We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Acceso Playa Panamá, Playa Panama 50503 Costa Rica
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Autograph
$349
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/09/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Only 5 left at
$349
View deal
Trip.com
$279
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/10/22
Booking.com$349
Hotels.com$349
Travelocity$349
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1244)
360
Panoramas (24)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 08/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Updated 08/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 3 hotels in Playa Panama
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection features boutique hospitality at its best. In this beach front hotel in Guanacaste, you will find everything Costa Rica has been missing. A new and fresh hotel concept that is easily accessible, very attainable and naturally irresistible. Laid-back wholesome sexiness, in a service oriented setting, with impeccable amenities, natural furnishings, contemporary design, state of the art technology and upbeat yet chilling ambiances.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Kids club
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family
Languages Spoken
Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
1139Reviews95Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 703
  • 261
  • 101
  • 38
  • 36
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kateryna_to wrote a review Sep 2022
Toronto, Canada425 contributions110 helpful votes
+1
Beautiful boutique hotel in the mangrove forest and directly on the beach. Garden-facing rooms all have a nice view of the trees which is very private; mine had a comfy hanging chair perfect for some nature watching. The 1-bedroom king suites are basically a small apartment, I quite enjoyed having a separate space to work. The shower is very spacious, kind of creating a feeling of bathing in the forest which is pretty cool. The pool area is divided into a long black-tiled pool for adults only and an area on the other side with multiple family-friendly pools. There are also cabanas which you need to reserve but they come with an all-day service with snacks and drinks. There are two restaurants and a mini-day bar all of which had really nice cocktail selections and a delicious menu including all locally sourced produce and a ton of tasty seafood. You can take cooking and mixology classes with the team which was fun. One of my favourite parts of this resort, however, was the amazing outdoor spa (you get a private message while listening to birds and leaves) and the yoga platform in their gym, which once again, looks out into a forest, perfect for meditation. The location is very convenient, very close to an airport and a small town with a bunch of restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Garden-facing rooms are more private and quieter, accept the howling monkeys of course
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Concierge El Mangroove, Other at El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Kateryna We are excited to know that during your stay with us everything was to your liking. It is nice to know that you were able to enjoy the activities and that the colleagues were attentive to provide good service throughout your stay. We will let our staff know your comments. We hope to see you soon Best, El Mangroove Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ReanaT18 wrote a review Aug 2022
7 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
I was very impressed by my recent stay at El Mangroove in Papagayo. The grounds are beautiful and spacious, with 4 pools and many lounge chairs on two separate sides of the poolside restaurant, and attentive poolside food and beverage service. There were many children during our summer stay, but it felt comfortable for adults traveling without children as well as families. The staff, especially at the valet and pool service, was so warm and helpful, and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. There is also a beachfront right in front of the hotel with dedicated lounge chairs and a security guard to ensure local peddlers do not disturb the guests too much, though most people were using the area for paddle boarding rather than swimming or laying out. The food at the hotel was generally good, and was priced at typical US metropolitan city prices. We preferred the more casual restaurant, Matisse, over the finer dining restaurant, Makoko. Some of the reviews I read before traveling were critical of certain aspects of the hotel and I encountered no issues during my stay and was surprised by some of the negative reviews I had encountered. I found the property to be amazing value for a true four-star hotel experience - it is not a five star luxury hotel, but it doesn't market itself that way or price itself that way and the service was above and beyond for what it is. No issues with bugs or cleanliness at all. There was some construction in early August 2022 but it was on more far-flung buildings of the Property and did not impact my stay. I believe it is in connection with upgrades being made now that this is a Marriott property so it will be an even more delightful stay once complete. I will recommend the hotel to my friends and family. Can't wait to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kazia O wrote a review Sep 2022
Los Angeles, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
Compared to the pictures, this hotel is a disappointment. To top off the experience, my French press coffee pot malfunctioned and sprayed hot coffee all over me and my boyfriend. Instead of apologizing, the staff blamed me for the incident and I had to fight to get it off the bill. I hate to complain but the experience left a bad taste in my mouth and we’ll probably have to throw away our shirts!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mirna Merlo, Guest Services / Front Office at El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Responded 3 weeks ago
We want to apologize for this experience, this kind of situation it is not a characteristic of our service. Thank you for share your honest feedback, as a teachable moment, we have discussed our service standards and reviewed improvement opportunities in the restaurante service. I am confident that these necessary steps will ensure your experience was an isolated incident. Please accept our apologize, and we hope you gave us an opportunity to be your host again and really live our service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
appalasianwv wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
+1
My husband and I were fortunate to have stayed here for a week. Not only was everything beautiful, but the employees were so kind, considerate, and accommodating. The staff welcomed us in our room with a beautiful plate of fruit and desserts and a bottle of wine, to celebrate our anniversary. Everyone we passed smiled and said hello and were always open to engage in conversation. They were also helpful with recommending local places. The location was also great and close to so many other fun little areas and restaurants. If I could suggest anything, it would be to have some games like cornhole or bocce available. Also, this has nothing to do with the hotel, but since it fronts a public beach, people will be trying to sell you excursions. Antonio was offering fishing trips and we decided to splurge and take one. We trolled around the same areas for 3 hours, not even going out to places like Monkey Head Island. Caught three small fish, while other people came in with greater catches. Would not recommend. This was our first trip to Costa Rica and this experience will be hard to beat. Not only is the country absolutely gorgeous, but being able to stay in such a magical place made it that much better. Thank you to the entire staff, especially the spa, where we visited daily. We HIGHLY recommend and would come back again and again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring cash for tipping, either American or colones. Bug spray is a must, but our hotel always had...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Concierge El Mangroove, Other at El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Responded 1 week ago
Good morning, dear Sarah Greetings from your friends here at El Mangroove! We appreciate all your comments, and thank you for the advice regarding the games, we are going to have some for your next arrival. We are excited to know that your experience at El Mangroove was to your liking, we will let our Staff know your gratitude. Best,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jay F wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
The hotel is dirty and the rooms are dirty and moldy and the doors and windows to outside don't have screens so you can't even air out the rooms. Outdated ugly architecture painted dark colors everywhere. Furniture doesn't fit the room. What they call a king size bed is a queen and what the call a queen is a double. The place feels like it's dying.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mirna Merlo, Guest Services / Front Office at El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Responded Aug 20, 2022
Thank you for share your opinion a few hours after you arrived. We hope the new room and design fit better for your needs. As an Autograph Collection Hotel, one of our most distintive characteristic is the design, which is not the regular rooms design and the colors that are part of the connection with the surounded nature. Also our concept is to relaxed and enjoy the calm of the nature and ocean, thats why our hotel give calm sensation. We hope that the rest of your stay keep improving and by the end, you can enjoy our real experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nish K wrote a review Aug 2022
13 contributions3 helpful votes
The check in staff were very friendly and efficient. We arrived early so moved to the restaurant to have lunch which was good (ignoring the fact that they had to change my plate after a hair was found). Work on around $20 a dish when you add in all the services and taxes. The rooms are lovely, well laid out and have a novel closed off area for the bedrooms which requires a room key to enter. We had adjoining rooms for the family. Really good. Tip: don’t drop anything under the bed because it’s very dirty! Venturing out of the hotel: this is not as practical as it sounds. There are two options : the hotel bus or a local taxi. Both cost $20 to the near town (5-8mins) or $30 to coco beach, each way. We booked the private hotel taxi to a local restaurant (which was obviously the main recommendation as we bumped into a few hotel guests) which costs a ridiculous $45 for a 5 min drive return. Come on Marriott- just because you CAN doesn’t mean you SHOULD - particularly when you only have 1 1/2 restaurants at the hotel without daily specials. Breakfast was excellent - good variety and good service. Frederico was really friendly. Excellent omelettes and local variety. The hotel has one long adult pool and 4 satellite small pools. The beach is on the doorstep but as soon as you step onto it - hawkers approach you. The pool is warm and shallow so lovely to relax in. It rained heavy yesterday and there were no towels today. Service by the pool can be hit and miss. The menu is the same as the normal lunch menu. Ideally, they should have a pool snack menu. We think we figured out why the waiters go American first - the tips! Ontop of service charge which is included in every meal. Coffee tasting: a complimentary activity: was lovely and worth a try. Dinner at Makoto - good food, interesting dishes but overpriced. While we were still eating the staff were busy setting up tables for the morning which made us feel like we were overstaying our welcome. The portions are ok not huge. Lunch is better but can get boring after a couple of days. Same menu everyday with one restaurant means that after two days your not sure what to eat. The menu lacks variety- at least we did not book fully inclusive. The hotel does have an issue with ants. The pool area seems to be a home and they get onto your sunbeds and belongings. They are baby ants but they are everywhere☹️ In summary, a nice hotel and great for a couple of days but could do with some real thought into the food offering, inside the hotel and out and the costly transportation. Thank you Iris for being so helpful. 🙏
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Concierge El Mangroove, Other at El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Responded Aug 24, 2022
Dear, Nish Thank you for your feedback. All comments help us to keep improving our service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Morgan wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We were looking to paddle board, Jesus and Yorlan in recreation went out of their way to accommodate us and were unbelievably friendly! We hope to come back and visit the beautiful property sometime soon.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Always Amazed wrote a review Aug 2022
Greenville, South Carolina3 contributions
The room was spacious, modern, and clean. Upon entering the room, you're actually in a screened in porch, which is separated from the air conditioned bedroom, bathroom, shower, and spacious closet by a locked sliding glass door. The beds were very comfortable; the rain shower was awesome. The grounds were well maintained. The adult pool was as beautiful and as peaceful as it looks in the pictures. There is a separate pool for families with children -- a separation that was enforced by the staff. The staff was plentiful, pleasant, and polite. There are two dining options, which are adjacent to each other. The poolside restaurant/bar offers a more kid friendly menu. The main restaurant has a separate vegetarian menu (which you may need to request) If you're not wanting to dine in the open air restaurants, the more formal dining room also has an air conditioned room available.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MAA0012022 wrote a review Aug 2022
Houston, Texas3 contributions1 helpful vote
Celebrated a 40th birthday at El Mangroove with 30 family and friends. Planned remotely and Jenny and team went above and beyond to provide the ultimate Pura Vida experience. Accommodating, flexible and warm staff in a peaceful and lovely property. From the carefully arranged rooms to the special touches for the celebrants room to vendor recommendations and finally topped off with a beautiful birthday dinner at the El Mangroove garden, all I can say is “thank you, Jenny and team!”
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Plan for transportation ahead of time. Don’t skip the lovely breakfast! Get a room with a hammock!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ian3206 wrote a review Jul 2022
Norwich, United Kingdom57 contributions43 helpful votes
Good points - Plenty of chairs around the pool area and it didn’t seem crowded at all which was nice - Both restaurants have excellent menus with plenty options to chose from and the food is very good. - Breakfast starts at 0600, so if you have trips/excursions you can have breakfast before you go. - Location of the hotel is convenient if you want to explore nearby beaches and towns, plus it is close to the airport. Bad points - We were allocated room 319, which directly faced the building works. The work started at 0700 in the morning and finished after 2100 each evening. - I attach a picture from our ground floor balcony, we could not sit on the balcony in the evenings looking and listening to that. - The hotel was not busy at all, I would be surprised if it was even at 50% capacity based on the number of people we saw at the pool and restaurants. We cannot fathom why room 319 plus the other 2 rooms facing the works would be allocated at all and if there are no further rooms or equal standard, then guests should be upgraded free of charge. - Reception just said sorry when we complained and said sorry again when we were asked if we enjoyed our stay at check out. No offer to move room, no offer to upgrade, no offer to waive resort fee. - We also had an issue with a reservation made for one of the resort fee benefits (coffee tasting), this did not happen on the 10th as per the booking made the previous day with the front desk. To be fair to Josue (manager), we were given the coffee tasting at breakfast on the 11th, however the manager did not provide any alternative or resolution over the room which was the bigger issue. - Complained to Marriott when we got home (I’m a Marriott member), provided them with a photo from the room and a video capturing the noise levels at 21:00, they just reverted back to the hotel and said we would hear in 3-5 days. Over a week later and we’ve heard nothing (surprise, surprise).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mirna Merlo, Guest Services / Front Office at El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Responded Jul 27, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Our hope is that all our guests experience a relaxing and peaceful stay, and I am very sorry that this wasn't your experience. We know that this room wasnt the original your booked, we tried to give you a better option with this upgrade, in this mayor room type, unfortunately we didnt have another location, due we were fully committed during those days. We apologize because instead of offer you a better experience and comfort, we failed with this option. Maybe it it would have been better if you stayed in the original room. We shared your experience and learned about this situation, in order of this kind of experiences wont repeat it with other guests. We hope that you gave us another opportunity any time you decide to visit this area again and live the real experience of relax.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$343 - $536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
El Mangroove by Enjoy Hotels
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of GuanacasteGulf of PapagayoPlaya Panama
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Which popular attractions are close to El Mangroove, Autograph Collection?
Nearby attractions include Café Tío Leo (4.5 miles), Playa Hermosa (1.9 miles), and Playas del coco (4.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at El Mangroove, Autograph Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at El Mangroove, Autograph Collection?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at El Mangroove, Autograph Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at El Mangroove, Autograph Collection?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to El Mangroove, Autograph Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Numu Taproom & Bistro By Chef Nicolas Devenelle, Guayoyo Coffee House, and Restaurante Mar Azul.
Are there opportunities to exercise at El Mangroove, Autograph Collection?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does El Mangroove, Autograph Collection have airport transportation?
Yes, El Mangroove, Autograph Collection offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at El Mangroove, Autograph Collection?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does El Mangroove, Autograph Collection offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Does El Mangroove, Autograph Collection have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.