We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dreamcatcher Hotel

1 km North of the Crossroads, Santa Teresa 60111 Costa Rica
avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (112)
Pool & Beach (35)
Room & Suite (33)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#20 of 29 hotels in Santa Teresa
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.4
Atrapasuenos-Dreamcatcher is an eco–friendly boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa beach in the southern Nicoya Peninsula of Costa Rica, ideally situated a few meters from one of the best beaches in the country. The property is surrounded by a beautiful, luscious tropical garden offering guests a feeling of seclusion and relaxation, set in the heart of town with easy access to grocery stores, restaurants, entertainment and transportation. Inspired by the environment, the hotel includes 12 private air-conditioned rooms that may be rented individually or all together to create an amazing private villa for families, weddings, group events and retreats. Restaurants, supermarkets, spas, beaches only a few steps away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkeling
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Massage
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
210Reviews4Q+A17Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 139
  • 48
  • 13
  • 5
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Scalex wrote a review Feb 2024
Sao Paulo, SP53 contributions18 helpful votes
Dreamcatcher is a small hotel but very well located, with gentle and capable staff, our room was very spacious with two gigantic beds and a nice balcony. The garden is well maintained and could be "experienced" in the room through the balcony. The room, bathroom, pools and breakfast area were always clean and organized at any time of the day or night. The check in and check out processes were easy and fast, with the communication starting few days after the reservation through WhatsApp and emails. Actually anytime we needed we could use WhatsApp to reach out for support.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
LizeCapeTown wrote a review Dec 2022
Luang Prabang, Laos54 contributions28 helpful votes
Beautiful hotel, but had very bad experience. Woken up at 1am by locals having a very loud party at the pool. It seems only one person who stays here let around 20 people in and decided to take over the common area around the pool with loud music. Apparently, they all know the owner and were quite familiar with the grounds. I spoke to some of the other guests and the said that the owner (Mauricio) Will not answer his phone, despise his being the number being supplied as the after hours contact. Not worth paying the premium for a “boutique hotel” if you will likely have a more sophisticated experience at a local backpackers.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Suzanne R wrote a review Dec 2022
6 contributions2 helpful votes
Our group rented the entire hotel and the staff couldn't have been nicer! While the hotel shows a bit tired it more than made up for it with having the pool and covered porch area right off the main house area. We had the use of the full main floor kitchen (two refrigerators too!) and were able to cook most meals here at the hotel. Carolina was our main contact and helped us make all our excursions which worked out really well. Bioluminescence tour, surfing lessons, ATV day, horseback riding and massages. She's WONDERFUL!! Can't say enough good things about about Jason (our guide for both the ATV and BIoluminescence tours. He ROCKS! Tiko and Tico for ATV and surfing but Carolina will help you. Miss Dora, housekeeper is just a lovely lady and put up with our limited Spanish. The front office offered many times to help us but we had everything arranged in advance since there were 18 of us total. The hotel offers lots of hammocks and gathering areas plus private areas off of each room so you can have some of your own quiet time if you'd like. Two observations-the road isn't paved through much of the city so be prepared for muddy shoes. We had shoes we could wash so it didn't matter to us. And we brought an insulated bag so we could take stuff to the beach every day--well worth it with young kids. We'd stay here again!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The beach is about a two minute easy walk.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Valeriya K wrote a review Jun 2022
Bergen, Norway37 contributions18 helpful votes
The hotel was recommended to us by friends and it was generally good. They have great pool. The room we booked was basic but spacious and clean. It had a small deck with a hammock which was lovely. Bed was not very comfortable but considering the price it was ok. Cost was a big plus - it was very affordable and price reflected the quality. A young man that checked us in was very friendly and helpful. Location is very central, close to everything and effectively on the beach (set in a forest but beach is 1min away). Room has hot water but pressure is poor. It also has fan and air-conditioning both working well. Wifi was also available and working well. However place is run down, perhaps due to COVID impacts. The room needs a face lift. But it is clean. It was quite loud early in the morning every single morning at about 630am with children yelling and people slamming doors. Perhaps some signs advising people to keep noise down till 730-8am. I know signs are not ideal but it is cheaper than fixing acoustics/sound insulation. Also our room had a "window" at the ceiling that went to the foyer. You couldn't look through it but it allowed a lot of light in and there was no curtain. It didn't allow us to sleep. We tried putting bags on a shelf next to the windows to block the light but it was too high. It needs a curtain or be filled as it serves no purpose. There was no place to dry your towels or clothes/swimmers. Most people took chairs from the pool and hang their things in the foyer. The veranda doors don't lock and a metal poll is used to secure them. The safe is advertised in the add but the pin doesn't work so the key has to be used and there is only 1 key for the whole building. We were here during quite season but it must be an issue for busy season. There was no tea facilities at all. There was a coffee machine in the room which didn't work well. But no cups. For us it was unusual as everywhere we stay even in very cheap hotels there is always tea making facilities. The lady told us to buy tea accross the road but there was no way for us to boil water. There is soap and shampoo in the room but no conditioner so you need to bring it. Which is fine just good to know. There is a kitchen on the lower floor which is shown on the map and on the property photos so when we booked we thought that it would be public access and hence didn't worry that kettle wasn't on the list of amenities. But we were told that guests are not allowed to use kitchennet. It is a shame because it changed our perception of the cost. That is while room was affordable (AUD 135 per night) - because we had no tea facilities or basic kitchen facilities like plates and spoons -we had to eat out every time. There is no footpath along the road that isn't hotel fault per se but it is an issue. It is very uncomfortable to walk to places and does not give any desire to go shopping in local stores or eat in the restaurant that are not by the ocean because a. Access by foot is bad and b. Road is dusty and all that dust ends up on the food being served. It is true Santa Teresa is remote but the prices here in restaurants and shops exceed prices in many other places yet access to facilities is poorer. The beach is nice and is really for surfing. Every day there were good waves esp for the beginners and intermediate surfers. People are very kind and welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
WorldTravler1284 wrote a review Apr 2021
Whidbey Island, Washington34 contributions8 helpful votes
Great location in town, friendly staff and loved the pig! The room was large and clean. We enjoyed our stay here and it fulfilled everything we were looking for. Would stay here again if we come back to visit.
Read more
Review collected with Tripadvisor’s Reputation Pro
Date of stay: April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
SJ B wrote a review Mar 2021
Denver, Colorado190 contributions42 helpful votes
Let me start off by saying....this just wasn't our place. If you are a surfer, a super budget person, between 18-30 years old...then this might be the perfect place for you and you can completely ignore our review. We are a bit older, still interested in budget, but not at the sake of comfort. The proprietor was super helpful in getting us booked directly. A pretty backwards way of taking charge cards (which I hope had some security to it since it was via WhatsApp). The hotel itself looked run down to us. The pool didn't look very clean so it was the only two nights of our whole 15 day vacation that we didn't soak in the pool. I'm sorry, but two single beds pushed together with a king size sheet do not make a king size bed. That is a huge pet peeve of mine. The mattress was.... tired. The kitchen was pretty dingy but I was happy to have a fridge to use. The bathroom looked far older than the pictures online. There was barely any water pressure in the shower and we had a difficult time getting hot water. Suddenly, the proprietor wasn't so helpful, just WhatsApped, "try turning on the sink faucet first". And near the sink faucet was a sign basically saying "don't waste water". The insides of the cups in the bathroom were covered in mineral deposits. The hotel was quiet enough. We did like the pet pig that was wandering around. And I loved the hot/cold water purifier/dispenser on the patio.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mauricio Fernandez Toro, Owner at Dreamcatcher Hotel
Responded Mar 30, 2021
Thank you for your review and we most definetly pay attention to the details mentioned and try to continously improve. I apologize for the bad experiences you had. Next time if there is a next time I recommend you book one of our deluxes rooms as the ones you booked are the basic ones and are much more simple for bdget reasons. This is an example of one of our deluxe rooms. https://dreamcatcherhotel.com/portfolio-items/room-4/
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Edwin Retana wrote a review Oct 2020
Curridabat, Costa Rica6 contributions1 helpful vote
We stay the weekend to stay apart from the city and enjoy some relax time. Due to current covid situation, hotel was near empty, but still we enjoyed our stay. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Personal was kind and included breakfast was really good. Its located really close the entrance to Santa Teresa, right in the main road, and very very close to the beach. And from there you can go to other beaches really quick. The pool in the hotel its also really nice for relax and chill after being all day out. Definitely will think on coming back !
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Juan P wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
At first hand Carolina was very friendly and professional, she explained where everything in the hotel was and what was included in the excellent prices. As well as what restaurants and things to do around Beautiful Santa Teresa where. My room was very clean it had a big bed, very clean sheets and most importantly, it was quite all around. I really liked the location of the place this is where modern construction gets tucked in with nature, lots of shade everywhere, they even have hammocks around trees where you can nap, or why not, hava a cuppa java. Next morning the breakfast was very delicious, they do offer both local cuisine and american style brakfasts, very well prepared very healthy choices. In retrospect, Dreamcatcher has it all, a few steps take you to one of the most sought after surf beaches in the region, there are amazing tours that I am sure the staff can help you arrange. It was an awesome stay for a business trip, I just can't wait to go there just for a fun trip, I am certain it will be more than two nights. Excellent place!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Top Floors may be even more quite!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Globetrotter7508 wrote a review Feb 2020
Stockholm, Sweden101 contributions74 helpful votes
The rooms are quite simple, but the staff in the reception are very friendly and helpful and the location is good. You are just a short walking distance away from the beach, a lovely breakfast spot like The Bakery or various yoga studios.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
westcoastwildone wrote a review Dec 2019
4 contributions
We traveled with our 3 year old son and stayed in the apartment. This was perfect for our family! Very close to the beach, walk able to shops and restaurants in the area. The lovely team at Atrapasuenos arranged an ATV for us, (which is a must) and helped us book a snorkeling trip which was awesome. Housekeeping did a great job and were very friendly. Breakfast was delicious. We loved the pool! It was always clean and was very refreshing! Special thank you to Carlos & Carolina for being so sweet and great fun. We will be back!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from atrapasuenoslodge, Manager at Dreamcatcher Hotel
Responded Jan 5, 2020
Thank you so much for this wonderfull review. It was a pleasure having your family stay with us and we hope you can visit us again sometime in the future. Have a wonderful 2020. Carolina
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Santa Teresa area.
PRICE RANGE
$99 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Atrapasueños
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasSanta Teresa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DREAMCATCHER HOTEL $77 ($̶1̶8̶3̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews - Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Frequently Asked Questions about Dreamcatcher Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Dreamcatcher Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Playa Santa Teresa (0.1 miles), La Pesca Fish Market (0.07 miles), and Van Parijs Gallery (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Dreamcatcher Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Dreamcatcher Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Dreamcatcher Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Dreamcatcher Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dreamcatcher Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Satori Sushi, Zula Restaurant, and Katana Asian Cuisine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Dreamcatcher Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Dreamcatcher Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Dreamcatcher Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Dreamcatcher Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Dreamcatcher Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Dreamcatcher Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.