consists of a main house, where the awesome proprietors Brad and Tara
Read more
Brad and his wife Tara are great people and have worked hard to design a wonderful vacation destination for the entire family. This place is truly amazing and the hospitality of these two surpasses anything I have been privy to and we travel two to three times per year. Right
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Business Center & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorVillas Hermosas
The Poolside Family Villa at the Villas Hermosas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorVillas Hermosas
The Poolside Family Villa at the Villas Hermosas
Our private home away from home
Honeymoon Suite
Living room
PreviousNext
12345653
San José airport and then you can take a 30min flight to Tambor.
0 votes
June can be intense, but folks who live there say it's a very cool time to be there. Rain, yes, and the mountains flushing debris into the the ocean via gushing streams and rivers. They say it's very cool. But rainy. I've only been at the end of the month when it was tapering. July is great though - Rainy season honeymoon period.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hello, I am not sure if you meant to send this question to a particular reviewer, but this June was very dry (too dry, in fact, as water was an issue for us locals!), and this has been the general trend the last few years. In fact, June was drier than July has proved to be so far, but usually June/July/August are the driest months of our Green Season. Any other questions, let me know. Tara @ Villas Hermosas
0 votes
Hi Debra, "best time of year" depends on the individual guest. Our high season is Nov-Apr, but the green season is preferred by many guests. Yes, there are private and public shuttle. We can organize many different types of day tours as you can see on our ADVENTURE section of our website. Also please visit our FAQ page on our website (sorry, Tripadvisor will not allow me to post the website links) for more answers to common questions. Tara @ Villas Hermosas
2 votes
Show all answers
Como hago para reservar?
Saludos, para reservar puede llamarnos a 2640-0630, por correo electronico, o hay un formulario en nuestra pagina de web "RESERVATIONS" (no me permite de incluir una pagina de web ni coreo aqui en TripAdvisor. Gracias para su interes!
0 votes
PreviousNext
12
"all rooms are good."
"I'm sure all the villas are amazing, but if the beachfront is available, take it."
"We stayed in the 2 bedroom house on the beach."
"This is not a 5 star hotel! It is fairly basic, but clean and comfortable!"
"Any room is good,"
PreviousNext
12345614
ALSO KNOWN AS
villas hermosas hotel santa teresahermosas hotel santa teresa
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasSanta Teresa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing